Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: DPP Advised To Withdraw Some Charges Against Alleged Kidnap Kingpin Evans

Friday, February 16, 2018

DPP Advised To Withdraw Some Charges Against Alleged Kidnap Kingpin Evans

The trial of alleged kidnap kingpin, Chukwudumeme Onwuamadike a.k.a Evans and three others on fresh kidnapping charges was stalled on Thursday at an Ikeja High Court.

The arraignment was stalled due to multiple filing of the seven-count charge of murder, attempted murder, conspiracy to commit kidnapping, attempt to kidnap and sales and transfer of firearms by the State Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP). The DPP’s error was pointed out during the proceedings by Mr Olukoya Ogungbeje, Evans’ defence counsel and said, "If the DPP files without withdrawing, I will file a motion for dismissal of the case.”

Mrs Titilayo Shitta-Bey, the Director of the DPP -disputed Ogungbeje’s claim, said:“There is nothing wrong with the charge before the court, we can proceed with our amended information dated Oct. 26, 2017. “The argument of my learned friend has no basis in law.”

Justice Taiwo, in a ruling, agreed with Ogungbeje’s submission, saying “I agree with Mr Ogungbeje on this, the DPP must file fresh, clean and unadulterated charges. “This case shall be adjourned to enable the DPP file in fresh new charges in accordance with Section 155 of the Administration of Criminal Justice Law (ACJL). The DPP is advised to withdraw all other charges at the next adjourned date. Justice Taiwo adjourned the case ùntill March 21, March 22 and March 23 for trial.

From Vanguard

*Please Lawyers get in here and explain why the DPP needs to drop these charges..I hope they are not trying to make it easy for him to escape Justice?

8 comments:

1. Dismiss the case?upon all his atrocites? I dont think i understand o,ławyers on SDK shld explain better

2. Dismiss the case?upon all his atrocites? I dont think i understand o,ławyers on SDK shld explain better

3. Lagos State Goverment is doing everything within her power to crush Evans. The DPP wants the maximum sentence for the suspect, hence the double filling.

Not dismiss parse, but to file a fresh charge against the suspect without double filling.

The judge is not closing the case at all.

Lagos State Judicial system is on point, I can bet my life that the suspect can not evade justice in Lagos State.

4. Lawyers like Cee c of Bbnaija should keep mute, let me ask google abeg.

5. I don't understand this Evans case anymore

6. What of the Fulani herdsmen killing and kidnapping? Nothing has been done concerning their cases, they should free Mr Evans...