Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Emergency Room Series: The Assault Case

Sunday, November 19, 2017

Emergency Room Series: The Assault Case

The Emergency room is really a place of diverse and unpredictable cases

Before I go on to discuss this chapter I would like to thank everyone who has taken time to read and has learnt a few things from this series.

I also want us to bear in mind that each case is treated in line with the standard ethics of nursing and medicine in this part of the world. Not everything done in the management of the patients is discussed here as I try to be brief and straight as possible. 

The Emergency room is really a place of diverse and unpredictable cases

A young lady in her mid twenties was brought to the Unit this morning. She was accompanied by a police woman and her father. She had the most depressing look I had ever seen. She wouldn't look at anyone, she had cuts and bruises on her body. I told her to sit on a couch while i informed the doctor on call. Her father and the police woman did most of the talking while getting her health history. We learnt that her parents house was attacked around 4am this morning by armed robbers. 

The father explained that they lived in a developing estate with very few houses. The robbers were 6 in number. They took most of their house gadgets and the money they had in the house. The father said they raided their house for about 45minutes and they couldn't get help because their house was far into the estate. He also said that his wife and other kids had travelled.

The father further explained that while they robbed, he and the lady were told to lay down facing the floor as one of the robbers pointed a gun at them. He said when the robbers were through moving stuffs into a car packed outside, one of the robbers said he found his daughter attractive and the other robbers excitedly hailed him. The father was asked to turn and face the wall with a gun to his head, he couldn't dare talk.

The lady knew what they meant. She pleaded and cried. She struggled but they slapped her and they cut her with a dagger in the process. She was later raped by two of them. 

As if that was not enough she was hit several times with the butt of the gun because she struggled. When they left, the father called his brother who was a top police officer who sent policemen to the house. They got a report at the station and she was brought to the hospital

To be honest, I didn't know how to talk or relate with her. It was hard for me to take her blood samples because I felt like I was causing her more pain but I was glad she cooperated with us. We put up IV fluids to rehydrate her and I stitched the deep wounds and cleaned the minor wounds. I can't imagine the psychological trauma she would be going through. 

The doctor ran HIV test and we started her on PEP to prevent HIV infection. We also gave her Postinor2 just in case she was ovulating, she also had antibiotics. She had a pint of blood as she had lost a lot from the dagger cut and We later booked her to see the psychiatrist. 

I'm sure some of us have a friend or relative or neighbour that has had a similar experience or worse. its our responsibility to look out for such people. Rape is an enormously important and often divisive topic for all people. Rape occurs in several different contexts, under many different guises, and it is the context that seems to shape our thinking about whether the act was in fact a rape. At one end, when a male stranger attacks and rapes a woman on the street, we understand this to be rape.

We understand the violation, we want vengeance, we consider the rapist to be a criminal. There are rape myths that sees rape victims as seductress and/or liar, and stereotypical depictions of the brutal stranger-rape as the only legitimate rape, and placing all responsibility for the occurrence of rapes on women. 

Rape survivors who speak out about their assault experiences are often punished for doing so when they are subjected to negative reactions from support providers. These negative reactions may thereby serve a silencing function, leading some rape survivors to stop talking about their experiences to anyone at all. Some victims even go as far as blaming themselves for what happened. 

Victims experience what could be short-term or long-term effects such as Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) – feelings of severe anxiety and stress,.Depression, Flashbacks – memories of rape as if it is taking place again, Borderline personality disorder, Sleep disorders, Eating disorders, Dissociative identity disorder, Guilt, Distrust of others – uneasy in everyday social situations, Anger,.Feelings of personal powerlessness – victims feel the rapist robbed them of control over their bodies. Its really not easy going through all that torture. 

I'm sharing this story to improve or knowledge on what rape really is and it's high time we understood what victims go through and improve on our act of kindness towards them. 

Thank you.

27 comments:

1. Thank you for this story and enlightenment. It plays everyday, everywhere but in different scenarios.

2. poor girl. I pray she get over it eventually.

3. If a woman say No, it means No. Don't assume that she is pretending and force yourself on her. This happens every day. May God grant her full recovery both psychologically and physically.

4. Rape is one of the most horrible thing to happen to anybody. The one thing I fear most is being raped. What we fail to mention though is that husbands rape their wives. That uncle that entices a legal-aged teenager is actually raping her. Victims need all the help they can get. Next time you hear a woman was raped, please don't say she brought it on herself. After all, you can't blame a baby for getting raped because her soiled diapers looked enticing to an evil mind. I hope the psychologist can help the lady in this case

5. So sad, thank God she is getting all the care needed to get better. Rape is something you won’t wish on your enemy. I hope they find the beasts responsible for such terrible act and locked in hem up forever.

6. I love this series, it is truly an eye opener. wehdon

7. Thanks for the enlightenment. This is something to be preached so the victims can seek help fast and no it's not their fault, but where victims of circumstances. Hope the young lady and dad heals fast. Can just imagine what the dad is also going through.

8. Thanks nurse. This series has been very educative this story however was a breach of your ethical duties. A woman was raped by two armed robbers; there was nothing she could have done to prevent it and she might have been killed if she struggled more. I see no medical education in this story, all I see is rubbing insult to the unspeakable injury already suffered by the victim. This was the victim's story to tell and not yours. She could very well be a blog visitor for all you know or someone connected to her might be. Please be more sensitive in the future.

1. Pls you guys should know when to castigate and when to hold back. This is an unknown writer, she didn't reveal anyone's personal details.
      Moreover there is a fraction of journalism called 'investigative journalism, eye witness report, true life stories. Pls this nurse hasn't breached any protocol. Whatabout botched on E-network what would you say about the life surgery they carry out on patients as a result of one form of cosmetic surgery or another. Abeg annonymous encourage this writer, I have been enlightened ever since the series began, carry your holy holy go "spontaneous post"

2. How is it a breach of her ethics? No names mentioned, all anonymous. For all we know, it could just be a hypothetical scenario. @Beyonce, I think they sign waivers on that tv series “Botched” or it will be a big breach of confidentiality.

9. Why is d heart of man so wicked?

10. I was a though critic of Nurse Aputupoyoyo. Not that I did not like the segment, in fact I found it to be interesting and highly educative. My concern was the inherent ethical breach. I have not commented on this series, I know its the same nurse. I just felt emergency medicine is different and we can all learn what to do in emergency situations before getting to the hospital. This series started out that way, but rapidly went back to the pattern of Nurse Apuchupoyoyo. A woman who injected herself with snipper, an su girl and now this. I have refrained from commenting and I have told myself severally that it's hypocritical to codemn Nurse A but not the revamped series. AS rape is a sensitive subject, I must say this has crossed all the ethical limit. Telling this story has no medical relevance, this is just telling story to entertain or gossip about someone else's tragedy. Nurse we are women, we are in Nigeria and no one is save. It could happen to you or me, please consider this truthfully if this happened to you and you sought treatment at the hospital which is the normal thing to do in that situation would you want the attending nurse or physician to run to the internet minutes later and inform the world? We can deceive ourselves that it's anonymous and sharing the story is innocuous but is it really. Another thing to consider, if a victim feels her story will be shared without her consent don't you think you will prevent victims from seeking the medical attention they desperately need? Please in your bid to be a story teller, never forget the place of empathy. I hope Stella posts this and I know the nurse will read the comment if it's posted.

1. Nurse atutupuyoyo and this series are two different people

2. I am certain this "tough criticism" is from a man and no need coming back to say you're a woman.
      Whether fiction or not, do not encourage people to be silent about issues like rape that happen everyday. This story that was shared has been acted over and over again in Hollywood as well as Nollywood movies. This is not to shame the victims from my mind's eyes but to encourage them to take the right steps by reporting to the police, getting treatment at the hospital and seeking as much help as they need to get over the trauma. There's no ethical breach here, ever heard of STER? You should read about them and understand the story of the founder. She was a victim of rape but instead of living in the shadow of what happened, she did something to help other women like her.
      No ethical breach here, una just like to condemn everything. Please chill.

3. 'Anonymous critic' you really need to chill. The nurse is only using her experiences to educate us. Please don't discourage her for us abeg. We love it. Carry your oversabi elsewhere.

4. Anonymous critic, let me summarize this for you. Probably you'll understand that this was an emergency situation and that's how best to handle it.
      1. Report to the police
      2. Get medical help so you don't contract any disease or get pregnant
      3. Get psychiatric help.
      Those things must be done ASAP. Plus, her physical injuries where looked after and blood replaced. Isn't that "emergency" enough for you?

5. Anony 13:31 and 13:17 I'm sure you are both the same person. Can you pls explain how this story breached the nurse's professional ethics.She did not mention any name, no personal information was released so which ethic did she breach? If you pple do not knw something you shld be patient enough to learn instead of you rushing to display your ignorance. it is so obvious you are ignorant of d right steps to take in a case of rape instead of you to read and learn you are quick to criticize. This is not d writer before you start saying she is d one.

11. Eyaaa😢😢😢 Callous evil robbers. They will surely meet their waterloo someday.

12. I passed through something similar 2 years back and am still not back to who I used to be. Thank God am no longer suicidal but am still battling depression. its a struggle for me to be happy, some days I succeed in that and other days I would just become so depressed. The determined and driven person that everybody once knew is no more it feels like my life has just stopped moving since that day. I feel like a damaged goods, am tired of being stagnated, my hope right now is this Shiloh that is coming up soon cause I truly need a new dawn in my life

1. I pray that you find comfort in God. God loves you.

2. I pray God heals you on the inside. Please did you get counselling? If you didn't, please try and get it. If you feel you can't open up to the psychologist, there are trusted people all around who can help you through whatever you're feeling by just listening. Please don't bottle anything in. You're surrounded by more helpers than you may think. Also, try to find pleasure in the smallest things. That child's laughter and antics, the way a bird is chirping and other seemingly inane things. I pray God continue to strengthen and comfort you. Ehugs

13. Weldone ER, one of my favouritesegment. Thanks for the information shares

14. One can tell this to a young person what or how do those underage toddlers raped suppose to deal with the aftermath....just thinking....

15. Jesus!!! I pray she finds closure. This is really enlightening, it is well.