Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Hollywood Legend Paul Newman’s Watch Auctioned For $17.8m

Saturday, October 28, 2017

Hollywood Legend Paul Newman’s Watch Auctioned For $17.8m

A watch owned by Paul Newman is now the most expensive wristwatch in the world, after selling at a Big Apple auction Thursday night for an astonishing $17.8 million.

The Rolex Daytona Ref. 6239 — considered the holy grail in the world of watch collecting — was expected to go for as high $10 million, but it hit the stratosphere after a 12-minute bidding war.

That’s the world record for the most expensive timepiece ever sold at an auction, according to Phillips, which handled the sale. A portion of the proceeds went to charities Newman was involved with.

Newman wore the mechanical watch in the late 1960s and 1970 when he began racing cars under the moniker P.L. Newman, according to the Washington Post.

The Swiss watch – which became known as the “Paul Newman Daytona ” – features a cream face with the brand’s iconic crown emblem, three black subdials and a tachymeter bezel.

The word “DAYTONA” appears in red above the middle subdial.

James Cox, who dated Newman’s daughter Nell for many years, received the watch in 1984 when he was helping the actor fix a treehouse, the paper reported.

“Paul asked me what time it was, to set his watch. I replied, ‘I don’t know — I don’t have a watch.’ He was clearly surprised. So he said, ‘Here, here’s a watch. If you wind it, it tells pretty good time,’” Cox told the Wall Street Journal.

“At that time, I knew Rolex was an amazing brand, but I had no idea how significant the watch was.”

Newman decided to part with watch, a gift from his wife, Joanne Woodward in 1968, only because she had presented him with a new one.

She had engraved “Drive Carefully, Me” on the caseback.

Officially called the Rolex Oyster Cosmograph Daytona, it was produced in six series between 1963 and the late 1970s, but was phased out because of poor sales, according to Forbes.

The previous record for an auctioned Rolex was $5 million for a Ref. 6062 — nicknamed the “Bao Dai” because it was owned by the last emperor of Vietnam.

Previously, the highest price a Rolex Daytona fetched was $3.7 million. And the most expensive wristwatch auctioned off was a Patek Philippe Ref. 1518, for $11 million.

Newman died Sept. 26, 2008, at age 83.

from New York times

*I have Rolex's I hardly wear,Maybe i should auction them off sef..*thinking*

4 comments:

1. At this price, the watch should increase life span or take one directly to heaven after death....

2. See money for a watch. It's alright. I will get yet there some day

3. #People will always come and go in your life, so you've got to learn how to always be there for yourself*

4. Over to Bill Gates, Oga Amazon, Mr Facebook and the likes...The watch must be blood tonic