Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Cancels Daughter's Wedding On D-Day Citing Flimsy Excuse...

Sunday, November 04, 2018

Man Cancels Daughter's Wedding On D-Day Citing Flimsy Excuse...

This is wickedness from the pit of hell..!!!

A wedding ceremony came to a dramatic end in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital, on Saturday, when father of the bride suddenly called off the wedding of his daughter, Oluwaseun Adugbe to his fiancée, Tunji Curtis, a few hours to the commencement of the ceremony.

Mr Adugbe, a native of Edo State and father of the bride was said to have announced that the wedding would no longer hold and directed her daughter to return all the goodies brought by the groom’s family to them immediately without giving any reason.

Members of the groom’s family, who had arrived from Lagos in the early hours of Saturday, were said to have been left in shock and could not understand why the family of the bride would cancel their daughter’s wedding without any prior notice.

They were said to have been told that the wedding could no longer hold and that all preparations should be suspended. The father insisted that no marriage would hold in his house and that he would not be a party to the union.

Sunday Tribune learnt that Tunji and Oluwaseun have been dating for about five years and their relationship has produced a child, who will clock five in a few months.

When pressed by Tunji’s family for reasons for his would-be father-in-law’s actions, it was said he had accused Tunji of failing to honour a meeting with other members of the family on Friday, a development which left them with no option but to cancel the wedding.

Sunday Tribune gathered that Tunji arrived at his fiancée’s family house on Friday evening with no inkling that his wedding would be called off the next day.

According to him, he arrived in Ibadan on Friday morning and was asked by the bride’s father to come for what he described as a crucial meeting with other members of the family, but failed to meet up with the 1p.m appointment due to other engagements.

He claimed that he arrived late at his fiancée’s house on Friday, but no one told him the wedding had been cancelled as preparations for the next day had begun.

He claimed that he had no problem with his fiancée’s father and could not understand why such a drastic action would be taken without his being informed. He added that his wife to-be could not explain the rationale behind her father’s decision.

“This is shocking. I don’t believe this is truly happening, because my wife and I had no issues at all and I can’t remember having any issue with her father. In fact, I sent money to her father last week Thursday as part of my contributions towards the wedding,” he said.

Distraught Tunji, who was almost moved to tears while speaking with Sunday Tribune, said no one could explain to him what went wrong as things were still not cleared to him as of the time he was talking.

According to him, “I asked my father in-law what went wrong; he told me that I failed to honour a meeting yesterday. I tried to explain to him that I was extremely busy making sure that everything was in place so that we could have a smooth celebration.”

Asked what his next plans would be, Tunji simply said: “ Right now, I just want to forget about this drama and cool off. I will think of the next thing to do when I wake up tomorrow.”

Also speaking with Sunday Tribune, Tunji’s elder sister, Abibat, who came to Ibadan with about 15 persons, including family members and friends, said she was disappointed by the actions of the bride’s family, adding that: “You can imagine the excuse that they gave for the cancellation of the wedding. I have never seen any family that is as irresponsible as this. I don’t blame them; I blame our son, who took the wrong step. The wedding is over and we will be going back to Lagos anytime from now,” she lamented.

Another member of the family, Olayinka Ogunbajo, who brought the wedding cake from Lagos said the family members met the father of the bride on their arrival from Lagos with the cake, saying “the father told us where we would keep the cake on Friday. He welcomed us heartily into his house and there was no reason for us to think otherwise. On getting here this morning, we were told that the wedding had been called off. I am speechless.”

At the bride’s family house in Oshodi area of Felele Rab, where Tunji in company with his friends and family members were told that the wedding had been cancelled, residents and other well-wishers lamented bitterly.

The atmosphere was pensive when Sunday Tribune arrived at the house of the bride as no one was willing to disclose what had happened. People could be seen muttering words that suggested that all was not well between the two families.

Some members of the family were seen moving their gifts and other foodstuffs back into their cars as they blamed the bride’s father for ruining their day of joy.

However, some residents of the area cashed in on the moment as they were seen with polythene bags filled with cooked meat meant for the celebration.

One of them, who spoke with Sunday Tribune, said since the wedding had been cancelled and everybody was confused, “their pain is our joy”.

Efforts to speak with the bride’s father proved abortive as he declined comment when Sunday Tribune approached him for his reaction in his house.

His response was “I am not ready to talk to anybody. Please go.”

The bride also declined comment.

from goldmyne

*This Father is evil,can you just imagine..All the preparations gone down the drain...for what now?If i am the man eh,i will break up with his daughter in front of him,collect all my gifts and whatever else and leave!!!

59 comments:

1. Nawaooo whyy....topnotch

1. As far as I'm concerned, the bride's father expected his SIL to honor the meeting of Friday and if the groom considered other things were more important to attend to than that meeting, then that showed he had no regard for his FIL and inlaws and it means material/worldly things come first before family.
      Some fathers won't tolerate such negligence no matter what is at stake.

2. Teacher Amaka read to understand. Did you read where they said he came on that Friday but arrived late. He didnt meet the time of 1pm given but still came that same Friday. They didnt tell him anything was wrong. But decided to disgrace the family on Saturday.

3. Amaka pls read to understand....He came on that Friday but arrived late. I'm sure the man cancelled the wedding in his 'mind' on Friday.He should have just told the daughter or SIL that the wedding has been cancelled prior to that day. What if on embarking on that journey on the day of the wedding the groom to be was involved in an accident will all these 'serenre' have matter?? FIL from hell!!

4. You both need to read to understand, he arrived town on Friday morning but didnt consider the so called crucial meeting a priority as he had other engagements.
      I'm not trying to say the man is right for cancelling the wedding, however the groom should have made sure he attended the meeting since he was told it was "Crucial".
      The bride's father must be a very 'PROUD' man

2. Abi did the bride suddenly disclose something about the groom to the father???

Cos this sudden change of mind is quite suspicious

1. As in... I think something that they Dont want to say happened. Because that excuse get as e be. Abi??

2. I like people who think out of the box A LOT. Eka you are one of them 😘

Honestly this cannot be the whole story

This man can't just be that stupid. I know African men are cray; buh not this joor

There is more...

3. Exactly! @Eka.

Maybe he discovered something but decided to wait till this day to punish the guy this way.

And for the sister "I have never seen any family that is as irresponsible as this. I don’t blame them; I blame our son, who took the wrong step." it shows something is not right with the both families.

There's no smoke without fire.

4. Something just occurred to me now!

What if it's one of those families that father and daughter are not in good terms just like that chronicles poster of few weeks back and the father use this medium to punish his daughter for being a disrespectful child to him?

You never can tell.

5. My thoughts exactly. Maybe the lady told her dad that the guy beats her or something.

3. Men are not God...if not people go dey hear nwii.thank God

1. I can't see the girls mother mentioned anywhere. Maybe she too ran from the man.
      I find something fishy here. This man feels very comfortable his grown daughter and grandchild staying with him.
      In my own family,even in pregnancy my father would have given you away to the man for free.

4. she should be glad not to have married into that kind end time family... weak husband to-be sef.

1. Read the article again please

2. Anon 11:9 Go back and read! Why the rush?

5. Stella he should leave na, For the bride to be on the same side with her people no smoke without fire.

6. I don't know why African parents feel they have so much power. What right has he to stop the wedding? And it usually the poor ones who couldn't afford to take very good care of their children who does that. Poor people in Africa loves to give rules and order people around. A bunch of bush backwards folks.

7. I believe the man has his reason. We should hear from him. No man whose daughter has a child will take such decisions if something is not fishy.

1. Yes he must have his reason. But they should have conveyed it to the groom and his family before the wedding day. After people travelled far and wide. Is it to disgrace them ?
      I know a father that kept doing this sort of thing to his son. The guy was already near 40. Every girl there will be a complaint. One he refused bcos she's Yoruba and they are calabar. He brought calabar again he said the family isn't good. When this guy turned 40 he just went to registry himself and told the father later. The father died few months later.

8. when will Nigeria be like oyibo country?, You fix your wedding then invite your parents.

1. That is how all these Nigerian kids here in America do their wedding nowadays.They fix their wedding date and inform their parents. They work hard and save for their own wedding though. parents contribute little or nothing at all to the event, and they are not doing it in their parents house.

9. It's not ordinary. Let's not judge there's more to it. This world is ephemeral. Spiritual rules but we're distracted.

10. What sort of wicked family is this.
    I just pity the bride that can't stand up for herself and her marriage. Let her keep living in her fathers palatial mansion and let her child clock 10yrs there. This same father will drive her to depression when he starts mocking her to go to her husband's house.

1. What would she do? They were to do the wedding in his house and he said they can't come in. Think na. The only thing she can do now is marry in court if her husband still wants to marry or marry in another venue but chances are family won't attend because they won't want to be "involved"

11. This is so unfair after all the money spent. Haba!

Imagine the disgrace

12. I think the bride’s father or family should explain to the groom what is wrong, why the marriage cannot hold than to just treat him and his family like this. If for real the bride father canceled the wedding cos the groom did not attend meeting, then the groom should end it up and collect his child, forget about that family. But I still feels no matter what the groom did he deserves to know what he did wrong. Since the bride is with her father, let her marry her papa oh, who has she been doing five years without finding out things about the guy till this moment, she was busy opening legs and birthing pikin.

1. Collect his child because the child is a bag of rice you just collect?

2. You were making sense till you said collect his child??? You are a fool and you know it. So the child does not belong to the woman as well? Or the child fell from the sky? Oponu!!

3. This is what my father should have done for me, instead he kept his mouth shut even when he had his reservations,which he never voiced out. Now I am in a difficult marriage looking for my escape.

13. I'm sure her dad is a military man!!!

14. This is just one side of the story. Remember, there's usually three sides to a story: his, hers and the truth.
    Don't be too quick to judge.

15. Stella Kork did you say break up and collect all your gifts? Laye! It won't happen.

You see This marriage it will hold. Omesigokwa!
    These are ways the DEVIL stops a young lady from entering into her place of happiness. Don't be surprised he was called for a meeting to tell him that the bride's family will need extra this and that, he should bring more cash. Some pay at the gate of the Church premises during wedding make peace for reign. Send someone to an ATM machine sharp sharp and stuff their evil mouths with cash.

Wetin my eye see yesterday I whispered it small to you. Expect more later.
    Tush wedding of budget rated in hundreds of millions. You know how many people that flew in for the wedding? Hotel bills? Read up again the Auntie that came to Ibadan with 15 people? Is it not same happy family hoping to go unite the couple? She was happily heading to Ibadan for her niece's wedding,look at the humiliation and disappointment.Painful!

Summary is there was few attendees left to savour the delicacyin the one we went to. The couple cried so much begging families to go home with expensive souvenirs and delicacies.

When marriages hold. Things happen Stella. Things happen. It might the Uncles the Devil will use to scatter the Daddy's mind. Just about anybody.

I'm piseed mehhhn.

16. Their pain is our joy 🤣🤣🤣🤣 because of meat

17. The guy should just dash them everything. Wife, child and gifts. Then he should just start all over. Next time when another family gives him appointment even if it's 5minutes to the wedding, he will respect his inlaws and get there early. Maybe they wanted to tell him about the cancellation with respect but his village people had organised public disgrace for him and he got there late. Typical naija guy who feels he is doing a woman a favour by marrying her. See disgrace in HD. Na so my mama no gree make I marry one guy like that after information reach her say another family called off their daughter's wedding to him after the intro. The babe was already heavily pregnant o. My mama say tufia! Say the matter go deep and she cannot allow me shook head. If he had attended the crucial family meeting on time, he would have saved himself and his family this embarrassment. I'm waiting for more gist. This is not the end of this drama.

1. I hope say you don marry now sha.

2. Offpoint you made some valid points...

3. Off point pls shut up. Didn't the guy still make it?a good family should know that wedding preparations obviously delayed the guy,shey if the preparations weren't in order they will still blame the man. The girls father is just plain wicked. Keep letting your mom analyse who is good for you since you don't know what you really want in life

4. 14:53: Na my opinion be dat o. You are free to air yours without referring to your ancestors. Yes! I listen to my mother's advice bcos na she I go first call if yawa gas.

13:57: I could lie that I am but I won't just to avoid insults. No I'm not yet and neither is he. There is no special heaven for married people. I'd rather have peace than become a perpetual chronicle sender. Marriage will come when it's God's time. And if it doesn't come, I'll continue being a good daughter, aunt and friend to my loved ones.

5. Abi o Sky. All of us cannot see things from the same angle na. What if you have quater pass 4 eyes kwanu? You will now force me to be seeing what you are seeing. Arguments must be either for or against. Choose your side in peace.

6. Na wa o. See gbege raised to power 3. Na im be say these tns dey happen true true. One guy dey yarn my friend say his baby mama's family no gree collect bride price even after 4kids, I tell my babe say na lie.

He said he loved her and his family right from day 1 said their daughter cannot marry a Yoruba man because of the bad experience they had with the lady's Yoruba mother who they believed killed their Urhobo brother. Na so people advise bros to nack am belle. Dem continue to nack even born twins in 2016 but still her family no gree. Dem say even if dem born 20, e no concern them. Even the babe Yoruba mother don advice bros to respect his life and marry someone else. His father said the same.

So he built her a house in Benin and takes care of them but now wants to marry someone he can have a proper marriage and family with. Me as an SDK BV that I is na, I tell my friend say na fabu. Which kain dem no gree after 10 years and 4kids? But e be like say with this story now, e fit be true o. Make I forward this gbege to my friend as bros is coming to Nigeria again by Xmas.

7. Offpoint that's exactly what I was saying.
      Its unfortunate that these days some people dont know what it means to have respect/regard for elders especially when it comes to marriage.

8. @Petrol don't advise your friend to marry such man o. Is your friend willing to be a 2nd wife ?
      Why marry a man that is in this type of dicey situation. You think that woman with 4kids is going to let your friend have a peaceful home ?
      You feel it's easy for a woman with 4kids to just leave like that?
      Don't let your friend fall into one chance marriage. That lady will never let go and it's obvious there is love between them.
      What happens if her kinsmen finally agree. Some people even accept bride price in old age.
      Before your friend knows it that woman will give birth to her 5th child and nothing will happen.
      Let her look for her own man and don't let abroad man deceive her.

18. And the lady was comfortable with the father"s decision? No effort to talk to her fiancee. Hmmmmmm

19. So marriage in Nigeria is now a place for happiness.

20. So a woman who could already birth a 5 yr old child cannot decide on her own mind to marry the father of her child. Interesting that the father who did not collect the sex or carry the pregnancy has the power to decide if she can marry the father of her child. Very interesting.

21. Deep secret of the groom's family must have been revealed to the father lately hence the urgent invitation. The sudden cancellation sounds bizzare.

22. The groom seems like the victim now until you hear from the girl's dad.....the groom might be the problem here nit the girl's dad....what an old man sees sitting down,a child cannot see even if he climbs a tree....