Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative....

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative....

Hmmm,so this thing is still on?..WOW!!!

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
REJECTED FOR BEING AN OUTCAST

Hi Stella

Please I need advice and am confused but would like to be kept anonymous .
I have been in this relationship with my boyfriend for more than two years now and everything was really beautiful until my dad went to make findings about his family according to traditions, then he came back telling me that my boyfriend’s great grand father’s brother married an OSU (outcast) so making all them an outcast,so he can’t allow me marry him.

Note that i am from Imo state.

But I have met old people asking them questions about this outcast stuffs, but they say it has to do with lineage not generalising everyone in family as one . Since then we have been wishing and hoping there will be a change of Heart from my parents.

Meanwhile it’s been challenging because I really don’t know if at the end the relationship will work or I should continue hoping and waiting. But he has been encouraging me that I shouldn’t give up and let’s give it time and things will turn out fine. I really don’t know if am doing the right thing.

*I cannot say much about this cos i dont know about it but in Delta state we do not have this system.
It is horrible but from what i have heard and what you hav explained,your kids will also be rejected and referred to as outcasts if you marry your boyfriend....Your people may be trying to protect your lineage.

What a pity!.who startd this outcast system and why????????

86 comments:

1. Any one from Osu should befriend or marry people that are non igbo at allllllllll

Don't even get close to Delta speaking Ibo too cos dey know

2. I don't really know anything about Osu o! Poster it is well

3. I don't know
    Edo people has outcast too"the unemen"they forbid them too, the funny thing is they date them but don't marry them

1. I think communities in igboland have started abolishing it. I read last week both in Imo and Anambra that the communities eradicated such practice.

2. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm Teejay, easy ohhhh, which communities, that have no name.

3. In ngwa Abia state it's been abolished anon

4. @Teejay is right. There was even a coverage of the event in one of the television channels.

5. Leave him to dey lie. Stupid thing.

I'm from imo state no town abolished it

6. Tjay is correct. Communities ate abolishing it.

5. It is a pity. I would advise you to listen to your family. If reverse was the case , do you think that your boyfriend would insist on marrying you? You will get a better person, biko.

1. But the reverse is not the case, is it? Your last sentence is ridiculous and baseless. I hope you're not advising people in your life.

2. You have the mouth to say better person because of what??? Ancient and useless tradition, after Jesus died on the cross to liberate us you still have mouth to say better person. I pity you

3. I will just let this slide. Next time, stay on your lane.
      God bless my daughter for calling my attention to your replies under my comment. Or are you both OSUs?

6. No matter what you do, never get pregnant outside wedlock in a bid to convince or rather force your parents to accepting your man.
    I would never get married to someone if my parents are against such union. Be wise.

1. Shut up because your parents are God’s? Bloody hypocrites, am sure u fools will be going to church claiming Catholics yet segregating. If your parents give you stupid reasons covered with tribal sentiments the you obey like that. Stupid mentality

2. Anon 02:01: read Matthew 15:4
      I agree with you nwunye doc

7. If he's very rich marry him but if not babe ino na nsogbu.
    All the rich osu in my place are being worshiped, in fact no body regards them as one but the poor ones😂😂 Igbo Kwenu!!

1. Pardon Fan, it is this mentality that fosters the so
      called "outcasts" system; not treating everybody equally.
      So this is the way you reason eh?
      You've been infected by the Q&B bug; "if he is rich?"
      where the riches come from, you don't care eh; just marry him?
      And this "your place" where they "worship" the "rich outcasts", you
      also join them in that worship and you think you are doing right?

If I really understand you, the real "outcasts" are the poor people!
      It is a pity!

2. If it is bad, then it is bad. There is nothing like rich outcasts and poor ones. In fact, there is nothing like outcast. When God created man, he did not call anyone outcast even when man sinned.

3. He is rich and she marries him, how about her unborn kids and their generations, they will all be "rich?" Or will they then suffer what she is suffering today?
      If I ask you what is being rich now, you will tell me, if he has jeep and house, odiegwu!

8. Pls don't, yes they said its abolished but lies. In their minds, u are still an OSU. Bet no Igbo commenter here will agree to be an OSU. Only way u can marry him is if u both aren't from same state. The pressures are much. Its just similar to the genotype.

1. No it is not similar to genotype as and as or ss Biko. Osu tradition is a stupid one! I feel pity that educated young people are still this limited in their thinking

9. Very common in IMO State. My dear stop hoping because church no dey put hands for this Matter. Forget say church covers all, na lie.

Better give up on this love. It is painful but nothing can change your dad or family when it comes to this osu things.

It is well

1. Yori yori you are accurate best way is to let go I once ended my relationship with a guy from isunjaba because he was osu though very very rich and all but my parents would not have it.years now and it’s the best decision I’ve ever made. I still married the love of my life have kids. Whilest he is still single and trying to convince anyone that cares to listen church has abolished it .

2. It's gee so you call yourself a christain abi?

10. Dear poster, I really feel for you. One thing you need to know is that if you finally marry this man, your own family (parents, siblings) automatically becomes outcast, because you have directly made them outcast by marrying someone called an outcast.

The children you will give birth in that marriage will still go through what this your intended husband is going through (rejection). Other people will avoid them as being outcast. Think about it. Its sad but that is the custom of the state you found yourself.

I will not advice you to marry him or not, Its left for you to decided if you are ready to bear the generational consequence.

1. @Zaram, you said,

"One thing you need to know is that if you finally marry this man, your own family (parents, siblings) automatically becomes outcast, because you have directly made them outcast by marrying someone called an outcast"

Please are you part of the outcast making committee?

11. Stupid tradition. Na people wey no get money they suffer this bull crap. If you are living well, your kids won't even need any yeye validation from the tribe people.

12. I don't think the thing affects brothers child oh.

13. Poster, Osu caste system is an obnoxious practice among the Igbo in south east Nigeria which has refused to go away despite the impact of Christianity, education and civilization, and the human rights culture.
    The Osus are treated as inferior human beings and kept in a state of permanent and irreversible disability; they are subjected to various forms of abuse and discrimination. The Osu are made to live separately from the freeborn; they reside very close to shrines and market places.

The Osu caste discrimination is very pronounced in the area of marriage. An Osu cannot marry a freeborn. The belief is that any freeborn that marries an Osu defiles the family. So freeborn families are always up in arms against any of their members who wants to marry an Osu.
    Your family will never allow you to marry him except you’re ready to disobey them.

14. You see why I say Nigerians are bloody hypocrites. So upon all the Christianity wen una dey practice, we have churches on every street, na we know God and bible pass. So upon all this, OSU is still being practiced. People that claim to be "born again" are the ones referring to their fellow humans as outcasts. Then on Sunday they will go to church and claim its God they are worshipping. Nonsense Rubbish......

1. Hehehe....na so ooo. Welcome to Nigeria the country where 99% are hypocrites and judginas wey no they face their business!!!!!

2. Biko loud it for the people at the back📣📣📣📣📣

15. Dear poster I sincerely don't know how best to advice you. Just know that if you marry him you will be cut off from you family (extended especially) because they believe in the caste system and are afraid of the unknown. Till today no one knows what will befall anyone who marries an OSU but I have heard of people who married OSU and are living just fine and doing well.
    I was in your shoe months back but I was tagged OSU we had to end it cause he's the only son of his father who is eldest male. The pressure was so much. My dear pray, seek counsel and do what you believe is right. Just know that if you go ahead you'd be cut off from your family that's the only consequence I know. Your children and generation will be fine. By the way I'm from IMO state

1. Can you imagine! In these days when good men are scarce I'll sacrifice a life with a good loving man because of some booty scratching practice.

16. Abolished or not, stupid tradition or not, u see the way they are calling him an OSU so, if his grand father had listened, he won't be tagged an OSU today. See d way a decision taken years back is affecting him, make una pity una future kids abeg. If it were me, I would not marry him too, can't because of love taint my family name.

1. Your kind of thinking has no place in the future.

2. Blackberry is right. Truth is bitter.

17. The only state in Nigeria Osu (outcast) is common is IMO STATE. Poster, forget the guy because your father will not change his mind.

May God guide you. Don't worry a better guy will come, don't loose hope.

18. I really want to know one thing; what is the major factor in determining an OSU?? What really leads to a particular set of people in the east being called OSU?? Cos I don’t know and I really want to know

1. My dear, from my knowledge, Osu people are people offered for the deity in the olden days. In summary, they belonged to the shrine abi wetin again make I type, hand dey pain me for Osu epistle.

19. This Osu thing is real. A colleague's son got married to a beautiful lady. Both of them are from Imo state. It was on the day of the traditional wedding they found out the lady's father was an Osu.
    Her mother had divorced her father(an osu) when she was much younger. Her mother later remarried , this time not to an osu. But she grew up thinking her step dad was her biological father.
    I was at the wedding o.
    They went ahead with the party but the wedding didn't hold.
    The groom's father insisted that he is a traditional man and as such it is an abomination.

The groom insisted he was going to consummate the marriage.
    Few months after the brouhaha, the groom's father fell seriously sick and he summoned his son to his sickbed.
    He warned him never to go against his wish and instructed his son and his wife to return the bride price.
    long story short,the groom has remarried o.

1. How does your story give credence to the osu practice?

2. Isn’t it obvious, Anon? Or are you being deliberately dense? A real life story that shows how seriously the whole stupid custom is regarded and you’re here sounding silly

20. I need to understand something please, his great grand father's brother married an osu, isn't it supposed to be from the brother's lineage that the system will continue? Is it guilty by association or what kwa? I know why I'm asking. I have an auntie who married an osu, so does it mean her whole family are outcasts? If so, I'm laughing in dutch...
    This is dicey...but I'm of the opinion it shouldn't affect your bf. Why don't you do your own investigation yourself.

1. My point exactly, it is only the grandfather's brother that will be tagged Osu not even the grandfather. Poster, do your findings well.

21. the stone that the builders rejected has become the head cornerstone! i pray that will be your boyfriend's testimony and i pray you wont regret if you choose to join others in rejecting him. God will lift him high that even your dad will be amazed and in awe.

22. @miss Candy, from what my dad told me, Osu are those you committed a grievous offence from as little as stealing to adultery, the culprit in the bid to run away from being punished ran to a shrine for protection, once they run there they are regarded as sacred and as such cannot be touched else the gods will kill you. 2nd scenario I'm from Arondiziougu in Imo and we were known as slave traders in the past, people avoided being sold off by running to the shrine. We don't practice Osu cos we are wanderers and merchants we see everyone as equal, there's a saying that if a village has an evil forest an Aro man will go in there, live there, farm and nothing will happen to him, they think it's jazz my dad says it's just the mind. Whatsoever a man thinkest shall come to past.
    If you think you can live without your family's blessing, then by all means go ahead, but if not don't worry, someone better will come. Cry, and take ice cream to feel better. Like someone wrote it's just like genotype, I've lost amazing guys due to genotype ish, the ones who had the right genotype don't tickle my fancy one bit.

1. Hahahahaha cry and take ice cream to feel better, it is well with you poster

2. So by today's standards all politicians in Nigeria are Osu.

23. I am from Anambra. We don't have it in my place. My sister married a very rich Osu from Imo. I have never come across a more complex human being. That osu thing gives them psychological damage. To him he has arrived and treats us like s..t! We are not poor by the way but certainly not as rich as he is. Long story short my sister, his wife was very unhappy in the marriage, always complaining of lack of care. Sadly she died recently after 5children. He doesn't allow us access to his children, behaves in a very strange manner. Osu-abeg RUN!!!!!!!

1. Sure say that guy no do money r*****?

24. I think government should look into this Osu issue.This thing is absurd at this age and time for goodness sake.

1. Government? Why not Donald Trump or Vladimir Putin?

25. Poster, your boyfriend is not an osu. From what you said,his grandfather's "brother" married an osu8 and not his grandfather. He doesn't in anyway have the osu blood in him. So you have nothing to worry about

26. Imagine the long connection, grandfather's brother, not even the grand father oo. It is well

27. So because his grandfather's brother married an Osu gives all the lineage automatic ticket of becoming Osu. I don't think Anambra own is as deep as this. My dear, I don't see you winning this, but I wish you the best.

28. Wow this terrible and primitive tradition should have been ablolished,and I think it is the duty of the younger generation in Imo state to stand up to this challenge,so annoying, see heavy discrimination 🙄

29. Her father does not have the final say! That power belongs to God. It's shocking to read these comments. Such apathy in the face of a pointless but impeding practice. And most of you will claim Christianity. Smh!!!!!

30. Stella, there's osu in Delta state. At least, where in some parts of Ukwuani. I'm certain. I understand that they're descendants of slaves.

31. Anyone with an education or has lived in a country outside of shitholes like Africa or Asia that believes or condones this bullshit must be wiped off the earth. The world is already over populated.

1. You sound like an OSU, ndo nwoke.

2. Anonymous 18:27,be nice..
      Everyone is free born..

32. What does this "outcast" mean?

33. ...long hisssss...

If it's Dangote that the lady brought home..and findings revealed his grand father was the chief "OSU" in the whole kingdom...will your dad go against the marriage??

I'm asking for a "Jamaican" friendoo.

1. Hahaha Dangote ke. You just made me laugh.
      Finally we are all hypocritical christians. May God have mercy on us.

34. This happened to me also,unfortunately he kept it from me for the 3yrs we dated....had to end things with him and I must say it’s been I’ve not been able to get anyone as him..

35. Fellow OSUs, let's defend our kind from this backward traditions. We are just like freeborns, my GGF married an OSU, till today no free born has married us, its. Only fellow rich OSU, i will soon be 45, based in Canada, doing well, once anyone comes and family gets involved, OSU matter comes up, d guy back tracks, now a 60yo Jamaican is on my case, I will manage him, half bread is better.

1. Awww!!! This comment touched me. You can marry fRom Aro in Imo or non-igbo, don't manage biko. I wish I have an older unmarried uncle, would have hooked you both. Big hugs!!!

36. tradition tends to look the other way at times when plenty money is involved. This osu matter hehn! Once met this very nice Ibo guy. Doing OK. Problem was he is osu. Had been in relationships with Ibo girls who at the end of the day the parents would refuse him. I simply told him look for another tribe. He is happily married to a Yoruba lady. Mean while he told me his elder brother married a "free born" cos the mom of the girl threatened her husband's pple that if they didn't let the marriage happen she would commit suicide.turns out my friends father helped her with capital to start a business after her husband died and no help from extended family. That time his osu money was good to collect. The thing reach marriage now Dem say no.

37. Stello stello, it is bad but the osu caste system exist in delta state. Some ukwuani people and the delta ibo people and even some parts or urhobo and emevor have the osu caste system in place. They hush it because it is "supposedly" illegal but the observe the practice.

1. Aproko you lie, there's no such thing in emevor.
      Poster sorry but move on because I've come to realise that africans especially Nigerians despite the Christianity they claim to practise still hold on strong to traditional beliefs.

2. Emevor indeed I’m from Emevor and I’ve never heard of that trash

38. As far me i dont even care about this osu or whatever.

39. Dear poster you have hope. Go to Joseph Okechukwu Facebook page and see how God is using him to abolish Osu caste system in all igbo land. I promise you before December this year your family will ask you to bring that man for marriage after first apologising to him and you will come here to share the good news

40. SMH.Ignorance of the highest order. This is how to tell a family that isn't grounded in the word of God. Any man who is in Christ is a new creature. Old things have passed away. All things have become new. I worry about the kind of half-baked, fake, adulterated Christianity we practise today.

1. I agree with you @ignorance. But don't worry too much about the half baked Christians, what I do is pray for them and then thank God for the grace in me that I am not half baked. Its not by any body's power you know.

41. There is a deep secret that can't be seen from the surface about this OSU thingy because itjust wouldn't go away like other taboos that has gradually faded away. There is something some pple are not telling us.