Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov. Ambode Backs Shutdown of Ojota Lagos Dump Site

Saturday, March 17, 2018

Gov. Ambode Backs Shutdown of Ojota Lagos Dump Site

Lagos State Governor, Mr Akinwunmi Ambode on Friday justified the decision of the State Government to shut down the Olusosun dumpsite in Ojota, saying the location of the facility was no longer healthy both for trading activities and residents living in the neighborhood.

Gov. Ambode, who spoke while addressing scavengers and other workers at the site following the outbreak of fire last Wednesday, said aside the negative health implication of the site to the people, the structure of the facility was also risky and susceptible to all forms of hazards like the fire outbreak. What we have decided now is that there will not be dumping of refuse here any longer.

Gov. Ambode said in as much as government was unwilling to make people in the area lose their means of livelihood, it was important for all the stakeholders to agree on what to be done going forward. “I have not come to disturb you; what should be removed will be removed; we are not dumping waste here again. What will benefit all the people here is my concern. But we have to take it one after the other and we want all your leaders to cooperate with us.
From Vanguard

This Ambode govt monetises everything,soon poor people wont be able to live in Lagos again.*tongue click*

8 comments:

1. A step in the right direction.

2. This is long overdue!! That place always smells like hell

3. Abeg is good. The fire that day was much. Smoke everywhere. And ketu ojota go rest for smell. Lol

4. What about igando refuse dump? The place stinks like mad, no wonder their court deliberates on yeye cases every day..the smell from the dump has affected them all

5. Ambode honestly you have to do something about the heap of refuse in our environment. Lagos has never been this filthy.

6. It's so easy to comment but remember lots of people's means of survival will be affected. All I know is that God is watching. The Wicked ones will never go unpurnished in Jesus name.

7. People that feel they are close to the Lagos State government are using this channel to displace the poor. Ambode watch before you leap. God dose not Joke with the poor, don't allow greedy people destroy your generation.