Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Iya Ibeji Series -A Mother's Day Off...

Saturday, July 28, 2018

Iya Ibeji Series -A Mother's Day Off...

Imagine taking a day off from being a Mother to being your good old self....

Still on that plumber guy's wedding from last week., a bus was organized to convey us to the reception. 

Before the bus arrived a make up artist was called for those that needed her services. Her charge was 1500 naira so almost all of us had our faces made.

On the way a woman noticed her friends child was having a fever, she called the friends attention to it.

FRIEND 1: I have given him paracetamol

FRIEND 2: This is not a paracetamol matter, this boy has malaria, give him proper drugs.

FRIEND 1: I don't have money, when his father comes....

FRIEND 2: (cuts in) You don't have money but you just did your face for 1500, yesterday at the traditional wedding you also paid another 1500 for make up, na how much is it to treat malaria that you don't have.

Another person jumped into the conversation and another and it seemed like everyone in the bus was attacking her.
She broke down and tried to explain, this is what I deducted from her explanation.

She isn't married to the father of her children, she has 2 kids for him.

Her family was against the union and they told her she will suffer.

Apparently her family was right, he has a lackadaisical attitude towards her and the kids.

Her family will be at the wedding and all she wanted to do was look nice to cover her shame.

And this part touched me, she said she was a good mum and that nobody should judge her that she has given her tears and blood for her children and she will do it again and again.

I guess the lady just wanted to take time off from being a mum to being that hot chick her family knew.

Have you ever taken time out from being a parent?
What does that even mean sef?
Like have you ever put your needs before your kids and you didnt feel guilty?

25 comments:

1. My children first o,i cant wear a makeover of 1500 and leave my sick child unattended.Makeup that i will wash off.Anyway,motherhood is a continous journey;if u enter,no going back be that.That's stages of life

2. May God comfort her. Na wa things women go through.

Mine is run and visit friends I left before.

I can't see my child sick and say I want to slay. She did not try at all in that department

1. Her shame won't be fully covered naa coz the baby is with her and not feeling well. Hope the baby is also looking well like mommy

3. I don't have kids yet so I don't know but if my child was sick I would attend to her before anything else.

4. I’m sorry but let them laugh. My child first.

5. MOST BEAUTIFUL28 July 2018 at 12:51

Yesterday, I went Grocery shopping and when I got to the cashier, I realised almost everything in cart was for my Daughter, and I also remembered she still has her milk and cereals yet....I paid and went home happily😃 only for me to get home and her Nanny asked about the household items that took me out of the house in the 1st place because everything in the bags was for Princess🙄 I just stood there looking like a lost dog😃😃😃 I peacefully made a list for her and told her to go and buy cos I might get there and buy more for baby😏 Motherhood ehhh kai

1. awwwww!
      Sweet mummy!
      This is so me!

Even the times I had to hang out with my friends for a couple of hours, I keep calling and checking on them😂

May God continue to bless and keep our children for us.

6. Oh! Women are trying. I almost shed a tear.
    But why do we keep covering and covering in this world? Imagine trying to make up to cover her shame? Shame that will eventually come out. Talking generally now, why are we always covering up and covering up??? Why cant we leave ourselves so pple can see the real us. So helpers dont pass us by.
    There is a lady with a child too, catering for the child all alone. No hubby. But she keeps telling people her husband is abroad sending money bla bla. Why not be real, maybe sum1 is even interested in you sef. But we cant rly blame people, problem shared is no longer half solved, its now public discussion.
    Back to the woman, why not stop at one, why have 2 kids for an u serious man, who is not even married to you.

1. Please preach it o!! Sometimes some women can b enemy of themselves, some think tht so add another child implies tht they will have footstamp on d proceeds frm d man or his present family with d hope that if he dies sef they will inherit even more. Sadly so, Them no knw say real suffer dey await them even more!! It's a stupid mindset tht never leaves them no matter Wht u say!!

7. My Children first, always.

8. My children comes first,who makeup help......

9. I won't attend any party if my kids is sick even if it my family party, kids first.

10. Nawa o, I can feel her pain but its not a good excuse to leave your sick child unattended to.

11. Must she attend the wedding? Taking time off my foot...even at the expense of your child. Motherhood is a full time job. No time off, no leave, no transfer.

12. My children comes first in any thing I do. We slay together, no body is left out in the slaying. I can catch a grenade for them . If you joke with my child you will have your self to blame .

13. This comment has been removed by the author.

14. My children come first ooo
    If something bad should happen to that child, she'll always live with the guilt that she wished she had spent the money on her baby than makeup.

15. If it was anything else I would understand but a sick child hell no abeg, she is irresponsible, she could have taken him to a PHC and gotten test and drugs for less than one thousand.

I cannot be doing make up to cover up when my child small, weak and innocent is sick

16. The shame self became worsened.. makeup indeed...

17. What stupid makeup. When i am stressed I hardly put on makeup. Must you prove a point to the detriment of your child?Mother hood is like a circle which has no end. Once you sign up for it that child is under your care married or single. May we never be broke to the point of not being able to buy drugs for our kids.

18. My children comes first before anything,cant even think of going anywhere when my child is ill

19. I am now a single mom and all I think of is food Medications and things to make them happy and comfortable. Once I see them happy I am happy as their father has indirectly abandoned them. But in all I thank God as my family is the best support system.