Actor Yul Edochie posted this about how his friend who left Nigeria progressed in just a year....
Sunday, August 26, 2018
36 comments:
He's so on point. That shouldn't be our portion tho.
ReplyDeleteThis is just the painful truth.
ReplyDeleteOne thing i'ld love to change is my nationality.
Being a Nigerian is damn frusruating.
#dreamsdiehere
Hardwork rarely pays here
ReplyDeleteTRUE
DeleteWell...it all depends on the dreamer. Dream realisation requires spiritual stamina. When i say spiritual i dont mean religion base kinda spirituality o.
ReplyDeleteSo I will suffer myself to read all through school and still suffer myself to do juju, why not just do juju or go where I can study hard and see it pay off. Nigeria is hard, but God will see His people through amen
DeleteWho doesn't know that by now? Nigeria is a place where bright futures are truncated. Sadly, everyone can't leave at once. Majority are only managing to pull thru..nothing works here!
ReplyDeleteSo true brother, the system has been bastardized. I once said and still saying again, in Nigeria, ingenuity is been killed and destroyed. Much wonder you see people in their numbers fleeing away where skills and knowledge is profitable.
ReplyDeleteFirst of all, you can’t go abroad and start practising immediately because you will need to be certified by the Medical board of the country. That doesn’t happen immediately. You will sit for their qualifying exams before you can start practising. Secondly, if he made it, as Yul claims, in a year, then there is something more to it. Since he cannot start practising as a medical doctor immediately his arrival into the country, then he got his job without using his medical certificate. Which means, he was doing a less paid or menial jobs. And I say the money will take time to mature to build a house, and other things Yul mentioned if he has a family that he is catering for.
DeleteAside that, it takes time to settle abroad. Except for those into illegal businesses. We have seen many of them like that. If it was that easy, every Nigerian abroad would have made it big the first year of their arrival to any foreign country. That is why it takes years for them to make it after arriving there. They only make money for their needs, which are met from the kind of jobs they do.
You seem not to get the point here. Whether it took them time to settle in or not but the fact still remains they make it better and on good time than being here. I will like you to admit the fact that there is much difference there over here and also dreams often time aren't realized here due to the favoritism structural system in place here built on ethnicity. I think you seems not to get the major point of Yul emphasis rather too quick to justified the duration one will make it over there. Even if it took them five years over there then it may take them fifteen years here or never at all. Your worries should have been on how best to address this issue and not feigning ignorance about it.
DeleteThank you for replying on behalf of those of us who know how it works legally abroad. His friend is either a liar or is into some shady deals abroad.
DeleteBe there analyzing
DeleteThere is no way a Medical Doctor relocated to the States and started to practice. First if all, you have to write three stages of the USMLE. United States Medical Licensing Exam. You cannot write all three stages in one year. Secondly, you have to look for a place and complete the Residency program. Only after that, can you practice here.
DeletePeople need to stop the misinformation. He could have gotten a job working elsewhere but not in the medical field. Even if Na CNA Job, you are still required to get certification.
He should not have stated it took one year.A lot of Doctors in Nigeria, are not working as Doctors here.
DeleteThere is no way a Medical Doctor relocated to the States and started to practice. First if all, you have to write three stages of the USMLE. United States Medical Licensing Exam. You cannot write all three stages in one year. Secondly, you have to look for a place and complete the Residency program. Only after that, can you practice here.
DeletePeople need to stop the misinformation. He could have gotten a job working elsewhere but not in the medical field. Even if Na CNA Job, you are still required to get certification.
Seconded! How can he practice in 1 year? No chance. The guy may have gotten another source of income. Building houses in 1 year? Check that guy well
DeleteYou guys are funny. Most of them write and pass their exams before relocating. My cousin is a medical doctor in Nigeria and earns peanut. He wrote the first qualifying exam Inn nigeria, travelled out for the second and final which must do in the abroad. He passed that, got a job and came back I applied for the work visa. He’s now in the UK working as a doctor. Again most of them write qaulifiying exams, get their licence before relocating.
DeleteSo yes, what yUL write is possible.
You all castigating YUL should stop saying nonsense. Whether his doctor friend is practising or doing any how work is none of your business. I dont understand the mentality of Nigerians abroad when you tell them to advise you on relocating abroad, they just discourage you, saying all sorts of rubbish when they make it big time over there codedly. The last time i checked $1 is N360 while 1GBPound is almost N500 so please spare us all the nonsense. My sister just travelled to America last two weeks and has already gotten a job but she will have to wait for her Social Security Number to be ready in another 1 month. I will prefer to do any legit work temporarily abroad to make money than to die in poverty in this country. Lets call a spade, a spade, this country is so hard to make it. Christians and musllims have prayed so ahrd and yet.... It is well!!!
DeleteThanks Anon for helping me type, there is NO possible way a trained Nigerian medical doctor can start practising medicine in the US in one year...NEVER! So there is a misinformation in that script by Yul. I said same thing when I saw this post on his IG page.
DeletePeople just write all manner of things.Okay let's just say what he got is a menial job right according to some comments? Have we also forgotten that exchange is N360 to a dollar.Few dollars-plenty Naira
DeleteTrue talk,God pls help me ,let my dream come true anywhere.
ReplyDeleteYeah.my friend that left the country 2015 is making it legally.
ReplyDeletemajority are just trying to survive and businesses are trying to break-even.
frustrating country... that's the reason bad things keeps happening..everyone is trying to fit in
ReplyDeleteNigeria, jagajaga everything scatter scatter
ReplyDeleteI believe that dreams die here but I don’t believe that his friend the medical doctor made it through his medical practice in one year to be able to buy land and all. All the medical exams he needs to write and qualify nko? Unless he has another side hustle that really pays. One year is not even enough in the abroad to make it with all he just mentioned. Make dem softly de fabu sha.
ReplyDeleteYou clearly dont know how things work abroad. Medical doctors are highly sought after here.. once you have passed the qualifying exams, gaining employment is as simple as can be. Doctors, scientists and other medical professionals do not struggle abroad like most other immigrants do.. especially in the UK.
DeleteI started working immediately I landed in the UK. don’t say what you don’t know.
DeleteI wrote and passed all my exams before relocating. We doctors don’t just pack our bags and leave. We write our international exams which allows us to get licence and jobs before relocating.
This man is a great liar.My younger bro that is a doctorin the UK has to write exams to qualify to work in the Uk. The exams comes in two parts of so theory and written and in different intervals. He exxagerated that the friend left just a year and could achieve all those things. That is a very foolish Lie.He tried to downplay Nigeria which is actually messed up by saying just in a year. Yul ask questions and don't show your stupidity on social media for traffic. With your big voice I thought you had sense.
ReplyDeleteYour brother decided to travel first before writing his exam. Most doctors including me had to write and passed all our exams before travelling. I travelled and my plab 2 which must donin the UK. Passed it, got a job, came back and applied for work visa and relocated. So I started working immediately I got there. That’s what most doctors do.
DeleteAnon10:39 in other words you have earned as much in 12months to buy lands,complete a building(from scratch I suppose) strictly from your earnings? If that is true,then kudos...nice one!
DeleteIn just one year? How????
ReplyDeleteThere's more to it abeg.
People... apart from US, Canada,UK, Australia,.. there are over 150 countries abroad. There could be money making opportunities in these other countries without rigorous medical exams.
ReplyDeleteMy case is different
ReplyDeleteThose of you claiming it's not possible,do you also know some people write and pass their exam in Nigeria before relocating there.if you have a fairly good job in Nigeria u travel to write d exam n when u pass all of them you can then relocate fully.talking from experience.
ReplyDeleteWow!!! I'm surprised at people's replies. So you all must think abroad is just U.S and U.K right? Everyone arguing up and down, he wasn't specific with the country so don't come to conclusions just yet.
ReplyDeleteI am aware some people write their exams before traveling. I know they don’t do the Residency program in absentia. How long is Residency in the US? The pay is not enough to do all that listed in one year. You still have to pay all your bills too.