Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Crooner BankyW Talks About Quitting Music For Making Movies...

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Crooner BankyW Talks About Quitting Music For Making Movies...

Popular R&B singer, Bankole Wellington, popular known as Banky W, who recently broke the internet with his wedding ceremony to his wife, Adesua has spoken on quitting music for acting.

The singer noted that he has always seen himself as an actor but would not quit music for it.

Speaking in an interview with Punch he said, “Anybody that has paid attention to my music videos would know that I have had this flirtatious love affair with the movie-making business because most of my videos are short films.

“I tend to tell stories with my music videos because I have always been a storyteller. In fact, from my younger days, I always considered myself as a writer before I saw myself as a singer or an actor. In that sense, watching myself on the screen was not much of a surprise because I have been flirting with it for a long time.

“I try to be my biggest critic and I consider myself as such. That is how I am about my music and businesses.

“I feel that the day you are satisfied with your performance and job, it is the beginning of the end because you would start to become complacent. I am always harsh on myself. So, even people think I have done a good job; I try to look at the one area that I can improve on.

“While I really love Wedding Party 1, I feel there were things I could have improved on. It is the same thing with the second part; I watch the movie and I look for my mistakes. I have not even started to watch the film yet; instead, I am looking for where I made mistakes. That is just the way that I am as an entertainer and performer.

“People who know me well know that I am a very ambitious person; I am ambitious to a fault and I feel like I can do anything. I dream big and I would literally work my fingers to the bone so I have no plans to rob my fans of my music.

“My music career is still going on and I cannot quit it for acting.

” I am still releasing Running After You, featuring Nonso Amadi, ‘What you doing tonight’ and ‘Love you Baby’, which was produced by Cobhams. The videos would be out as well.”

28 comments:

1. Oh pls pack one side, because of wedding party now you say it has been your dream. Just say you want to change Cus music isn't paying you anymore

2. I guess this article is our "Sunday laughs "today.

2. Ummmm....I wanted to say something but...don't wanna irritate some fans' sensibilities.
    Make I tuck in my tongue.

1. He’s not doing that great musically anyway.He might as well go and try his luck elsewhere 😂

3. Not bad, he'll made a good actor.

4. huh?!!!!!!!!!!!! he is not that good as an actor o, his acting keeps reminding me that i am watching a work of fiction

1. Me too.
      I don't think he brings much life to his character. I watch him and it's so obvious it's a 'feem'. No room to suspend disbelief

2. Movie critics. Welldone guys😂😂😂

5. Good for him. I wish him all the best.

6. I think he should stick to music. He is not a good actor.

7. People won't read this to the end. They will conclude by the headline.
    Well for those who wouldn't, he's not quitting music for acting

8. Him music no sell that's why.

9. This comment has been removed by the author.

10. He's not quitting, hope he doesn't Change his mind cos I'm more of a fan of his music than his acting. He should produce adesua movies instead, and maybe take acting classes. BAADGANG

11. Maybe he'll get better in time, he was terrible in that movie wedding party, well so is 90% of Naija actors, too painful to watch

12. As much as I enjoyed watching your cute face on my screen in the last movie with adesuwa what's the name sef? *thinking* can't remember I would rather sit and watch your cute face in a musical video. Acting ain't for you baby boy, not unless you are willing to go to new York film academy to be professionally trained, I will advice you stick to you music alone.

*hangs leg on the wall*

13. He's not that good music wise. I have not seen any of his films so i dont know how well he could act.

14. It's nice he is trying to dabble into acting big time, but I think he is a better musician than an actor.

15. Banky is musically fantastic and his videos are classy with good story line. Unfortunately we are in an era "gbam bam, jin jin, nonsense ",so his R & B rhymes are not "shokish". It may look like this now, but his type of music will outlive all these erotic rubbish everywhere.Luckily, for him, he is a trained engineer and quite intelligent too. So if music no pay again, he has a profession unlike the others that stumble on music and have nothing else to fall back on. For you critics, pls ensure u ve a profession, u can fall back on when ur talent is no longer paying ur bills.Banky is already taking lessons at NYFA, to better his lot, you nko??? Do something before something do you....

16. Banky head of states you are welcome!but u know u kannot act sha?