Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos Residents To Experience 40-Hour Blackout

Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Lagos Residents To Experience 40-Hour Blackout

Eko Electricity Distribution Company has announced a planned power outage programme that will affect SOME residents of the Lagos metropolis. 

The company’s General Manager, Corporate Communications, Mr. Godwin Idemudia, said in a statement on Tuesday that the planned outage was to enable the Transmission Company of Nigeria to carry out routine maintenance work on some of its facilities serving the area.

According to the statement, the outage is scheduled to take place every Tuesday and Thursday for the next five weeks, and will last for four hours on each day of the maintenance work. It said Lagos Island, Victoria Island, Ikoyi, Lekki, Ajah, Ibeju and environs would be affected by the planned outage.

According to NAN, Idemudia stated that in order to minimise the effect of the planned outage on the company’s customers, back-feeding arrangements had been put in place from the Ijora Transmission Station to the Alagbon Transmission Station. He said this would enable customers in Ikoyi, Victoria Island and Lagos Island to receive reasonable power supply.

The firm appealed to all residents who would be affected by the planned outage to bear with the situation, adding that the maintenance work would lead to better services in the future.

10 comments:

1. 40 hours is too small. Afterall my company runs its own gen.

In the island, to get light for 4 hours is a joke. Na dem sabi.

40 hours is still very small. some places no light for the past 1 week.

1. Why on earth is Lekki always affected by this outage? Please o I run a business that requires constant power and you guys have been messing up lately..now una Don select Tuesday and Thursday join am.. Why now?

2. Stella, i live in Durumi by American International school, Abuja. Haven't had light for 5 days. 40 hours is nothing. Well done minister Fashola. You are working.

2. Akụkọ, as if say we decided enjoy power supply before.

3. Only 40 hrs black out? This is not new na. Lagos residents experience more hours of blackout every now and then

4. Na every time them wan do black out, at the end nothing. Where is the light sef that dey want to do black out. Mtchew

5. 40 hrs only, we stay two weeks no light and still pay bill constantly

6. As if they bring the light,useless Yeye pple

7. Like they give steady light before

8. Political message. Where is the light? No light in implemented phase 2, Lagos. So Lagos is and even have. More than enough light. Lord give me money to buy solar cause I don't need NEPA. I am so bitter