Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Obasanjo Says Jonathan Believed Boko Haram Was Sponsored To Remove Him

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Obasanjo Says Jonathan Believed Boko Haram Was Sponsored To Remove Him

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo has explained why the war against the Boko Haram insurgency has remained intractable, noting that the country needed to treat the root of the problem and not the symptoms.

Speaking in an interview with the BBC in Lagos, Obasanjo noted that former President Goodluck Jonathan did not take the insurgency seriously in the belief that the terror group was a device by the North to torpedo his government.

He said, “I went out in 2011 to Maiduguri. I took great risk to find out what is really happening. Boko Haram, do they have grievances, if they have grievances, what are their grievances and I brought all that to Jonathan.

“Jonathan didn’t believe that Boko Haram was a serious issue. He thought that it was a device by the North to prevent him from continuing as president of Nigeria which was rather unfortunate.”

Obasanjo added, “Even when Chibok girls were abducted, it took a while for the government to believe. Now if that is the situation, you can understand why the right attention was not paid to the issue of Boko Haram when it should have been paid.”

“Boko Haram will not be over. It started from a position of gross underdevelopment, unemployment, youth frustration in the North-East. So, we must be treating the disease not the symptom,” Obasanjo submitted.

Edited from Punch

18 comments:

1. Matthew we don hear. it is ok. go and sit down old man

1. No mind mr Matt, he will not let Jonathan drink water and drop the cup, haba, everywhere you go you will keep calling his name, there's a new president you know

2. Wasn't it? Mtcheeeeeeeeeeew

3. Obj leave GEJ alone! Shebi una don conspired and removed him?allow him now.Haba!

4. GEJ good heart, surrounded by sycophants and his drinking problem didn't help him. They will ply him with drinks then tell him serious issues are just a distraction he should ignore just for their selfish ends. Unfortunately, he foolishly did that. The man could have been great but with his performance he had no business becoming president. An accidental president who did woefully and he's still doing badly because he forced people to vote for Buhari. Buhari shouldn't be able to stand where Jonathan is but Jonathan's insolence gave Buhari the presidency and we are all suffering for it.

1. Good heart doesn't rule a nation. Just as you cannot combine your emotions with business. People should sit at home and rule their family with good heart.

2. Wehdone anon 17:56 na bad heart go rule the nation ba?

5. I remember boko haram started during OBJ's tenure but he found a way to subdue them. Jonathan was weak and OBJ is Nigeria's problem for ensuring that he emerged president.

1. Mr or Mrs strong man / woman
      It's come n contest in 2019 so you will rule

2. Oh! Shut up Lilly. You should stick to the gossip stories and not mensurate under my comment.

6. It looked so and now the mercenary they used against him is hunting them.

7. Thanks Baba, may you live long.

8. Obasanjo should live talk abeg

9. Jonathan would have been one of the best presidents in Nigeria but his weakness and psychophants were his downfall

10. GEJ wasn't far from the truth.....and the truth shall come out one day......
    Ebora should stop talking at the point in his life and instead look make peace with all men....

11. Obj Pls leave GEJ alone biko ejim chukwu yo gi