Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sunday In House Gists - The Marriage Course And The Fees

Sunday, September 10, 2017

Sunday In House Gists - The Marriage Course And The Fees

Yesterday a lot of people tied the knot and I am sure most of you attended and had lots of goodies...right?

That is not what this is about?

A couple of days ago a couple went to register for Marriage Course at the Fiance's Church and they were told that needed to pay for the five-course Marriage sessions but the Fiancee vehemently refused... Her reason ? That they don't charge Any dime at her Parents Church...so why should the fiance's Church Charge for something that should be free ? And not only that but at a very large sum...

So My Question....
Is it right to pay for Pre-Marriage Course/counselling sessions ? Should a Church for Marriage Courses ? ?

Some of the couples who tied the knot yesterday might have paid...I dont know.
Is there anyone on this blog reading this now who has paid for a Marriage course before?Was it worth it?did you pay?

What exactly do they teach that is not already known by both ?

60 comments:

1. I'll read comments.

Trinity I hope you are fine.

1. Got married at Christ embassy was asked to buy form 2k den paid 50k, they said 20k is to put on gen and 30k to share raphosdy, so insensitive not even caring if we 're managing to do the wedding, so my church can't put on light for me , how many hrs will the wedding last

2. @anon sorry o... Even recently I heard RCCG charges 50K for their marriage course ...WTF
      Hmm ndi RCCG please what's the 50K for? Repainting the church? ?

#reason

3. Even with the 50,000 Adeboye collects from his delusional and gullible Members it doesn't guarantee a long lasting marriage or a marriage filled with children.
      And to think he and his wife may not have paid a naira for their marriage classes

4. N50,000 for marriage Courses by the church???? Na wa o! Whatever happens to private counselling for couples before getting married. So the couples will receive certificate of attendance, abi? And they can present the certificate to people to show they have a perfect home, right? Who even says this classes guarantees a happy home? How gullible can people be.

5. Well when i got married 11yrs ago, did not pay anything for counselling oh. Instead we were thought on our to handle our finances and how not to invite a 3rd party into our marriage. Infact the pastor and his wife made us cut how wedding budget and advices us so well. Till tomorrow the pastor still calls us and advices us. It was is advice sef that motivated us get a land just 6months after wedding. The pastor na my mama pastor oh. My Christ embassy pastors na give give them they advice is only.

6. It is free in my church o. Some churches try to just exploit members to make money by all means.

7. Can you people stop lying!!! RCCG does not collect money for counseling. The 50k making rounds is a program in one of the parishes of RCCG tagged as 'marriage refresher course'. The basic course does not cost money.

8. Christ Embassy I attend doesn't collect money. Most likely you go to the branch where they use big gens and cost of fuelling is very high.

9. Redeem doesn't charge a dime, please. I'm certain.

2. Counselling is good for an intending couple n it's free in Anglican churches.

1. It was free when i married oh. Did not pay a dime and gained a lot in terms of advice oh. Got married in my church. My husband's church now na only God go help us. The motor is giving is our life style.

2. We didn't pay anything when we got married. But I am shocked that some churches this days now ask for money.

3. Please is there a Muslim marriage counseling center? I need to enroll asap

1. Starry from your comments here,I assume you live in Ibadan, if you do? Go to the mosque inside the university of Ibadan,I think they have one there, I remember my friend did her nikkhai with them officiating years back.

2. Thanks anonymous but I'm based in Lagos but frequently visit Ibadan

4. I know the Catholic Church do marriage classes for free (at least, I can speak for my parish) but it's expected of you (you are under no obligation though) to give the teachers 'something' for their time...

Meanwhile, yesterday my boyfriend's uncle got married... I've never seen such amount of dollars being sprayed at one gathering... It was a marriage of Money Jam Money.

1. It's like we attended the same wedding yesterday o

Is The Groom "Syl"

2. That's all you people always sees. Money money money. I'm sure you have tapped in on the suppose kind of marriage. Be careful what you wish for.

3. No, Beloved... This one was at Lekki 'ET'😍

Anon, yes I claim that kind of money... Clean money

4. @Anon Baby you know Money makes the world go round 😀😁

5. It's the registration fee. They give books/manuals containing topics that would be taught throughout the period among other things. Well, about the cost, I think it varies with different parishes (for catholic church).

1. And all the tithes collected in a month can't cover the cost for all these not minding that some couples don't have much to spare 😎
      Or they can even donate this as a pre-wedding gift for the intending couples... And after all what these End-time churches is to hammer on PAY YOUR TITHES or Be a cheerful giver....bla bla
      Meanwhile they ride the latest cars and Private Jets...SMH

2. Is it not on this blog that many of you claimed you give your tithe to d poor and not the church,so whose tithe will they use for logistics for your wedding?

6. Let me read comments since I'm not married.

7. Okay I know Marriage Course is free in my Parish

Except the Registration card which is obtained for like #200

8. I am not a christain so i would read comments

9. It should be free. After all, marriage course is not in the Bible.

10. it's possible the facilitators are not so cheap and the church may not be able to foot the bill solely,the only crime here is if it's being used as a prerequisite for getting married in that church, if not then those who can afford it should go for it.

1. It's not for intending couples.

Marriage counselling there is free. I wedded there.

11. Marriage course is absolutely free of charge in the church I wedded.

12. That church must be an End time new generation church; monetising everything. Mschew, lubbish

13. I was serving in the West while preparing for my marriage, so I had my marriage course in my church LFC and I didn't pay a dime, I came down to Abuja for my wedding in my parents church after much arguments as they attend MFM and I knew their rules wl not let me use wedding gown of my choice and the whole lot, but I later agreed to Wed there. Mind you they did not conduct any other course for us when we came for d wedding.... I was angry when after d wedding they said we have to pay for logistics, a whole 23k and to be honest they didn't do anything for us other than officiate the wedding and until we paid that was when they gave us our certificate, cos I was reluctant to allow my hubby pay, but I realized they wl not release it. My hubby even said it's not even the marriage course that wl keep a marriage going, what couples need most is prayers... But what do we know??? 🏃🏃🏃🏃

14. I attended the marriage classes in my church and it was absolutely free. The topics treated were rich and it has gone a long way in helping my spouse and I in our marriage. I really don't understand why someone would ask people to pay for marriage course. Is marriage now like a professional course like safety courses, management courses, etc?
    I would like someone to shed more light on this because I am loss here.
    Someone said the facilitators don't come cheap. Hun? Please, those so called facilitators should show us the receipt of payment for their own marriage course. After the course, will they use it to seek job? Stella, I really don't understand what is happening in our churches today.

1. I know the church but Stella doesn't want to mention the name.

Marriage counselling is free there because that's where I wedded.

There's a marriage course they collect money and it's not for intending couples, it's for those married already.

15. Mine was free.

But I think CGM n some other churches collects money for late coming. In case either of d couple comes late, that money will be forfeited. But if they r early, I think it's refunded to them or so

16. The courses that will tell men nothing and encourage the nonsense women go through in Nigerian marriages? Go and befriend a sensible couple who will tell you the real about marriage and draw close to God. Read books online and follow marriage counselors on YouTube. If you could learn how to line your brows on YouTube you can take an hour to listen to sound counsel. Churches also force their choirs on couples. It is bad enough that you are officiating without any soul then I have no choice but to use your choir that sounds like fingernails scratching the wall. Let me bring my own singers...mba. You want to govern my gown but not speak sound counsel into the couple.

Soon (and it is catching up), people will do marriage blessing quietly with a minister that is truly invested in them and leave all this brouhaha alone for those who have not woken up.

1. Apart from the choir part, I agree with every other thing you said!

17. This my first time to hear of such, how can one pay for marriage course again? After spending money preparing for the wedding? Nawao. All these end time churches eh...

18. I personally don't subscribe to marriage classes except unless it will be free. I will personally hold my marriage classes with my husband while we are courting.

I will look for marriage materials online, read it with husby and then discuss how we are going to individually apply it in our home. For example: I will pick a quality such as humility and we will both research on it and then come together to discuss what we have researched using questions like what is humility; Why is humility important in a home: How can a wife show humility; how can a husband show humility. I will do same for other qualities such as love; kindness; faithfullness: Forgiveness ; peaceableness; goodness etc.

We will also discuss on possible issues and problems that will arrise in our marriage and how we will solve it. We will read other people's marriage experiences online, the problems the faced and how they handled it. We will teach ourselves all we want to know.

We will make both verbal and written promises to each other before the actual marriage. If I do all these, then I will see no need for paid marriage classes.

19. It is free in Christ Apostolic church tho

20. Oh well...counselling is absolutely free of charge o...I'm hearing about this fee for the first time.

21. D course is free in catholic churches. But wedding in catholic church, u have to pay for some things
    E.g choir 5k,pay for pladtic chairs or you buy 2 or 3, etc.. infact i paid 27k in d church. I weded dec last yr.

22. #Do you ever just talk to someone and instantly feel better 😊 Those are the kind of people you need to keep in your life*

23. It is supposed to be FOC but you will be required to buy recommended texts on relevant subjects such as Giving(Tithing), Finance, Prayers, Self-esteem, etc.

24. I don't knkw about other church but my parish don't collect money

25. I wedded in rccg 13yrs ago, and no dime was collected by my parish, my then area pastor even collected our marriage certificate from the national with asking for money, so don't know why so churches demand money for intending couples

1. The same rccg is charging 50k for marriage course now

2. Yes anon but not marriage counselling. Marriage counselling is free in RCCG. This one is a course for already married couples.

3. Anọn 19:14 please stop spreading lies or stuff you don't understand. A single Parish among thousands of parishes in RCCG organized a ' Marriage Refresher Course' for a fee. And now u people have turned it to RCCG charges for marriage course. Fear God please

26. Marriage Course is free in Anglican Churches.
    However in "special" cases you give out freewill and love offerings to the facilitator(s) you personally chose if it is allowed in your own Cathedral.

Special in the sense that they put in extra hours because couple is not readily available.
    Mine was a special schedule on late Sunday evenings because we were working extra hours and couldn't attend nor join order intending couples.

Stella Kork...find out what exactly they paid for? Must be miscellaneous charges. The course is free pleas

27. It is not the norm in churches but o guess some branches do certain things due to peculiarity

28. Some of UBS never do anything for one church since you say go but you go spend millions for wedding. A beg may the church to enjoy small from USA. Joking o

29. Anon 15:08, I beg to differ. MFM is my church and as far as I know, they don't charge for marriage counseling. Maybe you should have asked them what the 23k was for. I got married in MFM 11years ago and nothing of such was demanded. Let's fear God o please. Peace, out.

30. And someone said because Marriage Course is not in the Bible, it should not be done... I just laughed. When we will stop "is not in the Bible" madness so it is not important. A marriage course beomes necessary to get couples prepare for the life they want to live. Though the time ranges from a few weeks to 6 months, it is important. And I think more time should be given for intending couples to do this looking at the seriousness of marriage the trending failures and problems may young people are facing. I just read something to day, maybe I should share it with you:
    "How can people be sure that they are truly marrying people with whom they are truly compatible? One way is
    by taking time to get to know the other person. Researchers have found that couples seem to go through three
    stages in this process. First, each person tries to measure his or her good and bad qualities against those of the
    other person. People tend to be drawn to others who seem to have about the assets and liabilities they
    themselves possess. Second, people look for compatible beliefs, attitudes and interests to support the initial
    attraction. It is not until the third stage that people reveal to each other how they handle responsibilities, react to
    disappointments and cope with a wide variety of situations. The key to compatibility is for the couple to be sure
    that they have arrived at this last stage before they think seriously about marriage. Such people are less likely to
    be unpleasantly surprised than those who marry quickly."