Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Police PRO, Jimoh Moshood Says Mischievous Politicians Are Behind #EndSARS Campaign'

Tuesday, December 05, 2017

Police PRO, Jimoh Moshood Says Mischievous Politicians Are Behind #EndSARS Campaign'

Jimoh Moshood, force public relations officer, says “mischievous” politicians are behind the #EndSARS campaign.

Over the weekend, Nigerians took to the social media to condemn the “careless” disregard for human lives by the operatives of the special anti-robbery squad (SARS).

But speaking on Sunrise Daily, a Channels Television programme, Moshood said Jega Awosanya Segun, the alleged originator of the hashtag, is under investigation.

He alleged that Segun had links to some unnamed politicians.

“Somebody who had an ulterior motive put up #EndSARS, Nigerians should be mindful because the social media is very porous,” Moshood.

“We traced the hashtag and traced it to mischievous politicians that are trying to create problem in the system that SARS is a stumbling block for them to achieve objective in the election and we are investigating this.

“The owner of the hashtag is being investigated. We know freedom of expression is the right of every Nigerian and we are taking people up because of that.

“It is quite unfortunate, I’m not mentioning any name but this same Jega Awosanya Segun is the owner of the hastag and we have seen his picture with various crop of politicians and we are investigating that for Nigerians to know the reason why.”

He said SARS “is not a killing machine” as “it was created to deal with cases of robbery and any other case the offender carries firearm”.

Moshood said: “SARS is been doing very very well. We are not saying that there is no infraction, if there is an infrcation, not only on SARS personnel but conventional policemen – people should report to us.

“We want to disabuse their minds that SARS should be ended. But when you have complain, complain to us. For a lot of people pushing their remarks on social media, most of them are not correct.”

via Thecable

11 comments:

1. Same way mischievous police officers like Moshood have been behind SARS'excesses.

1. Oga abeg go and sit inside bush, this man has a hand in the way SARS has been behaving, maybe he collects his own share from the money extorted from people cus I don't know how someone would be blindly siding evil. So it's government officials that told them to kidnap people and force them to the ATM. Oga sars must end by the grace of God

2. They used to do well but they are no longer doing well. Stop blaming people for your own rot. Clean up your system

3. Very Silly line of defence. You could have just accepted you have bad eggs amongst you but you are working on it....with all the glaring testimonials with proofs ........2014 Christmas Enugu I was arrested ;my crime ,'I was using an apple product and looked like a yahoo boy'.....50k was extorted from my family just like that. #EndSars. #EndSars

4. Today around 10am, SARS operatives from Adewole division, ilorin Kwara state came to the car wash where I was washing my car around tanke area and demanded to see the owner of the car. Just like that, I was forced to part with 40k. This man needs to shut the entire fuck up because I'm so angry right now. #Endsars

5. Today around 10am, SARS operatives from Adewole division, ilorin Kwara state came to the car wash where I was washing my car around tanke area and demanded to see the owner of the car. Just like that, I was forced to part with 40k. This man needs to shut the entire fuck up because I'm so angry right now. #Endsars

6. Today around 10am, SARS operatives from Adewole division, ilorin Kwara state came to the car wash where I was washing my car around tanke area and demanded to see the owner of the car. Just like that, I was forced to part with 40k. This man needs to shut the entire fuck up because I'm so angry right now. #Endsars

7. Today around 10am, SARS operatives from Adewole division, ilorin Kwara state came to the car wash where I was washing my car around tanke area and demanded to see the owner of the car. Just like that, I was forced to part with 40k. This man needs to shut the entire fuck up because I'm so angry right now. #Endsars

8. Today around 10am, SARS operatives from Adewole division, ilorin Kwara state came to the car wash where I was washing my car around tanke area and demanded to see the owner of the car. Just like that, I was forced to part with 40k. This man needs to shut the entire fuck up because I'm so angry right now. #Endsars

9. Yahoo boys are behind this.pls SARS IS VERY OK FOR THE COUNTRY

10. @Teejay. na una dey spoil all these useless police people. how will sars just come and obtain you 40k just becos u dey car wash dey wash car. na wao