Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Wonder Bank Owner Disappears With N27bn Customers’ Savings

Wednesday, September 26, 2018

Wonder Bank Owner Disappears With N27bn Customers’ Savings

About 13,000 customers of a wonder bank, Micheno Multipurpose Cooperative Society (MMCS) in Cross River State, have been duped of their monies running into N27 billion.

According to Vanguard, the wonder bank commenced operations in June 2018 and encouraged people to deposit money to get profits of up to double their investments in 40 days.

While those that deposited N100,000 were told to expect N150,000 in 40 days, depositors of N150,000 were told to expect N300,000 in the same period. Also, depositors of N1 million were expecting N2 million and so on.

However, at the end of the 40-day window, the operator of the scheme identified as one Michael Eke reportedly vanished into thin air.

Although some of the depositors were said to have received meagre sums out of their deposits, majority got nothing and were shocked to find that the usually busy Calabar office of the company was shut and has remained so for a month.

A distraught depositor, Edna Nzegu was quoted as saying, “I have N33 million stocks with the scheme. It may not be much compared to what others have but this has destabilised my life and turned me to mad woman with no bearing and I have lost interest in life and work.”

The Cross River State Command said it has commenced investigations to unravel the truth behind the matter.

14 comments:

1. Nija MMM... Pls o somebori check on fan emmanuel o... Micheal eke you think you haff hammer okwaya?... Go and ask mavrodi hafa...

1. Greed. After MMM people still fall for money doubling in Nigeria. What a pity.

2. Its a terrible situation stella.My friend was affected...Thank God i didnt listen to her when she was persuading me to join.Minimum investment was 100k.They lied that they are a micro finance bank with an office in calabar to gain peoples trust.People pumped in MILLIONS of naira.

3. Out of 100% members, 95% were people who invested millions...A journey into their telegram group will leave u in sorrow as people wail and lament daily.

4. Na wah ooooo. So People are not still wise till now after MMM brouhaha.

5. They really did wonder to d greedy lots. You guys should bear ya cross.

6. i i thought they said there was no money in Nija now. how did people get such millions to want to double. greed greed greed

7. It is the situation of things in Nigeria that makes people fall victim to these fraudulent companies or banks.
    It is better to stick with my ten Naira than lose it to some crook. This is coming too soon after MMM. Bunch of heartless crooks. Christmas is around the corner too.

1. Greed is what makes people fall for such.

2. Situation? Still they could raise 100k!

8. Madam you had 33million and u pumped into it, your own type of greed is on another level.

9. Any day, a man or woman wakes up to double his or her money without using it accurately then such being must surely be duped..

Me wey i never chop, , make i come give u my money dey expect double...i have learnt alot..a bv duped me some years ago, now she has vanished into the thin air and i no dey see her comment qgain sef...u know ursef if u are still commenting wit another i.d or in anon

Ⓜc pinky

10. Some people will never learn from others mistakes, nawah!