Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Meets With Catholic Bishops Says It’s Dishonest To Say He's Doing Nothing About Recent Killings

Friday, February 09, 2018

President Buhari Meets With Catholic Bishops Says It’s Dishonest To Say He's Doing Nothing About Recent Killings

President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday said it was dishonest to continue to create the impression that he is enjoying himself at home without doing anything about the recent killings in Benue, Adamawa, Taraba, and Zamfara states.

The President spoke while receiving a delegation of the Catholic Bishops Conference of Nigeria led by Archbishop Ignatius Kaigama at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Buhari said because he was aware of the enormity of the problems, he was doing his best to get law enforcement agencies to be on the alert. While condemning the killings, the President said security operatives would ensure prosecution of perpetrators and all those found with illegal arms in the affected areas.

He said, “The impression created that I was sitting in an air-conditioned office and home, enjoying myself while these things happened, is dishonest. At every step, I have tried to foresee these problems because I have the experience as a former military officer who commanded three out of the four divisions of the Nigerian Army in Lagos, Ibadan and Jos. I am quite aware of the problems we have and I am doing my best to get law enforcement agencies to be on alert.”

The President explained that the cattle colonies policy proposed by the Federal Government in response to the frequent clashes between herdsmen and farmers in the country is not meant to colonise any part of the country. He said government’s intention was to create grazing locations for cattle rearers. He regretted that the step has now been misconstrued as another form of colonisation.

Buhari regretted that the well-thought out policy of the Federal Government, which was conceived after wide consultations with stakeholders, had been largely misunderstood by a section of the public. He, however, assured the Catholic Bishops that the Federal Government will continue to explore all opportunities and support initiatives to ensure peace and stability in restive areas.

The President also told his guests that he would not be tired of recounting remarkable progress recorded in the areas of security, economy and the fight against corruption.

11 comments:

1. And you, get high on your mock tail!!!

2. Is the office and home not air conditioned? Dullard presido

1. Dullard yori. If heat is disturbing you, buy a hand fan from fan Emmanuel

3. Buhari its the truth, theres nothing dishonest about it. You've taken sides with the Fulanis because you are their grand patron

*Chikito's fan

4. Mumu lyk yori yori. Always full of hatred 4 d North, must of ur comments brings out d kind of person u are dont b supprice dat a northern might help u 1 day. so slow down not everything is bad ok.

5. Mr reviewer, get ready to do the review in daura. Hypocrite president.

6. He's trying his best. Nigerians are hard to please. If you don't want him there, go and get your pvc Instead of behind your China phone and complaining.

7. He is an embodiment of dishonesty. His nonchalant attitude to the killing is obvious to even blind person

8. Buhari is a disgrace to his family and generation. Hopeless man still talking about cattle colony.
    If cattle colony is a well thought out plan by the federal govt, that simply shows that we are worse problem than we thought.

9. In other countries, when something terrible happens, the president holds a press conference to address the situation to show that they are working, but our own president is silent. When the the criticism is loud, he will release one or two of his bulldogs to release a written statement. Why then will we not say he is not doing anything about the Killings, which is true.