Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Emergency Room Series - Too Late.

Thursday, November 08, 2018

Emergency Room Series - Too Late.

This is one of the stories that breaks my heart. 

People are indeed going through a lot. 

No matter what you are going through, you have to be grateful for life because you have no idea what someone else is going through. Sometimes people make the mistake of being envious of other people’s “success”, they see the glitz and glamour on the outside, not knowing that deep down, they are going through things that you might not be able to handle. 

A lady in her early twenties was rushed to the ER by her parents. She was looking frail and weak. She looked like she was in so much pain and was not comfortable. Despite her gloomy facial expression, she still looked pretty and I was amused as to how spotless her skin was. She was said to be working as an executive at one of top financial institutions in the country, something not common to see.

She must have been earning a lot. She was also a known patient at the hospital. She had presented with abdominal pain and upon taking an ultrasound, it was discovered that she had uterine fibroids. That was two years ago. She was told to take it out by undergoing surgery but felt that she could get other alternatives instead of having surgery done. Unknown to her, it would be a mistake she would pay dearly for.

On admission at the ER, her vital signs were unstable, her blood pressure was low and her heart rate was high. Her abdomen was distended and she could even be mistaken to be about three months pregnant due to the size of her abdomen. She looked naturally slim so that made the abdomen quite obvious. Her blood was taken for tests and she was taken to the scan room for another scan. She was given pain killers and placed infusions.

Her parents were so worried. 

They said she kept it from them and only told them recently when they noticed she lost some weight and wore bigger cloths that covered her tummy which looked bigger in size. They thought she was pregnant. They said she was treating herself with herbal medicine and other products that she found on a foreign hospital’s website. It was when things were getting out of hand and she was feeling weak and unable to go to work that they decided to bring her to the hospital. 

They said she was scared to have surgery done on her. 

The ultrasound was done and the results were heartbreaking. 

The fibroids had grown so large that it had covered her entire uterus (womb) and her fallopian tubes were blocked as a result! 

She would need a more complex surgery to have the fibroids out. The general surgeon was called to review her case. The surgeon gave the biggest shocker. She was to have a surgery where the fibroid, her tubes and uterus will be completely removed!

Something we call total abdominal hysterectomy with bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy. Her parents couldn’t believe their ears. The surgeon even added that the surgery would be very risky and she might develop complications judging from what the scan report is showing. For a woman of child-bearing age as her, never been married and still very young, it would be a sad decision to make. 

Her lab results later came out and as expected, her blood level was low. Fibroids literally feed on blood to grow so the bigger the fibroid, the lower the person’s blood could get. Her parents pleaded for another way out but there was no other option that the surgeon gave. The surgeon showed them the scan pictures of the fibroids sizes, the severity of damage caused and how the fibroids have distorted the womb’s normal shape. There was no other option. The mother was devastated and even asked the surgeon if he could lie to the girl that it was only fibroid they want to remove because she might hurt herself if she finds out that they were going to remove her womb too. 

The surgeon frowned at her. I couldn’t even imagine the pain the lady would go through emotionally knowing that she would never have kids, unless God gives her a miracle because it was not medically or humanly possible. The surgeon even told the parents that he might not even be able to perform the surgery because the risks were too high. While all these was going on, the patient was asleep because of the injections she had. 

Arrangements were made for her to have blood and she was to be referred to another hospital after. Her parents said they would take her out of the country. Her parents wanted the new developments to be hidden from the patient but the doctors refused. Two female doctors volunteered to carefully break the news to her. At first, she thought they were joking and she was smiling, asking them to stop playing. But when they showed her the scan reports she began to panic and cry. 

I really wished she had just removed the fibroids back then when she first noticed it, it wouldn’t have led to this. She is one of the youngest patients I’ve known that had a fibroid. Fibroids used to be associated with older women, but sadly not anymore. These days younger women are being diagnosed of fibroids, breast lumps and cancers associated with the uterus. This is a lady who Is smart, beautiful, financially stable, has a good job and just starting her life. She shouldn't have waited that long to get the surgery done..

I can only pray that God will comfort her.

*Oh Dear...this story broke my heart...

66 comments:

1. Oh dear! I hope a friend of mine reads this. She is so scared of undergoing surgery to remove her fibroid. To this patient I know the Lord is still in the business of doing miracles.

2. So sad. May she receive a miracle

3. This is very heartbroken ,I pray God give her miracle that sounds like lie. My thoughts are with her

4. This is so sad. I know someone that has fibroid as well. Pls God take control of this situation. People don't know what other people go through. Pls let's be gentle to one another. May God help us all

Socialmediaawardsng

To vote @stelladimokokorkus as BLOGGER OF THE YEAR

Text sma18 stella to 33352

5. God! This is too much, i feel for her.

6. This comment has been removed by the author.

7. Sad story.

If I talk the thing wey I wan talk now, spam fit chop am?

8. Sad indeed...I wish she took it out then. May God give her reason to smile again.

Socialmediaawardsng

To vote @stelladimokokorkus as BLOGGER OF THE YEAR

Text sma18 stella to 33352

9. Feeling bad already ,sad sigh.. I pray the Lord comes to her rescue

1. Amen oh!!
      Stella you need to do a post on this fibroid, let's learn one or two things

2. Amanda, google fibroidstelladimoko and you will see that she has done a lot of posts on fibroid.

10. wow. This one is really hard to take in. Being nice won't harm anyone. people are fighting battles.

11. I had a near death encounter last month when I had a severe bladder infection. Also found out at the same time that I had 3 little fibroids outside of my womb. There are no changes in my monthly menses but hmmm I’ve been very observant since then. I watch out for the littlest change. I’m not leaving anything to chance even though I was assured that I wasn’t going to have issues having kids if I needed to.

12. May God comfort her. Its well with her.

13. So sad.
    God pls make the surgery a success most importantly, there are so many legal ways to get children now so she shouldn't worry much.

14. May God miraculously touch her in Jesus name

15. God will perform his miracle, its better she is alive without a womb than dead with a womb.

16. I pray the surgery is successful. May God be with her.

17. This got me scared. My older sis has been diagnosed with fibroid though she has one kid and is TTC. She prefers to buy agbo and go to prayer houses seeking for a child in stead of going to the hospital. According to her,they said the fibroid is small and can't grow more than that. I love my sister and wish that she would use money for the money for agbo and prayer houses to go for better medical checkup.

1. Anonymous is not true as long as your womb is there the fibroid will grow. The only way it will not grow is if her womb is not there. She should get a good gynecologist to be checking her, if is small she can manage it for a while before opting for myomectomy.

18. Nawa, how sad.
    Please doctors in the house, can you still produce eggs after a hysterectomy ?
    I believe this lady should still have her ovaries, eggs can be harvested and implanted in a surrogate to carry her child for her. I may be mistaken but with functioning ovaries, she may still be able to harvest her eggs, store them and when she gets married they fertilize with her husbands sperm and a surrogate carries the baby for them.

19. This is so heartbroken, may God perform miraculous surgery.. .free of complications on her

1. Heartbreaking please not heartbroken.

20. My friends sis is in similar situation. She also didn't tell anyone and was taking drugs to shrunk it now it's only hysterectomy that can solve her own. She's presently looking for a surrogate,extract her eggs before going for the surgery

1. That shrinking thing is just waste of time coz as soon as you top the drugs it will come back. Someone said their is a drug you can take and pass it out, I am still waiting for that drug.

21. Oh God! This story made me cry and sad. God, please do a miracle in her life and heal every part of her body that needs healing because you God alone have the final say.

22. Hmmnnn really sad,I can so relate to this post and might just have to share this "pathetic story".

My sis was diagnosed of fibroid at age 25.The doctors advised her to remove it then and she said she will faith it out.By the time she turned 27 it was really disturbing her and it had to be removed.Hers was spreading sideways and started lurking under her ribs.After the surgery I was asked to come see it before they threw it away.Mehn,I kept saying so this is what she has been carrying about for 2yrs.It weighed 10kg, an average of 2 or 3 babies.

My aunt lost twin pregnancy sometime to fibroid and she hasn't removed the fibroid.She had two kids before then and you know the general saying is "if the fibroid is not disturbing you don't remove it" .

Let me go and start preaching to her to remove it before it turns cancerous.

Lord we are in your hands.🙏

1. She should remove it, I am still believing God and trying to build my faith before I will give myself to the doctor to take it off.

2. @ epistle, it is not you to tell her to remove it. Advise her to see her doctors for assessment and regular monitoring.

She has 2kids already so she may not want to remove it.

23. I am very grateful to God for his mercies over my life, I use to have fibroid and it was hindering me from getting pregnant but all thanks to God he has taken them off me, I also spent a lot of money on agbo and herbal drinks but it did nothing, the idiots sat down in my womb flexing their life, one agbo I was taking then would make me purge that I would almost shit out my intestine, but Logan ti o de o Olugbala, aye mi leto (once God stepped into my life, I became whole). Now I am fibroid free to the glory of God and all I did was hand everything over to God and he perfected it, my period now is cramps free, no more heavy unlike before plus no more sickness associated with fibroid. Now I am battling with hormonal imbalance and blocked fallopian tube but I know God will step in and make me whole completely.

1. I heard that fibroid causes Fallopian tube blockage, you need to run fertility profile test to be sure of what is wrong with you and seek for medical attention. Don’t worry God will do it for you.

2. Yes @excited courtesy the surgery blocks fallopian tubes if one doesn't get pregnant on time after the surgery. Reason why some doctors advise singles not to take it out.

3. Your fibroids stopped growing because of the hormonal imbalance. Estrogen is the fuel for fibroids and when it drops your symptoms will reduce. You NEED to address this issue immediately. Go for a vg ultrasound and do CA-125 to check tumour markers and know why your hormones suddenly dropped. Again, if you are in your 40s,you could be menopausal. When you hit menopause, all those (non cancerous) growths in your womb will stop growing.

4. @ ajebo, you are right. My friend has fibroids and they were small, her periods were very irregular, at some point it stopped and she had to do a blood test which revealed she has hit menopause. She is just 42 and has no child.Doctor said the only way she can have a child is through a donor.

24. Fibroid is a very terrible illness,i got pregnant and discovered during scan that i had uterine fibroid co existing with the baby,the pregnancy almst took my life and that of my babys,delivered my baby at 1.7kg via ceasarean and a large fibroid weighing over 2kg was also removed,7mnths after im still skinny and yet to fully recover

1. You should check to be sure is fibroid alone that is disturbing you. It look like is not fibroid alone, once the surgery is done everything comes back to normal except it grows back.

25. kai I am worried because I have fibroids but I have a baby and currently pregnant.I pleaded with my doctor to remove it but she said no is dangerous to do that during CS.Most times is not like is disturbing me guess because of the location but it was a little issue with my last baby struggling for space and all that.This is heart wrenching this fibroid is like the raining thing now out of 5 ladies 3 can have it and I really dont know why the sudden increase of it.

1. If is not disturbing you just let it be, if you finish giving birth you can just remove it with your womb and rest. I know a lady that she kept managing how own until one day all the pain killers and injections failed her. Non was working for her, she has to option for surgery to take off her womb and the fibroid since she is done with having kids. I heard it could result to cancer if not treated on time.

2. So you know about someone's case and you are asking her to leave it,you are wicked. The fact that you don't want to remove yours doesnt mean you should litter the whole place telling people to leave it,when it becomes something serious you won't be dere to carry it for them. Better go to the hospital and do what the doctors asks you to do

26. I wish we had better health care system in Nigeria but personally as females we should take better care of our health,have proper check up done quaterly or yearly,a stitch in time saves nine.....

27. God have mercy on us.So, if fibroid is not removed immediately, it would result to hysterectomy? Nurse, please explain. This is not funny at all.

1. Not in all cases, it depends on the size, position and level of damage caused if any.

2. A lot of factors prompt the doctors to advise patients to leave or remove it i.e size, location, symptoms that is if there are pains, very heavy bleeding etc.

Some grow outside the womb, some grow in the womb, some are big , some are small so it depends.

I did mine in the uk, i was 37, no child, location was not good cuz the doctor said it was blocking where the sperm was to swim through to meet my eggs, doctor said the biggest was about 6kg and theee were 2 small ones. My periods were a bit heavy on the first day and then the fibroids were pressing my bladder cuz i was always urinating.

Consultant told me to take it out, meanwhile i had been trying for a baby for 3 years.

So i took it out, just told God to take control.I spent about 5 days in the hospital. 3 months after i missed my period, today i have a son.

I want to try for baby No 2 now by Gods grace.

28. So sad...
    This is just sad! So so so sad!
    If you've gone to 2 or more doctors and they told you to go for surgery please do.

A friend's sister died because when she eventually decided to go for the surgery, the fibroid was bigger and hence more complex.
    I almost did not go for mine because of fear and hence expecting a miracle. Who knows? This would have been me.

I shared my fibroid story here "Chronicle of Hope 25" till date I still go back to read that post and I always have tears when I read through the comments, those words of encouragement means alot to me!
    I intend doing a YouTube video on my channel as regards to my fibroid story, many women are actually suffering and eventually die from fibroid because of ignorance and fear. Might probably share it with you guys when I do.

Thanks once more to all of you for your kind words, I really appreciate!
    😘

1. Just went back to read your story. Thank God for your life

2. Thank God over you life, someday I will share mine too.

3. Thank you SWAG LAFRESH and Excited Courtesy!

29. I have fibroid too and I wasn't led by God to remove it yet. I just welcomed my first baby. Remember that all fibroids are not equal. Location, symptoms and size have to be taken into consideration before the decision of surgery. And please don't waste money on any nonsense herbs.

1. Exactly, location, age and size matters. I have fibroids too and i had to do surgery because all efforts to get pregnant proved abortive. To the glory of God, I got pregnant 3 months after surgery. Herbs is a No no and apart from possibly causing more damage, it is a waste of time.
      Always consult your doctor for the best professional advice and pray to God.

30. This story is breaking my heart, as a single lady no one will want to give approval for you to take out fibroid, this fibroid is from pit of hell, is there no other ways to take it out than surgery? This fibroid is from the pit of hell, the devil is the one bringing it, once you discover you have fibroid before two years time is bigger than expected. The pains is out of this world, the heavy bleeding is something else, I don’t advise people to take herb 🌿 cos it makes the matter worse. Myomectomy surgery is not a minor surgery, this fibroid makes you have low blood level, it will finish your blood and make you pass out. I have been there so I understand the pain, my family think is not good to go under the knife as a single lady without any man available.

She should just go ahead and do the surgery before it becomes more complications, I pray God gives her a miracle, for now I am trying to see how possible I can treat it without surgery. Some people think fibroid is a deadly disease, once you say you have fibroid some people will start avoiding you.

31. If you have fibroid avoid all this herbal nonsense and go to the hospital.

32. Lord have mercy

33. Two words: Oocytes Cryopreservation. She can afford it. Maximum is 1.5 million naira.

34. The only person that I know that had fibroid was my mum and she was advised by the doctors 5 years ago to remove her womb completely to avoid it growing back which she did and she has been fine ever since.
    Reading all these stories is heart breaking. I truly respect and pray for women going through this.