Over the weekend we saw reports of a 66 year old woman who birthed her first child and all i have seen are comments bashing her and blaming the Doctors for pumping her up with hormones....
I dont get it......They say that after 35 years a woman's Ovulation begins to recede but some beat it and still birth kids in old age.....................Good one huh?
Are there any disadvantages of birthing a child when a woman is over 40-50 years aside from the fact that one worries she might not have the energy to take care of the child?
There are so many older women trying to conceive now...does it mean they are toying with their health?
Do you think Adoption is a better choice when one is over 50?
Does age affect a baby?At what age is it dangerous to become pregnant?Are over 50 and still trying to get pregnant?
Do you still ovulate or taking hormone pills to help?
Monday, October 29, 2018
73 comments:

Will be reading comments.
ReplyDeleteAfter menopause artificial hormones may lead to endometrial or ovarian cancer. It also depends on the individual as some have gotten away with it but not everybody usually comes back to tell the world that hormonal injections after menopause led to the cancer. Let the holy spirit guide every decision, that's the answer.
ReplyDeleteI will be 40years by January, I ve 4 daughters and I'm going to do IVF for twins boys.
ReplyDeleteMy 1st will b 15 years/ my last girl will be 5years.
Aside on/ off Knees pains,I feel great.
May your IVF turn out positive in JESUS mighty name Amen
DeleteAnon 08:52...for the knee pains, maybe you should start taking Red Yeast( Edmark product). My mum takes it and since then, no more complaint of any kind of pain in the joints.
DeleteShe is over 50 by the way.
To the issue, I heard a baby birthed by old couples usually have hole in the heart. I don't know how true this is, the doctors in the house can tell us.
Awwwwww!!!Thk U @Amanda and Amen to ur prayer 4 me.
Delete@ Mhiz A. I'm currently using Puritan's Pride Calcium and Orphesic.
I will ask my Dr about the Red yeast.Thk u also
If nobody will say it, I will, madam 40yrs old looking for 2 more boys. Your head is not correct! I can understand if you just wanted 6 children but your problem is that you want boy children. Why does God allow idiots breed?
DeleteMay you get that which your heart desires ma'am.
DeleteAnon 11:49 chop knuckle!!! God has blessed her with 4 wonderful girls, she is looking for boys....at 40!!! It is call covetousness and greed, no pun intended
DeleteEverybody with their wahala, so after 4 children, you want to do IVF for twin boys. Rich people problems.
ReplyDeleteI don't just get it.
DeleteYou have 4girls, live your life and love your girls... it's not that hard. Don't put your health at risk for nothing o!
I don't understand the bashing especially from religious people who practice the Abrahamic faiths. Did Sarah not conceive at 80??? Live and let live abeg. Not my monkeys, not my circus.
ReplyDeleteYes she did, she also lived to 365 years or so while Abraham lived for over 400 years.
Deletea little dumb to say this considering the fact that was an extreme case plus Sarah died at 127 and Abraham died at 175 years old. Is this the current age span in your village?
DeleteErm not quite anon 1141 as Sarah died at 127 when Isaac was around 30 or so years old. All these ndi bible scholars sef! Please get your facts right!
DeleteMankind was closer to perfection then hence longer life spans. Not like dat anymore. 40 and looking for boys? To do what with them. Face ur girls and live ur life. If their papa and I'm family na Dem be d cause better pack Dem one corner and don't use ur life to play kalokalo. Na u sabi. In the long run its ur life.
DeleteOutside increased chance of one birthing a baby with Down syndrome at increased maternal age, I don't think there is any other problem. After all our mother Sarah gave birth to Isaac at the age of 85years.
ReplyDeleteAll the best
ReplyDeleteMost doctors feel kids with down syndrome and various issues are gotten from older women because of maternal age.But God is still in the business of doing miracles.
ReplyDeleteI don't feel anybody at such age will want to have a child if such a person married on time and birth their kids.I even believe such women are so lucky to be able to birth babies because such pregnancies are termed high risk for both mother and child and complications can set in.Even the threshold for CS delivery or Vaginal delivery is something else for some ladies in the age bracket.Most times VD is even ruled out and the option is CS.
That woman really tried, it's not easy giving birth at that age, I was born eleven years after she got married and am happily married with 3 beautiful kids, God is really great, I pray the good lord grant her long life in good health to be able to take care of her bundle of joy ijn
ReplyDeleteI am 42, I have tried everything to get pregnant but nothing seems to work. I had an accident as a teenager on my way to school and things were never right with my system after that. I initially wanted to just let it be but insults and questions won't let me. I avoided marriage proposals because I knew my problems and didn't want to add more pepper to the insults. Finally I have made up my mind to go for IVF and have started the process. I already have a donor and we have sorted out things. No going back.
ReplyDeleteSticky beans and plenty baby dust to you.
DeleteThanks darl.
DeleteWell, medical research over the years has proven that babies born by older woman (40 and above) are more prone to genetic problems. As you age, your chances of having a baby with down syndrome, autism, chromosomal abnormalities, etc significantly increases. I read sometime ago that the chances of having a child with down syndrome at 40 is 1 in 100 and at 45, it's 1 in 30. The stats are similar too for autism...And the odds keeps increasing as the age progresses too.
ReplyDeletePersonally, I think families that find themselves in this position should be well informed on the likely odds, so they're better equipped to face whatever outcome. But then, welcome to Nigeria, where there's extreme lack of awareness to these kind of things. Still, a lot of women have been through this and it all turned out well for them, so hers might just be that.
Young mothers have also had
DeleteYoung mothers have also had chilrech with these problems which some believe is related to the genes. If so, you either have the gene or you don't.
DeleteI believe its selfish of an adult to choose to birth a child after 45yrs of age.
ReplyDeleteYou are at an increased risk of a high risk pregnancy possibly giving birth to a child with birth defects at that age - this means the quality of life for that child will be poor.
As a mother, you also hv a higher risk of complications and possibly death during or immediately after delivery. Thereby subjecting your infant to a life of misery - depending on the type of relatives you have.
Life expectancy drops as we grow older. I believe for africans in africa its under 50yrs. Who do you expect to look after a child you birthed due to your selfish desires off "i must have a child that will bury me when i die", "i too cannot die without been a mother" , "i must have a male child or more male children " etc
The entitlement of africans that a "well to do" relative will look after their child or the "oldest sibling" must look after the last born must stop.
People have their lives to live. If a relative, looked at his finances and planned his life around that, ensuring he doesnt hv more children than he can ADEQUATELY cater for, why do you feel its your right to insist or blackmail that relative or sibling to look after your child?
Birthing at 50 , 60 is extremely selfish. I mean when the child is 15 you would be retired . Who do you expect to shoulder university tuition for your child at that age? You the due to you myopic selfishness, expose your child to the risks of runz or armed robbery as a means to survive since you are now old and frail.
Please adopt a child if you are that desperate to be called a parent.
i didn't finish reading the nonsense you typed up there! so you assume the person that births a child after 50 is poor???? Keep typing nonsense.
DeleteAlthough u made some valid points
DeleteBut people save n have properties during retirement nahhhhhhh?????
When you find yourself in their shoes, pls do all you said. Rubbish.
Deletehmmmmmmmm!
DeleteYou made some valid points, you sure did @Sylvia.
But we know that the heart wants what it wants.
If one adopt and dies, what happens to the child? I'm sure you are saying this here because you already have a child or children?
DeleteSometimes there is a need to use common sense which is not common to ppl like you.
Good points there but remember u can also die at 30 and leave your 5 year old behind, maybe u don't have enough savings....then what?
DeleteSome of you vexing on my opinions today are married to older siblings whom shoulder so much responsibilities hence can't adequately cater to u and your kids because their funds are stretched.
DeleteSome of you, are dating such siblings but cant get married to them yet because their parents hv said theh must build a house for them, train x amount of siblings etc before they can think of settling or starting their iwn family
Some of you are infact, in this predicament because you also had to look after your siblings and aged parents and that alone, drove prospective suitors away as they dint want to marry a woman with such responsibilities.
Some of you are products of such selfish decisions today and as a result have suffered avoidable untild hardships, from been a housegirl to ur relatives, to been assaulted, to been rumz chicks to hawking until perhaps fate smiled on you.
All due to the selfishness of perhaps older parents or poor parents who believed "na God de givr children" and so carried on popping children even when they could barely afford 3 meals a day or pay rent or pay sch fees.
I still stand by my opinion, its selfish to have kids when you cant adequately provide for them
Mumu most people in their 50s without children have money because they have no children to spend their money on.
DeleteMy dear people that birth after 45yrs, do you think it is by choice. Majority there is either delay in marriage or they are TTC. How many women just seat and say hey, at 50 I want to be a mother. It is circumstances my dear.
DeleteIf one doesn't find love till their 40s should they be denied the right to have a child ?
One thing I would advice though, if you get married late lets say 35/40 and you try for a year unsuccessfully to get pregnant, please seek medical help fast. If you can afford IVF please go for it. Don't wait for like 5years to seek help. You don't have time like those in their 20s to go from church to church. Go to church yes, but seek medical help also.
Sylvia, don't waste your words. The average African is selfish and does not care for anyone apart from themselves. That's why your advice will fall on deaf ears and that's why they hate adoption - they consider it taking care of another man's child. Most will rather die childless than adopt.
DeleteThey don't even care for the child's future hence they will say praise the lord when a woman over 50 goes for IVF. They wont even admit the IVF - they just say Na God do am!
The post isn't talking à bout birthing children you can't adequately take care of. Birthing a child and adopting a child are same thing. So if they adopt and die later who will take care of the child? Or should the relative send the child away because no be their blood?
DeleteIVF doesn't come cheap. Any family that goes that route has enough saved somewhere so their child won't ever beg when they die.
Until you're in anyone's shoe don't judge them or call them selfish.
Sylvia chop knuckle. It is extremely selfish to have a baby at such an advanced age. No one plans to die at 30(that's an unforeseen and unexpected tragedy) but everyone knows a 66 year old is already scratching death's door especially in Nigeria. In addition, who will meet the child's physical needs. Will grandma mummy and grandpa daddy be able to keep up with the child? By the time the child is a teenager, the parents will be well into their 70s/80s. They will definitely not be active participants in their child's life because of their advanced age. Who will step in and give this child everything that money can't buy? Because a paid nanny or relatives will only feel obligated to help when it makes financial sense to them.
DeleteAccording to oyinbo people, (with their research) the risk of birthing kids with chromosomal abnormalities are higher in advanced mentality age. Meaning, in their forties upward, they have higher risk of birthing kids with down syndrome etc..
ReplyDeleteThe other thing is the hormones that is pumped into the woman's body, it can also cause a kind of cancer called endometrial or ovarian cancer.
It is not advisable to tell women to wait until their thirties or forties before trying to get pregnant.
They don't wait deliberately, situations sometimes cause these delays, if you are lucky to give birth, don't discourage others who are trying and believing God for a miracle. It is even younger women that I see with kids who have down syndrome.
Delete@Blackberry Story Story, which young woman .... you people like to lie to push your agenda ehn
DeleteTHIS IS FACT !!! Take heart if you are in your 50s and havent giving birth yet go to an IVF clinic and stop spreading lies to console yourself.
OLDER WOMEN ARE MORE PRONE GIVE BIRTH TO KIDS WITH BIRTH DEFECTS.
This is facts only. GO ask your doctor or Google. At least have sense
Black berry, I thknk I agree with you, i take my child to a play group in the uk, i had him at 39. Most of us(mothers) are in our mid 30s, late 30s and early 40s. The youngest woman in our midst who is in her 20s is the only one that has a child with down syndrome .
DeleteAnon 16.03 methinks that's because there is more monitoring and tests done on an older mum for birth defects due to the risks. They perform amnio etc on older mums which they do not on young mums.
DeletePlease goodluck to any woman. Out there trying to get pregnant, don't relent, don't give up, try all you can and if push comes to a shove, adopt, cos if you don't, they will go behind closed doors n mock u.
ReplyDeletePeace.
With God on your side there's no disadvantage.
ReplyDeleteAll the best to those trying for a child. No age is too old for God.
Blackberry, Thanks for this comment.
ReplyDeleteMy mom's elder sister just had twins naturally on Thursday and after about 20 years of trying and she is pushing 50.she is healthy and so are the babies
ReplyDeleteAwwww!!!! Praise be to GOD
DeleteMy dear, who go born healthy pikin go born healthy pikin and who no go born healthy pikin no go born . I have seen people in their 20s have kids with one or 2 issues so as a woman eat right, take your vitamins, do a bit of exercise and pray, age or no age, don't be discouraged.
DeleteWas it IVF? If it was IVF, was it with donor eggs? Was it baby factory bought babies? There is nothing that I have not seen especially in Port Harcourt and the East.
DeleteIts easy to bash people,birthing at Old age,till you walk in their shoes.
ReplyDeleteThank God,for what you have or are.
Don't mind them
DeleteI am yet to see a woman of 45 and over that just wakes up one morning and says i want to be a mother when her mates are already winding down and relaxing from child rearing.
DeleteMost 45 and older women first time mothers it is circumstances. Some got married late and some have been trying for 10yrs and more.
Majority of women want to get married btw the ages of 25/30 tops and also start having kids. But not everyone is lucky to have that.
Do you now have a right to tell a woman that just got married at 40 that she is too old and therefore forget having kids? That is absolutely selfish.
That you were lucky to marry and birth on time should not make you insensitive and have the right to judge others.
My aunt's best friend had her first child at 49,having been married and TTC for close to 20 yrs. A beautiful healthy baby boy through IVF. Pls no one has the right to direct how someone else lives their lives. You do not walk in their shoes.
Bed and Roses, thank you. As if people don't die in their 20s or 30s. As if death calls people by age. My grandmother who is in her 90s is alive while all her children are no more.
DeleteGod doesn't have a calendar and he cannot be timed by time. Times without number , we have seen proofs DAT even leaves medical gurus in awe,, people who have kids are DAT age never wished but it happened, will they discard d gift to avoid peoples talk?? The most important thing we should ask for is good health of mind and body before and after delivery.
ReplyDeleteThe bible has several examples to show that you can birth your child at any age. This age and having deformed child is mainly preached in Nigeria. In America you can have your child at any age all things being normal
ReplyDeleteSHUT UP !!! When doctors are speaking facts learn how to listen ...
DeleteEven if you dont have sense use Google ...
Birthing at after 45, first the pregnancy becomes high risk then the baby is more prone to have birth defects. Even in the US, the doctors will tell you that.
Only in Africa, an anonymous will spread a false info as fact.
Go and give birth at 60 na ... longest Hiss
There are more women in the West having 'geriatric' pregnancies than in Africa. Megan Markle, Halle Berry, Kenya Moore. You praise them but condemn your neighbour.
DeleteWhich America???? Stupid anonymous that has never left her kitchen. I live in London and the doctors here will tell you same. Use Google and stop being stupid.
DeleteGod please hear my prayers,may my period not come this month.God please is 2years+ already.Amen
ReplyDeleteAmen. Don't panic
DeleteBekkee , its my prayers for you today, that the elements of the heavenlies and the earthlies will move in your favour and this time next year, you will be with child, in jesus name i pray.
DeleteFor every Hannah (according ti the bible) on this blog, this time next year, you will have your own children. Please eat right, worry less, take your vitamins and shag alot, then watch God do his work
Please calm down. Amen to your prayers
DeleteBekkeee, I just said a prayer for you. Trust God and it's done
DeleteGod bless u @ Nobi's mum
DeleteGod bless u for me @ Swag,Sylvia,Charitybino and anonymous..Amen to ur prayers
DeleteAdoption is a good one or better still find a surrogate and save your body.
ReplyDeleteBeekkee, calm down, you will born children. Amen
ReplyDeleteAm filled with tears, just lost three months old pregnancy. This is the pregnancy that I have prayed and fasted for for three years. Iam no more myself. God please, hear my cry, comfort me and let me testify before this 2018 runs out in Jesus name for family and friends are already gossiping and mocking. My heart is heavy.
ReplyDeleteSo sorry about your loss.. Pls, ignore the mockers. God is God. Nobody has a perfect life. Never mind the way the society raises infertility to the position of chief of problems. Don't let that make you lose the joy of life while expecting your miracle. .e hugs.
DeletePlease take it easy on yourself. Next pregnancy please take precautions,rest,eat well and put your mind at rest. If you can,take leave from work. 1st trimester is always tricky. Good luck
DeleteGod is on the throne. He never fails, always in praise mood. #itwillendinpraise