Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Genevieve Nnaji Alleges Cinema Gang Up Against Her Movie 'Lion Heart'

Thursday, December 20, 2018

Actress Genevieve Nnaji Alleges Cinema Gang Up Against Her Movie 'Lion Heart'

Nollywood actress and filmmaker, Genevieve Nnaji is not happy as her globally acclaimed movie, ‘Lionheart’, may not have the privilege of being shown in Nigerian cinemas.

In a message currently circulating on WhatsApp and posted on her behalf by Ugoma Adegoke, the CEO of Life House, the actress revealed that although getting to show her directorial debut to her fans has been giving her a mush feeling, unfortunately, not everyone shares her enthusiasm.

The statement describes as sad the fact that the very people who pose as Nollywood supporters and promoters of their content are the same people frustrating the efforts of film makers.

“FilmOne, one of the major film cinema distributors, has categorically refused to distribute Lionheart, primarily because they have no stake in it. They are currently invested in a couple of movies showing in the cinemas and want to protect their assets at all cost. Monopolizing the market this season is their strategy to recouping their investment,” the statement reads.

The actress adds that although pioneer cinema house, Silverbird agreed to exclusively exhibit ‘Lionheart’ across their cinemas, as soon as the announcement was made about the release, the ‘powers that be’ of distribution and marketing proceeded to arm twist them into backing out of the agreement by threatening to boycott them in the future.
from apex.ng

*They refused because they don't have a stake in it?Well,Why not have a meeting and reach an agreement with them?We have been already told in several posts how Nollywood does not support its own,so this isn't really a surprise.....Meet with them and reach an agreement because calling them out might make this worse.....Sometimes you need to apply Solomon's wisdom.....Not supporting them,just saying,Apply wisdom in dealing with people like this.....Besides no one else has complained!!

111 comments:

1. Please you people should bring hot tea on this one.. the harmattan for my side squeeze face..

1. They are busy disturbing ebony movies. That woman, Mo, movies are always crappy, chief daddy, 50,wedding party, crappy movies. She sure knows how to market her movies I give it to her. But no way I'm gonna waste my money go server movies in cinema again.

2. we buy condemned inverter battery 0814139511320 December 2018 at 09:54

Hmmmmm

3. No one else has complained because no one else is like Genevieve... How many of the other movies had their directors interviewed on CNN?

4. Anon 10.52 your queen done shit, oya come and pack it.

5. Annon 10:52 you got it right, no one is like genny the queen.

6. Genie need to get an humble pie and eat it. She has no brain and beauty and fame is not forever. There is always another good face around the corner Dearie

7. Heard it before. ebony movies seem to have exclusive rights to being shown at cinemas in december. Have you seen any other naija movie being shown at the same time when hers is showing

2. Stella you n your talk at times. What do you mean by no one has complained? Maybe no one has been bold enough to do that. Let's call a spade a spade!

3. Stella don’t be naive, what she said made perfect sense, and she’s not saying it directly so she is applying wisdom. And she is not the first person, remember when Rita Dominic complained about same thing?

Anyways I’m sure many of them are jealous of her Netflix deal and they want to show her ‘you think you can cut us out’

She’s made her money via Netflix and if they don’t allow the movie to show, better for Netflix, it will be one more reason for people who don’t have Netflix to try it out.

Genevieve has paid her dues in nollywood and should be able to do her thing without having to kiss asses and meet and beg these people.

1. I agree with you totally. They can go to hell for all I care

2. God bless you richly for saying this, they're mostly jealous because of the Netflix deal, but one thing is certain Netflix will crash on the 4th of January we're storming there to support our Queen!

3. I agree with you. They are certainly not happy for her achievement. Really bad.

4. its obvious they are jealous of her achievement. Really bad!

5. I am a Nollywood actor,trust me when i say that industry have the worst people ever,they don't like themselves, forget the fake IG love,they are very wicked and envious, i was always keeping to myself and they said i feel big but no i undertood the industry well and didn't get close to many of them,friendship ends on set that's if i want to be friendly,they are not happy for Genny,they frustrate people that produce movies independently,they hate success.

6. God bless you for this......they are just envious of her and its freaking annoying

7. Gbam! Baby girl has paid her f*king dues. Not everyone belives in ass-kissing (I DONT!!) And the moment we ditch that mentality in Nigeria, we can begin to move forward and harness real intellectual skills and talents. This thing is dominant in various sectors in Nigeria. When will it stop?

As far as I am concerned, they should be willing to cut a platonic deal with her too. Even if it means them getting a higher fraction from ticket sales for people whose movie production they arent involved in. That would make sense... not boycotting people and blacklisting movies. Very silly!!

8. They should be ashamed of themselves, promoting wack movies with wack actors and posting fake ‘highest grossing’ ra ra ra ra ra
      Genny is Queen, a very super duper classy Queen!
      We love her like that!
      And Stella you’re biased, if it’s Omoni now you will say positive things only. Please be a little bit more objective.
      Gennivieve is the face that made nollywood popular, she made people interested in our films, she fucking paid her dues! No slander of the Queen will be tolorated!
      Let those good at kissing ass and forming bestie up and down continue.
      Our Genny! We are solidly behind you! No shaking

9. I don’t care what anybody says, Genny is a lengend and should be accorded her due respect

10. That movie will crash sales record without a Nigerian premier but I know they will hide the records out of beef.
      All you nollywood noisemakers beefing Genny, una no reach ooooo
      Look at Then coming out from hiding to say she doesn’t support others, you want the Queen to fly everywhere with y’all cheap asses so that you people will find what to gossip about?
      You all are intimidated by her and are just jealous

11. Godfather ism and ass kissing is popularized in Nigeria by politicians and it has infected the national fabrics to a deadly level. Until we recognize and become brave enough to stamp heavily on it, it will kill Nigeria. Jenny is a beautiful Royal Eagle and such Eagles don't eat no frogs.

4. Hmmm! Stella, your words are what I need right now to deal with some situations.

5. No wonder the movie is not yet out in Nigerian cinemas till date.

6. Maybe she wants to eat alone. Bastards will not allow these to be.

She should have an agreement with them. Nothing goes for nothing. Egunje spoilt Nigeria

1. I tough Of it that she wanna Eat Alone, We all know Nigeria Behaviour... She Atually know what to Do...

2. You both are part of the problems we have in this country. I guess all the expenses incurred to shoot and produce that movie is unimportant???

3. Born alone, pay bills alone, Produce alone, eat alone, die alone. Abi?

4. Exactly . Sometimes too much sense is stupidity . Mbaise people always thinking they are the smartest. As a business woman, always learn to make smart decisions. If film one thinks they are not stake holders, then give them a stake and move on.

5. Leave MBAISE people out of your twisted DIATRIBE. Awful clump of feeble brain cells..Mentally weak MOFO

7. How can they say they don't have a stake in it, i smell jealousy

8. Stella this is why Africa is like this, and i am ashamed you that live in a developed country can talk like this. So because no one else has complained, it means it is not true or what? It takes only one person to talk before you see others coming out. Many girls complain of sex for marks but it took one girl, unattractive to set the record because she spoke out and presented herself. They might have been doing that but because we choose money in this part of the world than something that is RIGHT, they settle for it. And why will anyone come out when they have gone for the agreement just like you?
    She has every right to be upset, look at of Nigerians are? Very useless country with untitled and unwise people. This movie has made a name internationally even Arabs in Morocco has accepted it on their screens but Nigeria your very own, a very useless country. Everything in this country is about MONEY, no value at all. We are sinking deeper and no one is ready to tell us we are CRAZY and DYING! If this news is true, SHAME on NIGERIA and SHAME on ANYONE supporting or thinking it's right or should compromise.

1. ✋✋✋✋✋✋✋✋✋✋✋✋✋✋✋✋

2. I cover my face in shame for my country

3. Na your fault say u tink say stella get sense

4. Omg i love this poster...

5. Poster your mama born you well i swear

6. Nigeria uselessness even de embassy abroad. Imagine you cant pay online or at the embassy to renew passport. They tell you to pay through an agent. Agent will charge you and also give them their cut. What a shithole.

7. Shithole, what a shithole country. You complain about anything and the next person is ready to pay bribe...shitters

8. Thank you so much anonymous 08.53. Stella i just weak for your comment. So how many people will now have a stake in the movie, from the first scriptwriter that ever got involved to the last cinema that will show it? Evil people everywhere!

9. Don't I just love you? The level of hypocrisy and pull him/her down syndrome here is too much abeg. All this give to ceasar things makes people do what they ordinarily wouldn't do, just to belong or get ahead. Haba. Like I said down there ๐Ÿ‘‡ (that is if the comment gets posted), I've been through something similar at work, and oh, even my place of worship. Sycophants everywhere. Can't wait to leave their country for them. I know the grass isn't greener everywhere tho, but naija's own too much abeg.

10. Barman!!
      A bottle of champagne for this poster please ๐Ÿ™Œ

11. Better pikin ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜˜

9. Genevieve that doesn't support any of her colleagues is also talking of support, mtsheeeeew ๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ˜Ž

1. Gbam! Have ever seen her in any movie premier supporting her colleagues with her presence? Live by the golden rule Genny. People like her are quick to say Hollywood is not supportive whereas they are the u supportive ones.

2. Seriously, this was what I said the moment I saw this post.
      Genevieve doesn't support others and want them to support her.
      Hmmmmmmm

3. All in the name of forming 'class' you don't support others and want to be supported?

4. GBAMMEST! i wanted to post this comment then i saw your comment and decided to reply here. Genevieve doesn't support or promote other people's work. this isn't even matter of people being envious of her. the truth is she would rather famz international stars than celebrate her fellow Nollywoodians. she feels too big to be associated with them or attend their events unless she's being nominated for an award. Is she the oldest Nollywoodian? abeg she should pack well! i love her but this call out is totally unnecessary. Maybe she thought marketers will be running after her because she's "Almighty Genevieve". Let her continue to Screen her movies in the abroad o cause i no sure say people go turn up for her when she decides to screen it in Nigeria.

5. Are you in nollywood? Otherwise shout up

6. Anon.10:18,'shout up? Bia, lady bug and co you need to be audible, people like this anon. Can't hear you properly.
      Shout up!!!

7. She doesn’t support their movies just because she doesn’t put it on her page, so fucking what, she’s not begging them to put it on their page, but to create an avenue for her to show her fans her movie. Which has been provided for her fellow actors. She’s not asking for money, all they want is bribe and you all are in support of bribery? This country can never go forward with people like you

8. @Push up ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿ˜˜
      No be only support, mtscheeeew. As if the ones that show the so-called support actually mean it. Na dem go still dey back bite themselves. Hypocrites.

9. Fake ass support that they now go and insult themselves behind. No be wetin cause fight between famous 4??
      "Is the movie good?" Thats the question we should ask.

10. Annon 11:56 you are brave...leave these hypocrites. God don bless person una de here de talk nonsense. Better go and ask how shes made her link and career. Haters gon hate

11. Will you shut up! Was she invited to the premier? Or she should start forming bestie with actresses like Omoni and co?! She went when her friend Oluchi launched her lingerie line....that’s her friend! I don’t go because I heard my colleagues are having an event if I’m not invited, and if I’m invited, I decide if I want to go, it’s my choice!
      All my friends doesn’t have to come from work.
      Please stop all this nonsense of calling someone out for deciding to live quiet and make friends outside of work.
      And by the way she didn’t beg anybody to come for premier, she doesn’t need it, movie is already sold to Netflix.
      And for your info, what she’s saying up there will benefit everyone, nobody has had the guts to say it so let’s argue the point and leave our jealousy alone.
      All you deadbeat jealous actors runing your mouth here shoult shut the fuck up and keep kissing ass and producing your lame movies and begging people up and Down to attend.
      No slander of Genny will be tolerated bitches!
      Long live the Queen! You all can go and die from your jealousy.

stop hiding under anonymous to spill bile

12. Anon 14.59 is just here ranting under every comment. Are you in love with Genevieve or are you Genevieve herself?

10. Stellz these cinema owners have ruined so many filmmakers, have you wondered why so many good nollywood movies don't stay long in the cinemas? And you don't get to hear about their box office returns? Well this is part of the reason, once you're not letting them have a stake in your movie they'd do anything to ruin it for you and frustrate all your efforts ,Of recent Kene Mkparu was sacked you need to hear how so many independent filmmakers were very excited because they know what they've been through in the hands of these so called distributors. Have you wondered why the wedding party 2 despite how wack and boring it was stayed pretty long in the cinemas? That's because it's their collective effort so they'd do anything to see it success even if it means falsifying the box office returns. That being said, I was really heartbroken when I saw this news yesterday because they're trying to monopolize the gains in the industry. Well since silverbird will be showing it, then no wahala just that the returns might not be as expected. Genevieve Nnaji take it from me ,you're the most loved actress to ever emerge out of Nollywood and we your loyal fans will stick with you through it all.

1. It says up there that silverbird has also backed out.
      One of the most acclaimed movie this year especially with the nice reviews it got from Hollywood is been treated like this? Must they have a stake to showcase it in the cinemas? It's business and everyone wins from ticket sales so what is it?
      I'll definitely watch it on Netflix but then how many Nigerians have Netflix?

2. @last sentence.
      Speak for yourself dude!
      Who are d 'we'?
      I personally am indifferent about her.
      If u don't go all out for people, you shouldn't expect the same treatment.

3. Whatever the case the film will go far. Poster you are the realest. I love genny...such grace and class

4. Thank you, do I know what those ones are saying up there, so she should be punished cus she made herself classy, even if you don’t like her the truth remains the truth.

5. Janty that your last sentence please speak for yourself. You and not we.

6. The truth remains the truth jare...funny enough these ones will be the first to rush watch the film oo...

11. Stellz these cinema owners have ruined so many filmmakers, have you wondered why so many good nollywood movies don't stay long in the cinemas? And you don't get to hear about their box office returns? Well this is part of the reason, once you're not letting them have a stake in your movie they'd do anything to ruin it for you and frustrate all your efforts ,Of recent Kene Mkparu was sacked you need to hear how so many independent filmmakers were very excited because they know what they've been through in the hands of these so called distributors. Have you wondered why the wedding party 2 despite how wack and boring it was stayed pretty long in the cinemas? That's because it's their collective effort so they'd do anything to see it success even if it means falsifying the box office returns. That being said, I was really heartbroken when I saw this news yesterday because they're trying to monopolize the gains in the industry. Well since silverbird will be showing it, then no wahala just that the returns might not be as expected. Genevieve Nnaji take it from me ,you're the most loved actress to ever emerge out of Nollywood and we your loyal fans will stick with you through it all.

1. I swear I love that girl so much ehn! Anything against her Dey pepper me! I love those who love her and hate those who beef her...lol
      And this love started in secondary school till now!

12. Sense will not leave you Stella. Sometimes it's just best to give these people what they want so you can have your way, provided it is not illegal. Most businesses are doing well in the public eye because behind closed doors, those that run stuff have been settled. It's everywhere.

1. Smh. Your own definition of 'sense' is worrisome.

13. Stella your comment is vert biased and doesnt make sense to call her out too in the name of advice ... you could have sent a message instead.. and by the way. If they're monopolising the market,we dont want... how will producers survive?

14. Stella your comment is vert biased and doesnt make sense to call her out too in the name of advice ... you could have sent a message instead.. and by the way. If they're monopolising the market,we dont want... how will producers survive?

15. Now I understand why most movies don't stay long in the cinemas.
    I actually think it's a win win situation, if your movie is shown in the cinema come to watch it then you the movie owner should have a share in the ticket sales while the cinema owners will also have a share in the ticket sales.
    Unless Genny isn't comfortable with the sharing formular.

16. There is more to it than the eyes can read.

1. Yeah, I smell rotting fish...

17. hope they film won't be bought in traffice

18. A lot of pride from both sides.

19. Does she support her colleagues?abeggii

20. If this means that Genny doesn't want to share the tickets money then well, She'll be frustrated. But what do I know.

21. Shes not asking for ‘support’ or crumbs. Or reposts. Or media coverage. They are past that now.
    What exactly do they need from her before it shows in Naija cinemas? You people go and continue watching your Chief Daddy then.
    It be that Netflix deal.

1. Thank you o, because some people are illiterates, she doesn’t care about reposts, all she wants is for them to be fair. I don taya for Nigeria, aren’t they ashamed, a movie that is recognized all over. They are to quick to forget that a win for one is a win for all, genny isn’t the only actress in that movie, she’s showcasing other talented people who can be picked up to star in Hollywood movies but this mumu country cannot think outside the box

2. Push up dear. Let them go and watch Chief papa. Thats what they deserve๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

3. This push up your sense too much...oya collect kiss muah

22. No wahala. This is another opportunity to diversify her business interests. Shey Netflix pays mega bucks for movies? If I were her, I'd go into building/owning cinemas, starting with one in Lagos and then adding in other states as time/ money comes in. Then she can show her future films there and even that of other film makers, it's a win win and business after all.

23. SDK's comment at the end makes perfect sense. Life is all about negotiating and navigating. Calling people out isn't always a strategic move!

24. We like to celebrate mediocrity in Nigeria. The most annoying thing is crappy and wack movies like wedding party,50,make it to the cinemas.Must Genevieve bribe them before her movie can be shown in the cinemas. Bribery and corruption is wot is killing us in Nigeria. I like Genevieve, she is not like all these small girls, big God actresses. Beside s must she attend movie premiere before she show support to fellow actresses. If they don't cast her in their movies y should she go to their movie premiere

1. Genevieve is the original small girl big god inventer. Girls of today are learners.

2. Forget that thing, Genevieve is/was into serious runs. How do you think she affords her lifestyle, she didn't even act for a long time at a point. I just like the fact she is coded and classy about it.

3. So much sense in this write up

25. We celebrate mediocrity. Must she bribe dem before her movies can be shown in the cinemas. I respect her,she's not like all this small girls big God actresses. Crappy and ridiculous movies like wedding party 2,50 make it to the cinemas.

26. if you haven't watched chief daddy movie don't bother going to the cinema that movie is the worst movie of the year.

1. Thanks for the honest review. Won't be wasting my money.

27. FilmOne useless company. Anyway Netflix paid her mega money so I wonder why she's disturbed.
    Just that I'll love to see the mover.
    Movie celebrated internationally is been blackmailed by us?
    No wonder Mo Abudu's sack movies are making waves like that over rated Chief Daddy movie.

1. They know people will see the movie and they annoyed they don’t have a stake in it

28. They're only making her to make more money moves. With this challenge she can consider opening her own cinema and be a film distributor as well.

29. Film one has turned into a cabal.
    Frustrating indie producers and monopolizing the industry.
    They have done this to do many people who can't call them out for fear of being blackballed

30. Cinema houses and movie production companies are in business alliance all over the world. There is a sharing formula. Genevieve should go back to the drawing table and make deals happen. They are not against her. It is all about business.

31. Cartel film one, the actors are too broke to complain to avoid being blacklisted.
    All the ITK people saying she needs to give them a cut, I’m 100% she’s willing to give them their due but they want more cos they did not co-produce or co-own the movie and they know it will sell very well more than the crap they are currently hyping.
    By the way Mo abudu should hire real talent and get a good script since she has money.
    Doing all this lame hyped productions like 50 and co and hyping them over the top doesn’t make them less a crap...I was so angry with myself for paying 1500 to watch fifty that year. It’s been years but I’m still pissed.
    Class won’t save crap Mo, please try and look away from your crowd and source real talent

32. Nigeria likes crap! Hypes crap! Mediocrity in the highest order, at least Genny tried and did something good enough to pass Netflix screening and they bought it straight up, if we want to be watching witches of Lagos, Lagos fake life, Oga daddy and other noisy stuff going on...let’s keep going in circles

33. Humility pays ooo. Even if you are recognized abroad, you must be African back home. People will fight and speak for you if you are humble. This is not about bribery or compromise. You must give honour to whom honor is due. These people believed in you enough when you were in your 20s to give you multiple roles until you blew up. Charity begins at home. Go with some people and appease your people. Social media will not force charity to begin at home. Why does Rita and co not have same problem. If you want grown men you've never even met to fight for you Genevieve, honor your roots , be humble and apologise where you need to. As our people say, someone who has people in real life not commentators on instagram, people in real life fighting to make sure you are kept relevant, has more than someone with just so much wealth and no real friends in the real sense of the word.
    Stella, no be so?

1. Local sense! She doesn’t have real friends you say...I think the opposite is the case, she has real friends who follow her everywhere and she follows and supports them everywhere, they are not just actresses.
      Humility you say? African backwardness is worrying you! When did filmone come into the scene? Genevieve made her breakthrough in Enugu and Lagos scene before filmone even opened their first cinema in Nigeria. They should be the one respecting our legend.
      And no! We the fans decide who remains relevant not some faceless money bag, she hasn’t been acting much but go on her page and see, we love her and she’s forever queen.
      Rita Dominic complained a while back and then backed down, it’s intomidation.
      Good product should sell itself without having to kiss ass. That’s why we are backward cos we want to give programming job to someone that read Yoruba language cos they are our brother or friend.
      Please let’s learn to promote quality and substance, credibility of connection.
      Genny is made and Netflix will show us the movie coming January 4th .
      Film one is only afraid that a movie they didn’t partner to make will outsell the rubbish they have showing now and they don’t want competition. They think they are doing her? They are doing themselves! Cos more people are going to subscribe to Netflix just for lionheart

2. Genevieve is a queen, a legend, made by Netflix, a dis and dat!!!
      Why then are you all over this section that has not even reached 100 comments.

3. I’m a fan and I’ll be here till you stop hating and spewing bile...timid mofo

34. Film one said they won’t show lionheart cos there are other no slots right now due to other nollywood movies showing.
    The ‘other’ nollywood movies are the one film one is either executive producer or partnered with producer to make.
    The summary is that filmone is afraid of lionheart showing alongside the other movies because they know without much noise, lionheart will sell out before any of the ones they are trying to push people to, and with lionheart, the only money they make is their basic cut, they don’t part-own the movie so they won’t have a share of it unlike the others which they co-own and share in everything it makes.
    Good for filmone cos nobody likes competition, but bad for growth of nollywood cos we want to grow and good films should be allowed to show irrespective of cinema involvement.
    Other actors enjoying this should know that monopoly is not good for growth, it’s Genevieve today, tomorrow it might be you.
    Those saying she doesn’t support others, you mean she doesn’t support Instagram nollywood noisemakers? She doesn’t support yet she brought, Pete Edochie, Nkem Owo and all the legends and made a movie that Netflix bought straight up.
    She was their when Oluchi laughed her stuff and she supports her actual real life friends not movie friends cos friends must not be people in the movie.
    She didn’t ask anybody to support her or come for premier, no! Premiere has been done and dusted and you all were watching online with us but pretending your not jealous.
    January it goes on Netflix...we are waiting and we will crash Netflix that day! Go Genny! Keep making boss moves and shutting up the rumors and haters.

35. My own is how do I get on Netflix please?

1. Just go on Netflix.com and create account, first month is free

36. Not fair to falsely accuse someone without facts. Gene constantly put up heaven on my mind on her IG story and even wished Uche and Ini goodluck on premier day. She is supportive of her colleagues even though her best friends are not people in Nollywood. Babe is on her lane and has never had issues with nobody. Of course they are afraid of her. Well, thank God I have Netflix. Will go and support here there.

1. Thank you! Don’t mind the jealous timid folks.

My Netflix is ready

37. Go Queen ๐Ÿ‘ Gennie๐Ÿ‘‘! ๐Ÿ‘™