Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: HAIR LOUNGE - Protective Styling Can Do More Harm Than Good

Saturday, November 04, 2017

HAIR LOUNGE - Protective Styling Can Do More Harm Than Good

The gospel for naturalistas is "do more protective styling" which I quite agree with but did you know that if you don't get it right, that protective style can damage your hair? Yes, it can. 

Types of protective styles

Wigs
Natural hair twists
Crotchets
Braids

How protective styles damage hair

Wigs: While it's great for every woman to own a wig or two, it's also important to care for your hair underneath the wig. You can wear one wig for as long as you want especially if it's the removable type as long as you ensure your hair is moisturized for as long as you wig it. I have seen a lot of women who wear a wig especially lace wigs for over two months, while this is great do not let the urge to enjoy your money's worth from purchasing that Nwanneka's 200gram Mongolian hair at N250, 000 to damage your real hair. Unless of cause you don't care about hair loss, it's important to moisturize hair before installation and If possible while you have it on. Visit a stylist if you require assistance.

The most common mistake we make is to assume that once you have a wig on your hair is protected, it's not if the hair is left dry and unwashed especially if it's the removable wig you can have the weave re-done at an interval of two weeks or less.

Natural hair twists: This is a great protective style and it looks good on every one. It also helps to stretch your hair and you can see how far your hair has grown. Some people can take their twists for as long as a month or more but also it's important to moisturize the hair. The longer you wear twists, the finer it becomes. It even looks like real locs if done properly but please moisturize, dry hair and scalp breaks natural hair.

Crotchets: This is the in thing now and you can find crochet in almost any hairstyle you want but did you know that crochet can give you temporary alopecia if not done right? The first time I did crochet I had a headache for over a week and my neck was stretched out like an ostrich because of how tight it was and I assumed it was normal because you see it was my first time and I didn't know better. Please the weave that you want to install crochet on should not be tight because when the crochet pin goes in your hair would come out with it. After my first experience, I never went back and started installing them myself. You can do the same too if you can just get someone else to weave your hair.

Crotchet installed for my friend, notice how I avoided her edges. 

Notice how not too loose or tight this is, perfect for crotchet installation.

Braids: While I like crotchet, some people don't and would rather have their hair braided. Nothing wrong with this, but tell your stylist to go easy on your scalp. Always take note of the stylist that can't have your hair done without pulling at the scalp. Hair can be well braided without your scalp looking snatched by the devil himself. Also, avoid very tiny and long braids so your edges don't suffer. Length of braids means your scalp hair is being pulled downwards and many of us tend to pack our braids in pony tails or let loose. Lastly, Remember that while you can take your braids for a month or longer. 

They can be washed and oiled by a professional and still look new. Personally, I don't keep a hairstyle longer than two weeks, at most three weeks but if you must do longer especially for million braids and the likes, please have it oiled as often as you can and wash it too.

BY BV DOPPELGANGER.

63 comments:

1. Doppelgangie issa so fine girl.... Ok, would come back to read the post

1. Good, this picture portrays you as a pretty and intelligent chick that you are(this is what I have noticed from reading your comments overtime),but you are a bit harsh sha(from comments on chronicles). Thanks for this tips.

2. Fine Doppy.
    Crochet was the worst for me.
    Bought it from this IG girl.
    The thing was so heavy my neck nearly broke!
    Obviously wasn't done with attachment cuz they are lighter.
    The crochet dealt with my front hair and I won't be installing again.

I had to start serious hair repair procedures after that crochet installation. I have done and bought all sorts. My best so far is the Cantu repair cream, Dr.Mkracle Temple and nape cream (for edges all round) and the egg/honey mix.

I recently heard of rice water.. Will try that one next week.

I never carry a hairstyle more than 20 days. I just can't.

Thanks girl.

1. The last hair I made was crochet. I'm not sure the style is for my hair. The two times I've done that, I haven't been impressed. It deals with my hair a lot.

2. Try Jamican Black Castor Oil for your edges sweets.

3. Thanks Iphie. I will buy it asap.

4. Jamaican*
      You are welcome sweets😍😍😍

5. Egg and honey... Will definitely try this

Olivia 😍

6. Rocky 😙😙😙😚

Just egg white, remove the yoke. Mix with honey and apply all over especially scalp. Cover with shower cap for about 30 mins. Rinse with cold water. Thoroughly.

3. See make I talk true. I did not read jack, was staring at the beautiful face. Will read tomorrow.
    Nice one Doppelganger √♥

4. Grooming one's natural hair is not an easy task. I dey follow bumper to bumper.

Weldone doppelganger

5. Please Dopplegander is the first picture you? If so you're really beauty with brains because your comments on this blog shows how witty and intelligent you are.

6. Thanks alot doppel,I got my hair twist some days back with kinki,it looks real like there is no attachment, The journey continues.

7. Miss Ganger's back!!!!! Yasss girl!!!! 🙌🙌🙌👑👑👑

Good job as always 😘😘😘

8. Thumbs up doppel...
    Very interesting write up....

9. I got myself a spritz bottle.. I added water,cocounut oil and Olive oil. Someone advised me to add Rose water and Glycerin. What do you think Doppel?

Thanks so much for this.

1. I think it's fine but you know what they say about excesses. You're welcome😘

2. Okay now I'm scared.🙆🏽‍♂️
      What do you put in your spritz bottle Doppel?

3. LOL Iphie don't be scared please, I don't have a spritz bottle to be honest but I apply water and coconut oil to my hair which works. So your Mix is good.

4. Doppelganger Issa fine girl. #BabyGirlForLife

5. You are a DARLYN!!
      Its a date next week.
      Hair Lobby segment here we come💃🏼💃🏼💃🏼💃🏼

6. I spray coconut oil, Apple cider vinegar and water to my hair.

Hi doppel...

10. Nice one doppelganger
    You're right about not weaving hair too tight before installing the crotchet. The first time I did (it was very tight) I couldn't sleep and I had to uninstall the next day and I've changed too. This new stylist knows that whatever style I do must not be too tight and it's been helping me for my edges
    Nice smile you've got 😊

1. Why don't they ever listen when you tell them the weaving can't be tight?
      They always nod,say sorry and then continue the evil deed.
      My scalp is so soft... This is why I stopped using relaxers.... I can't deal witht most of them.

11. Fixing weavon is not protective? 🙆

12. Thanks Dope! I think I am very lucky when it comes to hair sha. I have a veryyyy full hair that people do mistake for weavon and my front hair is always intact too upon I braid at all times. Not that I use any serious something other than normal shampoo and normal hair cream o and I retouch once in three months. Just lucky sha.

1. You're lucky, I have a friend with hair like that too. Her best hairstyle is Ghana weaving.

2. I envy u..in fact I wish I can become invisible and steal some of your hair and put on mine. My hair is terrible.

3. I did just ghana weaving for 3yrs.

Nothing happens to my front hair.

Sandy, I think we have same hair type. No matter the style I do, my hair don't break.

I've never done this crochet sha. I'm a ghana weaving, braids and loc and twist person.

13. Doppelganger issa baby girl for life
    All I see is your beauty

Nice write up

14. Well written and Analysed.
    Thanks Doppel. You're pretty!

15. Nice hair doppel please where did you make it abeg. I want to make it.

Meanwhile, your comments on all chronicles posts are always on point. You have got the beauty and the brains dear. Keep it up.

1. A salon at Ilupeju, a friend took me there.
      Thank you.

16. Doppelganger has made me fall in Love with Natural hair o,infact I have not retouch my hair for the past 4mnth now.i must go back to natural hair by force.

17. I stared at that face for like 20 mins analysing every detail. You are one gorgeous lady with and your skin is goals.
    That been said, I just started my natural hair journey and I planing on tinting and styling it soon.
    Any tip on what to moisture with will be helpful.
    Let it be economy friendly biko.

1. Hello DavinaRose, I wrote about dye for natural hair and how to care for it in my last post. Please see link http://www.stelladimokokorkus.com/2017/09/how-to-apply-and-maintain-dye-on.html?m=1

18. #When you take something personally, you are giving your power to that person, who said or did something that upset you*

19. All I see is the beautiful face ☝☝☝☝☝☝☝☝☝☝☝☝
    Will read later.

@ Doppelganger you are beautiful.
    Nice write up☝☝

20. Doppel is very beautiful and intelligent. She is an epitome of class, always on her lane...babe is a queen.

21. This your beauty is sooo captivating, see those set of teeth waoh! Beautiful woman. #beautyandbraindoppelganger#

22. Awwh thanks @ doppelganger. Pretty lady! #naturalista

23. Doppelganger come and tell me how to make my hair grow longer. This hair don too stay one place. I need progress

1. Next post maybe but length doesn't necessarily mean growth. Some of us just have hair that grows fuller instead of longer. 😘

2. You are very correct doppel. I have been on natural for a year and 10 months now but looking at it,it seems slow growth but very full. 👍

3. Thanks dear. Mine grows fuller and not longer anymore 😭😭

24. Hey doppelgänger how are you?my short hair won't relax no matter what I use,it's really tough,texturerizer fades off within 2/3days!!!

1. I'd assume you mean soft when you say the hair won't relax, you either change the current relaxer you use to one for tough hair or you start moisturizing often. If you don't already use shea butter, please start and you can use hot combs once in a while if your hair isn't too short.

25. Princess lagos shopper,just get hold of original Dark and lovely kit relaxer for coarse hair and leave it on for 25mins after it has been properly mixed. Your hair must to relax o. Infact e go stay relaxed. U can thank me later

26. doppelganger you are pretty....
    I am team weaving all the way... don't have strength to sit for braids Abeg.., 3 weeks and am already tired of it... my hair is good though, long and full, normal shampoo, conditioner and hair cream. Am very comfortable with it..

27. Hello doppel thanx for ur tips. Pls how can I transition from relaxed hair to natural hair?? I don't want to cut my hair oo cos its too long but I want to be teamnatural now.. I fear that my hair wont grow long again if I cut it.. Pls help a sister

1. You don't have to cut your hair, simply stop using chemics and your relaxed hair would break off on it's own. Stay off heat completely, so no hair dryers etc. You'd only require to trim off relaxed tips. Get a protective style that suits your hair and wear it for longer periods so your hair can get to that form where it would be termed "due". Also, ensure you moisturize while you stay off relaxers. Shea butter should do the trick. One year maximum and you'd be a full naturalista since your hair is long.