Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Emergency Room Series: Complications From Being A Product Of AS+AS

Monday, November 27, 2017

Emergency Room Series: Complications From Being A Product Of AS+AS

A boy in his late teens was brought to the ER yesterday by his mother. He was in painful distress and was groaning. The mother said he was a sickler and was in his room for an unusual long time that morning and he wouldn't come out. 

When she went to check on him, she met him on the floor, rolling in pains with an obvious erection that wouldn't go down.

The doctor on call asked him if it was the first time it was happening, he said yes. The doctor then asked how long it had started and he said about four hours. When we asked him why he didn't report to his mother, he simply said he thought it would go down.

On physical assessment, he looked smaller than his age in size. His eyes were a bit yellow. We checked his vitals which came out to be normal. We took blood samples to check his blood level as well as other tests, his blood level was 30% which was within normal limits for a sickler. He was diagnosed with Priapism.

Normally when a man gets aroused, the arteries in his p*nis relax and expand, bringing more blood to the penis. At the same time, the valves in the veins close, trapping blood in the area and causing an erection. After the excitement ends, the vein valves open, the blood flows out, and the p*nis returns to its usual state. In the case of this guy, it was the other way round. He claimed he wasn't aroused but only woke up to a sharp pain in his penis and an erection that wouldn't go down. Priapism is a common complication in men that are sicklers

At first we put up IV fluids and we placed icepacks around the p*nis. Although the guy was in pains, i could see the embarrassment written all over his face. I administered vasoconstrictors but we weren't getting the response we wanted fast so we called the urologist and moved him to the theatre in the ER where performed Cavernous aspiration. The procedure simply involves injecting the p*nis with a big syringe and pulling blood out so it will go down. Eventually the penis returned to normal after the procedure and we placed him on painkillers. We also ensured his privacy.

I can only imagine what the boy has been through all his life. Most of them live a greater part of their lives either in and out of the hospital or on constant medications. Usually sicklers are born as a result of either ignorance on the part of the parents who dont know their genotype or selfish decision-making whereby the parents know their genotype but go ahead to marry out of 'love'. 

Although I've seen some dual AS couples who have two or three kids and none is SS, I count those ones lucky. However, sicklers go through a lot of complications such as persistent fever, veno-occlusive disease, acute chest syndrome, osteomyelitis, local or systemic infection, vaso-occlusive crisis, acute splenic sequestration, aplastic crisis, stroke, priapism to mention a few. These complications limits most of them. They hardly engage in physical activities such as sports and most of them finish school after their peers because the spend longer time in the hospital.

However there are sicklers who have fewer crisis and are able to live longer and normal lives so far they take good care of themselves and are financially okay to do that. I'm sure a few of us have friends or a family member with the disease and its our duty to care for them in the best way possible. 

...And if you're a guy or girl in a serious relationship or intending to get married soon, its best you know your genotype soon enough to avoid unnecessary emotional and physical stress in the future.

33 comments:

1. God is faithful, God is true.
      I went in with knowledge of AS+AS.
      I always knew I will do CVS when I get pregnant as giving birth to a stickler wasn't an option.
      My 2 children (girl and boy) are healthy.
      I chose someone whom I'll live in peace with and that to me was the most important.

What is the use of living with an AA irresponsible, wife beater, ashawo man?

God I praise you.

2. Meaning if the pregnancy showed the child will be SS you will abort it right? And that gives you a right to feel you did well and call God's name in vain abi?

2. Hmmm... It is well

1. How about you leave your AS partner to marry AA and then realize he has no sperm?

3. Awww! Poor Boy!They no dey hear word, they will tell you they love the guy and they have faith that they won't birth SS children
    God give our children wisdom to choose right

4. My sister is a sickler. There's nothing we've not done. The emotional, psychological,spiritual and physical stress is so much on both the patient and the entire family. It's disturbing. When I went on the first date with my fiance, the first question I asked was his genotype. I cannot shout.
    Before you start developing feelings, find out their genotype. If you can't cope, leave the relationship early enough. The challenges are TOOOOO many

5. I have a question please.
    For males like the poster's patient, can sex alleviate the pain and make the penis go back to flaccid state?

6. poor boy. sometimes it's not enough to marry for love.... marriage breeds children, our children are out future so let's think about them too before walking down the aisle.

7. Hmmmm. It's well

8. Enter your comment...Thank u

1. Love is the list thing to consider when getting married.

9. With the way people are knacking and getting pregnant without any form of knowing their partners medical history, we will still have more sicklers on the increase instead of on the decrease. I just pity the kids who are born due to this negligence. I have witnessed one during her crisis and its not a good sight to behold.

10. This brought back those ugly memories of what my younger brother went through. Gozie continue to rest in the bosom of the Lord. I pray you have no pains anymore. I will always love you my brother. Thank you for this lovely piece.

1. So sorry for your loss dear. God comfort you and your family.

11. I can imagine his constant pain and the constant regrets from both parents for their decision taking in either ignorance or out of stupidity from love....I pity the guy

LEP😛

12. My late uncle had five children: three were sicklers and two normal children. It was not easy living with the sicklers. They spent more time in the hospital than at home. Blood transfusion, folic acid,etc every other month. In fact, they even became tired of their medications and preferred to be allowed to die than to continue bringing anguish to their parents. The three sicklers, the first born and two daughters,are all dead now, while the normal two, boys, are still alive.
    I'm telling you, as a carrier of the AS genotype, no amount of love should lead you to agree starting up a family with any man/lady whose genotype is also AS because the psychological trauma of spending more time in the hospital than at home, because of your sickle cell anaemic child can not be overstressed.
    I believe that actress Eucharia Anunobi (Ekwu) had a sickle cell child and he/she is dead now,but the story has it that her husband/father of the child had to abandon the marriage when the stress became too much for him to bear. So much for love!
    On a lighter note, like we once joked on the Abuja whatsapp group chat in August this year, AA genotypes should help the ministry of AS/SS genotypes by marrying them,lol!

13. Mmm, some people are hoping on PGI tests, forgetting that the process Is not a walk in d park, various hospital trips, tests,more tests, drugs,and a procedure that is not a guarantee? You go tire sef, the money alone should make u borrow sense, people who can afford it easily don't fall in love hopelessly enough to sacrifice kids for love...love ooo

14. Some people found themselves in this situation through no fault of theirs but the half baked laboratories in this half baked country called Nigeria. Telling people they are AS or AA when they really are AS and they go on to marry another AS thinking they are cleared. Only for after marriage they now have reasons to go through procedures that need blood work in well cooked countries and find out they had been wrongly informed. Can you deal with that? So not all cases are out of being blinded with love please. May God help us all.

15. Poster of yesterday's chronicle come and read this ER.

1. Nooo, leave her, she's in a country where stuff works!

16. I heard a bone marrow transplant hospital is about to be established in Nigeria. Will be ready by the middle of next year I think.

17. I pity them, i saw one some years back in luth when my son was admitted, i left my son's palaver and i was crying for this 15yrs old girl. She was screaming and crying, calling the names of the medications they should inject her. She was shouting, nurse give me so so, give me this, inject me that. They were telling her no you would be fine. After an hour they gave her one and she smiled and slept. The parents were just looking at her telling her sorry. The mom was close to tears but couldn't cry. I could touch her pain with my hands. I was crying like a baby on my son's bed in one corner, my mom had to take me away. After some days (they met us there, we were on admission for over 3 weeks) i got talking to the mom and she said she has 4 SS and 2 AS. She said she is the one that troubles her the most. The other two has less crisis. Looking at them they are well to do. They came with an ambulance that morning from ituah hospital. She said that is their family hospital but something something happened they had to refer them to luth after she had a crisis last night. I asked the mom why she married an AS and she told me that before they got married the husband did a test and he came out AA, apparently she is the AS. The first born is AS the last born is AS. That the reason they had that much was to at least have 4 or 3 AS. True or false i dont know. I don't pray for this, i am an AS, no matter the love i can't watch this unfold in my presence, it is unexplainable, i might of die of heartbreak or sorrow even before the patient. The pain shouldn't even be imagined. It is well.

1. hmmmnnnn..... I just took a deep breathe after reading this.

18. My mum keeps saying till date,that she was lucky in marriage,My dad was a tall huge healthy looking man,my mum got married to him back then in the early 50's and there was nothing like checking of genotype then.It was when my dad was ill when he was 75years then that we found out he was AS,It was a big shock to us all,because i and my siblings automatically claimed Genptype AA,Blood group O+. Even all my documents then,i automatically wrote AA, That was how i had to go check mine and i found out i was the only AS out of 6 children my parents had,all others were AA,This made my dad so fond of me till he passed on at 92years.

1. Awwww, thank God for you my dear. I have lost 2 friends to this sickle cell anemia. May they continue to rest in peace and May God help us all

19. i had a similar experience, my husband always claimed AA, until during our wedding we were asked to do a Geno-type and blood group test, he discovered he was AS, he went to 2 hospitals and the results were the same AS, Thank God that mine was AA, if not i cant imagine what would have happened, cos we have done our traditional marriage that period. he was so happy and relieved that i was AA.

20. People should also know AC and As ain't compatible. I have seen cases where 1 of the partnerAS lied because of d wife to be was from a wealthy . home.

1. Yes oh, you're right I'm AC and I stylishly ask before I start any relationship with any guy because you can't tell the relationship might get serious and lead to marriage

21. i support CVS test if you truly love your spouse. it is better than marrying the worst AA on earth as if you are helping the woman.