Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Orthodox Versus Unorthodox Circumcision

Tuesday, July 31, 2018

Orthodox Versus Unorthodox Circumcision

My mouth hung open reading this .........So people still think about the other way?

'' I never knew local circumcision is still in practice in this age because when I was in secondary school we were taught it is an old tradition but when I gave birth to my son I got a shocker.

The third day after I birth my son I was still in the hospital because I birth through caesarian section, my mum called from home to ask me when we will be discharged which I told her and she asked the arrangement for my baby’s circumcision, I told her it wasn’t discussed so she said I should tell my mil to ask the doctor, I ended the call explained to mil and she said okay.

We were in the ward chatting with mil and her aunt who came to see me when the doctor came in, he did his routine check asked if I have any complain I told him no, I was expecting mil to ask him about the circumcision but she didn’t so I asked him when it will be done for the baby and he told us to bring him after 8 days then he left.

Immediately the doctor left, my mils aunt just said we shouldn’t bother ourselves that we will do it when we get home and I asked if she has another hospital in mind but she said no it is not an hospital but one Baba’s place I was dumbfounded, I looked from her face to mil’s face then back to her and I told her my baby will not be circumcised that way because of safety reasons, that they use unsterilized tools she was just laughing in a jesting manner and she said you children of nowadays wont cease to amaze me, so you are the one that will tell me what is right from wrong? 

I told her it is not that way but such method was not advised during our ante-natal classes but she wasn’t ready to accept, then she started narrating how she was the one who bathed my hubby and took care of him, the number of babies she has taken care of, she went on and on then she asked me if I know the type that was done for my hubby?

I couldn’t say anything infact I felt weak. My mil was just there she didn’t even say a word and I realized she was torn between her aunty and I.

It was when she left mil told me not to mind her aunty that she doesn’t want to adapt to change. We were discharged and went back after 8 days and it was done in the hospital.

Has anyone experienced this? Is there any bv who circumcised her child the local way or you know someone who has done this method for her child?

*The one that gives me Nightmares to think about is when i hear Parents codedly cut their female child.........God forbid!!!

38 comments:

1. I heard ladies that weren't circumcised always have huge urge for sex...
    Don't know how true is it sha...
    Even if you want to use the local one.. Take your things along..

1. I'm not circumcised, and I don't have huge for sex. Smfh...and what's wrong with people having huge urge for sex? As long as your partner is down for it, what's the big deal?

2. And what if I have a huge appetite? So far I don't fornicate, then we're good

3. I'm a female, not circumcised and I don't even have appetite for sex talk less of huge one.

2. Inukwa discussions about circumcision again? Lmao. Well I was circumcised but wasn't wise enough to know if it was done the unorthodox or orthodox way so I don't know what you all are talking about

😒😂😂

1. Inukwa circumsision? You no be Muslim? Abi we don convert you Mr nobody?

Babe pls no go any local o! Make your pikin no go die from infection o!

2. Anon 14:15
      Comments like yours is highly disrespectful and irritating, to say the least.
      Where did y'll get this notion that muslim guys are uncircumcised???
      I have been with two Muslim guys, and they are both circumcised and clean. This archaic mentality must stop please!

3. It’s is compulsory for muslim males to be circumcised. Only males. NO females.

3. My 3 sons were circumcised with that "ring like something " ,I have forgotten the name, who still does that olden days type of circumcision? There is always one oversabi auntie in every family, they will always want to dictate how you run your home SMH. I have them oh, both in paternal and maternal sides, my own is just to be nodding my head in agreement when they are fishing out their unsolicited advice, I'll just do my thing jeje as I like 😀😁😀
    Ndi igbo sister na O!!!, adighi ese okwu

4. its like they did that shit for us. but my mum regretted it after it was done and she refused to mention it to us at all. bcos when I check my VJ there is a part that looks like its was shortened

1. Same here ...also I don't enjoy sex as much as others...not that I have any basis of comparison but I can't for the life of me comprwhend the hullabaloo about it .🙂

2. Female circumcision/Genital mutilation should be discouraged and stopped on its entirety. Because it's the Major sensual organ, the Clitoris that is tampered with, and yes it reduces sexual urge in women.

5. I was scared reading this , expecting you to say you took ýour new born to that baba's house because one useless aunty said so, I swear I would have come looking for you to give you the beating of your life.

I am relieved now!!!

6. Come on.... Do they still do that?
    My son was circumcised at one of the children hospital over here. It was after his forty-one days on earth.
    It has to be done by qualified doctors. I heard some Nigerian doctors are still in jail for doing illegal circumcisions in some European countries.

1. Over here, over here, over here. Na only you dey this abroad o. The rest come see bridge wake. Hian, over here over here.🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

2. Aah aah..40 days it's too much. It should be fine in 8 days from birth. U sure say u dey this planet so

7. 8 days in the hospital. i pity people who it in the native way.

Our Prince own was done on the 8 day where he was delivered by the doctor. Their charges are high but what it

1. It's better to do it in the hospital than in one baba or mama's place no matter the cost.

8. she started narrating how she was the one who bathed my hubby and took care of him, the number of babies she has taken care of, she went on and on then she asked me if I know the type that was done for my hubby?

you sound like a first time mum. this is your child, not hers oh. yours. do not let anyone deceive you. if something happens to the child, they will leave you. take your stand and take it firmly. let a LICENSED PRACTITIONER do the circumcision. whatever she did to your hubby is her business not yours.

1. It’s your type that fail exams.. did u even read the story to the end.

9. Trade ur faulty/spoilt inverter battery for cash:0814139511331 July 2018 at 13:41

Ok noted

10. My son was circumcised after 8days in the hospital with a RING something like that, meanwhile my two girls I didn't do it.
    But I know they still circumcise the boys locally in the village, mom told me.

11. My son was circumcised by a Jewish doc at 4weeks...

1. Jewish doctors are the best for that. That ring is bae.

2. You obviously live in London @ Sylvia.

12. The word "circumcision" scares me really. but for a make child it's very necessary. I was in the hospital one day and heard a lady crying that her son had not been able to pee after he was circumcised in the hospital. It seems she went home from the hospital after the circumcision and continued from where the doctor stopped after listening to 'oversabi' people. The baby was referred to LUTH and the mother was told to prepare for surgery cos it'll end. I felt for the little baby. some mothers no dey hear word

13. We keep learning everyday from this lovely blog. Let the comments continue to roll in, digesting everything being read as the day goes by.

14. I watch one video some years back of some boys of about 8-10 years gather around and were ask to sit on the ground placing their penis on a large piece of wood with a man standing at the other side waiting to chop of the foreskin. Gosh it was gruesome,funny thing is the children dint cry at all. I couldn't get that video off my mind for days.

15. Local circumcision is a bastard. My Nephew of 5years is hiv positive cos of this shit.

16. You will have a child and be waiting for mother in law to take decisions for you, till they infect or kill your kids.

What if mother in law agreed with the aunt?

17. Fgm should be discouraged

1. why female genital mutilation should be discouraged? When what men can do, the ladies does it better. All female must be circumcised period.