Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Saturday, May 05, 2018

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Hmmmmmm....

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE

WICKED PARENTS

Good day Stella.

I'm broken and confused and don't know who to run to. All my life I've been fighting depression. And this is thanks to my parents. They make life so meaningless that I've always fought to make something out of mine.

I'm lost with where to even begin to explain things to you because its long, shitty and unreal. Its unbelievable what life has been like for me and my siblings. I'm lost, even though deep down inside me, I'm hopeful I'll see that lighted tunnel some day, but oh, I just don't know.

My parents are evil Stella. 

They don't want their children to grow or succeed, they want to keep us on leash forever just to tend to their own selfish ego. Home is supposed to be for succour and protection, but ours is the exact opposite and I'm still stuck here. 

The only thing i'm useful to them for is chores, not like this is big deal, but its weird they don't want us to grow simply because of that, and they're so satisfied with that. No matter how much of yourself you give, they'll still talk you down and make you feel worthless. 

With them, You never say or get anything right. My father will always say "do what we want, not what you want", " you can never be right about anything". 

My mum is an enabler. They'll do everything to abuse you emotionally, strip you of your confidence that you dare not state your case and I'm battling this socially, I can't freely express myself cos I've this constant reminder in my head I'll always spew trash. And when you force yourself to breakout, they'll curse you because to them, you disobeyed their orders to sit and try to fend for yourself. 

They prefer that we continue to look up to them for the tiny drops they give and still despise and condemn you for it and still tell you how much of a failure you are. They'll tell you they don't expect nothing from you anyway. Threaten to even stop giving the bits they give ( in school, i survived on 2/5k per month n paying my fees were hell) all just to keep you on the leash. 

And unfortunately, whatever we try our hands, out of pressure n lack of support, crashes and you just have to go back home. And whatever money you could gather, they'll "borrow" from you till you're stripped and then begin to spite you.

Last time I wrote to you, everyone asked me to leave home. But I can't leave to the streets, our lives have been lived in exile without friends/ family as to say I've someone to go to.

I don't want to make this sound like a sub story (I hope its not looking like one already). I honestly need help to move out of here before I finally lose my sanity. I've got savings (from my service year), but its no where near capable to help me get a place. 

So my sis could survive in school, she got messed up big time. I saw that and desperately held on not to let that happen to me. Suicide is never the answer is what I tell myself each time the depression begins to sit too deep, its a trick of the devil and I'm determined to rise above it without hurting my soul or my body.  

50 comments:

1. Oh dear💔it is well with you. Stay strong. You will overcome.

2. Oh dear💔it is well with you. Stay strong. You will overcome.

3. Story of my life!!!
    I guess you are Igbo??

Stella,my parents are ENEMIES OF PROGRESS!
    TELL my mum you are travelling and she goes "who will throw dustbin,who will buy pure water"

Some parents are hindrances unknown to them.

When I wanted to learn professional makeup-with my money.
    My mother said I lacked what to learn bla bla and guess what?? I left without learning much(talking about the power of spoken words).

Abi when visitors are around?? I always avoid coming out because my father must say something demeaning to redicle you.

I work in the state secretariat,if I am leaving the house and he has visitors,he starts ranting "see when you are going,she is unserious"

1. Most nigerian parents are abusive and sadly, most of us feel that the abuse we suffered as children in their hands, equates love.

The norm is that every parents live thier wards and want the best for them, but that's not always the case. Most parents succeed in killing any form of assertiveness, intelligence and smartness in their childrenames, through physical, emotional and psychological abuse. Some parents stop at nothing to remind you that you belong to them, and how fortunate you are to have been born by them, which translatesaw that you'd forever owe them for this massive favour.

I know of a mother that would rather take the glory for every single thing achieved by her kids, than allow them try to do something meaningful with their lives. Almost like she enjoys being the 'saviour' of her children who are all adults and managing their respective homes. Sadly, this is the case of my MIL and her children. Thanks to God, hubby is beginning to see the writing on the wall clearly and is standing up for himself. But guess what, he's become the familys' scapegoat as he dared to question the almighty mother and family matriarch.

I once commented on a post about Narcissism, these things are real, and only with proper knowledge can we begin to see these abuses for what they and how much damage they do to us. From there on, we can also see ways to empower ourselves, heal and be able to move on.

2. @Mbaise it's not a tribe thing trust me. Your parents are the way they are for reasons best known to them not because they are Igbos.

4. In other words?

5. I feel you. So sorry for what you are going through.

Some Parents sha!!! Tomorrow they will expect you to take care of them at old age

Sometimes when i see aged people by the wayside begging i wonder in my mind if they dont have children
    But on a second thought, cases like this may have been the issue, so the children grow up with rejection with no parental care or love.
    Let parents take care of their children for sake of tomorrow.
    Children are asset and most treasured investment

Poster, may God open doors of favour for you and your siblings cos the best revenge is SUCCESS

God bless you

6. I feel you. So sorry for what you are going through.

Some Parents sha!!! Tomorrow they will expect you to take care of them at old age

Sometimes when i see aged people by the wayside begging i wonder in my mind if they dont have children
    But on a second thought, cases like this may have been the issue, so the children grow up with rejection with no parental care or love.
    Let parents take care of their children for sake of tomorrow.
    Children are asset and most treasured investment

Poster, may God open doors of favour for you and your siblings cos the best revenge is SUCCESS

God bless you

7. Start by looking for someone to squat with, get any job you can find. There are people without parents yet they are surviving, you too can make it, forget about them. Let your success speak for you. Above all, take it to God in prayer.

8. Continued....

My younger sister has broken free,now works in ph. How she left is a long story!!

For the past 3weeks,every wednesday my mother travels for one event or the other in her maiden home,leaving me with my father.

My father doesn't eat bread and tea for breakfast,so what I do is,cook every morning.
    As I am cooking he goes "there is no water in our bathroom,clean the sitting room its dirty, "

When he is eating, he calls me to bring his phone or something from his room.

While at it,he reminds me to go and buy him paper,when I come back, he resends me to HURRY UP and buy his recharge card.

Stella,i am always drained and tired.
    I dread staying at home.

Sometimes,i get dressed like I am going to work,go to my friend's shop and lay down.
    If my mother knows you aint going to working,she starts,"by 1 bring out the soup,by 2 warm it,by 3 start cooking beans or sandra,I want you to go to the bank...."

Stella life is crazy,most Igbo patents are unconsciously EVIL!!I have 3 siblings,the oldest is 32 and she has no boo.

1. Sorry but this is funny.

But frankly, where dyu all get these kinds of parents?

2. Hold it there Biko, just say ur parents are evil not most igbo parents

3. Now I get your plight, I do. But saying 'most Igbo parents' are evil, that is a no-no, please.

I'm sorry you have to go through what you just described but have you thought about leaving the house? You cannot continue to live in such a poisonous environment.

Please, do not allow what you're going through emotionally to affect your psyche. It can be detrimental to your future- talking about when you have your own kids. Things like this have the potential to seep into our subconscious, which can be noxious.

Lastly, please try not to think that most Igbo parents are evil, it's a grave lie. I know this because I didn't have evil parents, and also because I live in the South-East and have been opportune to observe a lot of Igbo families closely. Your conclusion was hasty and constituted a fallacy of overgeneralization.

#Love#Peace

4. ....and she says it again. I could begin to list what my mum does for me in order for me not to feel uncomfortable in any way but it would come off as insensitive to you and the poster's plight. Please Igbos parents are not evil. People are evil on their own. Individually.

5. My dear I am Igbo and my parents are far from this, the advice il give everyone is to be bold and raise bold kids, my parents raised very confident children that nothing anyone says can put me down, asin nothing. Secondly you need to stand up for yourself, why are you still living with them, it’s better to squat in a one room than stay with them, the poster says she has a sister in the university (abi was it you that said it) why don’t you stay in the hostel with her while you look for something. I have a schoolmate who was the last out of 5girls but she was the first to break out, she moved to another city and started something, went from office to office until she got a job, started a business and now she’s set up well. You don’t have to wait for anyone to tell you you can, be hungry, let all the insult push you. I don’t get when people tell me there’s nothing to do, when all I see around me are opportunities, I keep saying it, that’s why the rich keep getting rich and the poor will sit and be complaining.

9. My dear, it seems like your parents have a spiritual covenant. cos i can't imagine that both of them would behave the same way.

10. My parents never compliment you,no matter your effort,they rather praise other peoples KIDS!!

I TRAVELED IN DEC,my parents called my host to ask me to come home.

I will be 30 by September.

My job expires in December(npower), the moment I finish,i am leaving Owerri for Good!!

If I remain with my parents I will be stagnant.

Igbo parents are HORRIBLE!

1. Pls speak for yourself... I'm Igbo and my darling parents are awesome...They're my assurance... just because yours is horrible doesn't give you the right to judge all Igbo parents...

2. Please speak for yourself.my parents are wonderful and yes I'm igbo

3. Please speak for your own parents. You are even from Mbaise. It shouldn't be new to you. That is how your people behave.

4. Nwanyi mbaise kwanyere onwe gi ugwu,ozugokwa

5. Same here, my mum and late dad, awesome and amazing. Pushing us to go far physically and spiritually by going on their knees. I know how far I have come in life and will go further. I don’t hesitate to be there for them just so sad my dad passed away in December. Wish he stayed abit longer to reap more but glad I still got Mum. So Nne, not all Igbo Parents. Do not generalize 😊

6. At this point OYO is your case. Hian!

7. I think you're your problem. I thought you're still in University. I think you should broaden your mind my dear, read and learn to take risk. My parents are like yours a little bit but they don't insult. They're too scared and want to over protect, my dad wants to detect your life to you. I ran away from home some weeks back and I'm glad. He succeeded with my elder brother and sister but he can't with me. I'm just 23 and I'm richer than my elder ones. I didn't sleep with any man for money, I have been making hair and selling wigs for over a year now and it has paid off. It's not rosy yet but I'm glad I left. Will be finishing a class I paid for tomorrow. If I didn't run away from home, wouldn't have attended this class. You need to take a stand and flee. Things can only get better.

8. From asa mbaise's post you all can see she is the problem not her parents.

9. Speak for yourself Hanti, I have the most amazing beautiful igbo parent!

11. My father never stops citing " you can never know more than your father, I am more exposed,you must do this, you must obey me in my house,i am the captain .."
    My mother who should mediate is so clueless,whatever he says she is okay with it.

I always tell that she shares in the blame for our stagnant growth and I dont want to end up like her.

I am counting down to my freedom....come dec 2018,i will break free, damn the consequences.

1. My dear, leave these people, anh anh did anyone tie you there, except your parents are cultists I don’t see why you cannot leave, do you know you can start a lot with just 50k abeg leave. Don’t talk to them for three good years let me see who they will call. You are the one holding yourself, if you don’t leave now you will become a bitter woman

12. What did they do gaangaan abi I like compression ni? I know someone parents are wicked but you really didn't say anything they did or are doing wrong. I don't know you or your parents but your destiny, failure, success are all in you and your siblings hands.

13. Dear Poster, you parents don't hate you, they want the best of you. The only problem is their approach towards that. I think most of our parents and in particular my own mother was guilty of this. Then, my mum can't stop insulting and comparing me with my mates who dropped school then and were working with their secondary school cert. She kept on insulting me and my siblings that I can't remember my mum giving me 100 naira till I graduated from the Uni even though she has been working.

However, contrary to yours we have a very very supportive Dad. He doesn't have much bt we all know he always wants the best for us and allows us to do things at our own pace. It was hell after my NYSC because I was in the house for one year doing nothing.

However, now I am better of and she now listens to me. I tried to explain how bad I felt all those years and the implications of all those. She now understands and has repented, lol. My younger siblings enjoy her now and are still wondering what happened to her that she is now 'good' .

I think your parents just need someone to talk to them. Most of the times they just don't understand.

Don't worry about this so much and try to focus on how to succeed. Develop a thick skin and learn to ignore them. Don't leave the house if it is not the best for you, unless you want to do and not just because of them.

While you are at that, leave out frivolities in your life now, just focus on how to succeed and you will just see opportunities around that you have been neglecting. It is not easy but if you are aggressive about that you will succeed.

Finally, take my word "LAST LAST YOU ALL WILL BE FINE". Just get focused such that the 'LAST' will be soon.

1. Thanks Chikito, you always speaks from a place of wisdom!,dear poster if you can,please take this advice.

2. SMH! That's not me, please oh. Don't start what you can't finish.

3. haaaa what's my comment doing here o,please Chikito that reply was supposed to be under your comment,sorry if it makes you feel some type of way,it was totally a network problem.

14. I prayed for you to get healing cos it's very import so you can move and fit into the society

15. Wish you could get a good friend, who you can share with.

16. Msg God fix it for you.
    It is well

17. I'll suggest you watch out for a period your parent are in a 'good mood' and pour out your heart before them,make them understand they are losing their children. I can bet, they may mean well for you guys but just doing it in a wrong way. I've been in such a situation before, though my case was slightly different. I used see my parents as my worst enemies. You can't run away from your parent no matter how wicked they are...

#Atagara

18. U have no choice than to leave that house n with tinz out

Mc pinky

19. My dear,
    I grew up in a very evil, dysfunctional family background. Poisonous (spiritual, psychological & physical) things, back stabbing, gossiping, hating, name it all....was there at home and surrounding me in my childhood.
    What I learnt now after so many years of being born unfortunately into that kind of family & home situation is: PLEASE PLAN WELL & CAREFULLY TO MOVE ON IN LIFE...FOR GOOD & PREFERABLLY VERY VERY FAR AWAY FROM YOUR KINSHIP!
    Purposefully seek for work, career, job, marriage, happiness, friendships, worthy things that is totally the opposite from where you come from. And work hard at that, stay focused and pray that God will bless you.
    Be silent about your moves and intentions. Do not let any family member or close relatives & "friends" to really know what your plans are and real intentions. Always be a surprise to them all. If you are going left, tell them right. And always hide your joy & happiness from them!!! There No 1 big thing is to poison & pollute your joy, happiness, health, success, to block open doors of blessing, delay growth & good development in life just to achieve their aims of forever stagnating you in life.
    The No 1 prayer & biggest warfare in life is the enemy within!!!
    Everyone must be aware of it and understand it, otherwise your whole life will forever be like "collecting water with a basket"
    It is well my dear! Be strong, be careful & trust in God.

GOD IS IN CONTROL!!!

1. Anonymous are you me? This is the same that happened to me, happened cos I have since moved on from so called family members.

2. Lol!
      I am not you..oh!
      But true, my life in the family I was born into was & is hell. No progress whatsoever in knowing those people or hanging around them!
      Tufiakwa!!!
      I THANK GOD FOR MY LIFE THAT I RAN AWAY & HAS AGAIN DECIDED TO STILL CONTINUE RUNNING FAR FROM THEM TILL TODAY WITHOUT EVER LOOKING BACK AGAIN...OH. Lai... Lai!

20. My dear just get busy and u won't notice all these u are complaining. Parents might not set out to be wicked or however u see it but to them, they think they are doing their best.

Preferably look for job outside your city, if u have friends or extended family that might help with this, then the better. But pls, don't see your parents as evil cos if u meet evil parents u won't even have the fingers to type a chronicle.

Just pray and hope they understand their kids cos that is what they lack. In this country a lot of couples don't know jack about bringing up kids, there's no manual for that and therefore rely on what they learnt from their own parents. So don't blame them dear once they are not being physically abusive.

21. *LONG COMMENT*

One or both of them are abusers. It could have started with one and the enabler has grown into and adopted it.
    So, I don't know about this intense bullying from parents, but what I know is: in my case, I was a shielded child growing up because my parents didn't want us to be wayward etc. I was dropped and picked from school until I finished secondary school. If my mum doesn't know your parents, you don't qualify as a friend she can list for her children. If you're not Christian, another wahala for us. We had curfew (6pm) even when we got into university and would come home on holidays. It was funny but not funny. My parents weren't abusive/insultive etc, but chores were mandatory with or without a help and discipline was key. Till today many people assume I can't cook, clean etc and I just laugh because we dey divide house chores every Saturday morning. When you finish, then you can fly to the moon if you want (as long as that moon is within the house though). I dont know major bus routes in lagos and I hate telling people this because I grew up in lagos and most might think I'm forming. However, cos of the moulding, one may seem spoilt, but their attitude will show you who is boss. Lol. I had my freedom while away in uni, but once I come home I lay low for the hols.
    Nevertheless, they understood that once you finish uni, get a job and start paying your own bills, the rules go off. Infact, they start pushing you out that they've done their part. Even though they will still be calling you 100 times if you come home later than expected, which is normal parents instincts. Everyone with strict parents would have had a bit of strong hands on them.
    My point is: they probably meant well at the start, but have taken it to level 2 or maybe even 3. It's one thing to shield a child from evil, it's another thing to know when they have grown and let them have their independence. And it is your duty as a child to break free. Maybe even growing up, you never showed signs of independence, so they always felt the need to assist you guys with everything. Why your parents would be shielding their graduate children, is baffling to me.

1. The thing is both the Abusive & Enabling parent or couples do feed off on each other!!!
      They are both dangerous, unhelpful & very negative!!!

I feel sorry for people who grow up in such family or do have close relatives in their lives like that.
      Whereby 1 person is so cruel, wicked, negative or manipulative & then have an enabling "partner in crime" who is always in support or denial of their dysfunctional behaviors.

22. I suggest you go away for a while and cease communication with anyone. The bible says: a causeless curse cannot stand. If truly they are trampling on your self esteem and doing all these for selfish reasons, please stay away from them. Just pray for God to bless them with long life so you can show them results, when you're through. Be prayerful, just in case it is anything spiritual. It's also bad that there's no two way communication between you and them, cos that's something every child needs to have to enable them learn how to interact with people out of respect without showing fear. If you remain in this environment you won't grow into your own person and develop into the woman you're destined to be, you won't know how to take responsibility for your life. Your mentality is already fucked up that's why you feel you can't succeed for long without them. MOVE OUT, it will be tough for sometime and you must go through that tough time by remembering you weren't happy where you were. But you will come out stronger and even your siblings will see that it's possible.
    Also do away with pride. Leave the perks at home because that's most likely the exchange for your freedom. Zone out completely in your head, be willing to be called names initially but reject those names and tell yourself that it's not your portion. I have two very gorgeous friends who are sisters (33 and 30) and they are currently going through similar stuff with their rich, influential, controlling dad. I've been talking to them for at least 5 years now to break free when the complains started. They thought I was too ITK and pushy. Okay. Today, their eyes have been opened and are trying to do what would have been done and dusted years ago. Especially as the situation hasn't improved. It's your life and yours to live. Don't let anyone take the wheel. Good parents should guide and encourage you, not oppress you.

Good luck!

23. This is actually serious. Please be careful and don't hurt yourself,you will be fine.

24. My dear, set youryour priorities right. Plan yourself and focus on your goals. Develop thick skin and ignore. May God sort you out.

25. I don't know how old you are, but you have to leave that environment as soon as you are old enough to. Some parents do treat their children like slaves and it is disgusting.

See if there is a family member who can take you in. You can also apply for a live in nanny position, since you are already a maid at home may as well get paid for it. Save your money and learn a trade that you can eventually use to sustain you financially. Take your mind of your parents and who the are, focus your entire energy on a plan of action to escape and improve your life. It is your life and you are the only one responsible for it. People like you always have a glorious future and great testimonies so just take the first step and everything else will fall into place. I am confident that with hard work and focus you will have a great future.

26. Rolls eyes... Please grow up no one gives you anything in life you have to earn it. If you want your parents to see you as an adult act like one, take responsibility for your actions, be proactive stop waiting for them or what they can give you. It will just make a child still in their eyes. They ask you for money tell them you don't have, shenanigans. P. S moving out isn't the answer