Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Residents Of Ibeju-Lekki Lose Valuables To Flood....

Sunday, September 09, 2018

Residents Of Ibeju-Lekki Lose Valuables To Flood....

Some residents of Ibeju Lekki in Lagos on Saturday lamented their loss of valuables worth millions of Naira to flood caused by persistent rainfall, coupled with poor drainage facilities in the community.

Punch

Is it still raining?
There are also reports on Channels TV that Edo,Kwara and Kogi states have been devastated by Flood..The photos are heart breaking and I am wondering how these people will pick up their lives again....

Crop worth millions of naira have also been destroyed.

The compilation of water is not Natural disaster but Man made...

24 comments:

1. You see this island eh, the problem is man-made. How can all the houses be on same level. Some places are meant to slope a bit to enable the water flow well and collect in a deep gutter that will flow underground into the ocean. Let me even not go as far as Ibeju. Common Lekki 1, the gutters are full with water every day of the year. The residents are not concerned. They can’t even clean out their gutters. See small rain on Thursday and everywhere was flooded. I hope this rain reduces cos with the way things are going, this year catastrophe might be worse than last year. I just pity the ones that have crops that were destroyed. This too shall pass.

1. Leave them to live as they please. As if if you have the opportunity to live in lekki phase 1, vi or ikoyi you won't grab it.
      Which area doesn't have its own issues. Some areas no security whatsoever,standstill traffic and arm robbers in every corner. You don't even feel safe going out at night and to get to office you have to wake at 4am.

2. I am not here to argue with you but to state the obvious. I can afford to live in any of these places you mentioned but I have had a bad experience of waking up inside a flooded room and its not a pleasant thing.
      My own take is this, if you can't clean out your gutters, kindly employ labourers to do so and save yourselves this trauma,at least to some extent. What do the estates do with all the levies they task the residents? I pray what happened last year does not repeat itself again.

2. Yes o Stella u can say that again. We don't really have natural disasters in Nigeria...most disasters na Nigerians dey take their hands cause wahala for themselves and they will be wailing govt isn't doing their job. How best can u explain that some Nigerians will see a trash can along d road but will prefer to dispose juice cans, moimoi wraps, disposable diapers/plates, nylons into open drainage...why?
    Hard luck to all victims of the man made disaster.

3. I love my Oshodi ooooo! We die here

1. Na wetin you dey use deceive urself and message ur complex. Na today! Always on d defensive.

4. OMG I know snakes 🐍 and crocs will be in this water. Horrific

5. There is no more sanitation exercise. Some people are waiting on the government to clean their drainages and clear a path for what to flow. If you know you area is flood prone what have you put in place to curb it. Everyone is busy minding their own business so far it doesn’t affect them until it does. Some are waiting for their landlords to come and clean the gutter or appoint someone to do it

6. Nigerians think they are doing others some favours by cleaning their environment. Everyone lives like a pig irrespective of their exposure, education, phantom class. Our people live a little bit above the level of animals in the bush. The saddest part is they believe that it is normal to be dirty.

1. I think the dirtiest so far now is Lekki Phase 1. Does it mean that they do not have any form of management in that estate? Here in Magodo, streets are zoned and its the duty of the zonal leaders to ensure their zones are clean. Our gutters are cleaned out to allow free flow of water. It rains but you never feel it.

7. And it's still raining
    The rain is like 7days ohhh
    God help your children

8. This is not Ibeju Lekki na, its Northern Forshore estate off Chevron drive in Eti Osa local government.

1. You are blessed!

2. its actually friends colony estate

9. River Niger in ibeju Lekki..where do you Stay? I Stay on the ISLAND..

1. I think that's a comment from a myopic mindset.

Even "flood" dey sweep Asaba, (delta state) wey no dey "lekki/Island", whenever it rains heavily... because of lack of drainage.

What about some parts of Satellite Town,
      around NNPC quarters and other parts of Lagos metropolis??

The first time I experienced flood, asin water enter my room, I lived in Yaba area..

What of parts of the North wey flood dey sack a whole community, nah "Lekki/Vi" dem dey live kwa-wa??

Like someone stated on a previous post, pls make Una dey do "small research" before coming on an internationally read blog...dey spew watin Una no Sabi.

This might be the only picture someone out there might have about Nigeria.

Flood challenge anywhere in the world is as a result of..but not limited to the following:
      1)Global warming: Where developed countries with "proper drainage systems" experience flood.

2) Constructions on drainage Paths like canals etc..as obtained around Lagos / Lack of proper water channels and drainage system.

2. Anony 16:53...you are right.
      3...The diameter of the raindrops got thicker because of atmospheric change.

If you step outside, the drops are ploping, they knock your heads and 20minutes of rainfall overtakes the gutters and craters with flood.

It is not about the environment being dirty and blocking the drainage, it's because the gutters are shallow built to suit the season, unfortunately nature changed course this later days.

People are weeping. My husband's cousin and her family left their Island residence to join us. Their neighbour packed 4 cars and travelled for summer with his family. From their own balcony you can't see any of the cars, they are completely submerged. Unfortunately their security man was let off to go holiday somewhere in the North too.

The losses are massive but they are retrieving what they can and pumping out the flood gradually.

This happened in September 2012. It is here again.
      God help Us.

10. It's been raining for like one week now! God help us.

11. Errrm Stella I don't know which ibeju they re referring to.. but here I stay after rain I went to the market.. Just few water in potholes that has disappeared today. ..hmmmmm I know lekki phase one do have flood problem.. Ibeju area is not as serious as lekki.. .ibeju is still developing and they are trying to add good drainage system to it.

12. Leki people and flood sha, they're the real people with "we die here" spirit.They're not even ready to relocate.

1. Not all sides of lekki Mr Man. I live in an estate in lekki and the way my estate is planned we have no floods whatsoever.
      I will take living here over anywhere else. I have lived on the island since 1990 in my parents house in vi and we never got flooded.
      When getting married we wanted an estate and we did our ground work in finding a place that will never be water logged and it is one of the cleanest and safest estates you can find on the island. Kids are free to ride their bikes round the estate, almost 24/7 light and superb security. So if you want to get a house ask questions and inspect there during raining season to be sure.

2. Who asked for your residential address? Okpo!

3. Omg you people will not kee person. Kai you are mouthed. Okpo

13. I really can't for Lekki ppl, they know they live in a flood prone area so either sell and move somewhere else or live there and deal with the possibilities. Mother nature doesn't care about your address or the cost of your valuables. Just count your losses and move on.