Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Fake Catholic Priest Unmasked After 18 Years

Tuesday, December 25, 2018

Fake Catholic Priest Unmasked After 18 Years

A Colombian man who pretended to be a Roman Catholic priest for 18 years hearing confessions and celebrating weddings, was exposed on Christmas eve....

Marriages and baptisms carried out by Miguel Angel Ibarra remain valid but confessions are not even though the "grace of God acted" on the faithful who were deceived, the spokesman for the diocese of Cadiz and Ceuta told AFP.

Ibarra moved to Spain from Colombia in October 2017 and had been in charge of the church in the village of Medina Sidonia, which is home to some 11,000 people, in the southern region of Andalusia.

He had pretended to be a priest for the past 18 years, she added.

Colombian church officials informed the diocese on Dec 13 that it had received a complaint that Ibarra had forged his ordination documents and that after carrying out a "thorough investigation" they had concluded that he had never been ordained, the Spanish diocese said in a statement.

He was ordered to go back to his archdiocese of origin in Colombia, Santa Fe de Antioquia, it added.

The diocese of Cadiz and Ceuta said it regretted that "events like this could overshadow the work of parishioners and ordained priests, who serve the Church every day in an exemplary way".

Like in other increasingly secular European countries, Spain is finding it difficult to attract new recruits to the priesthood in recent years and has had to resort to importing priests, often from its former colonies in Latin America.
The straits

*I still dont understand all this confession thing and why its taken so seriously...I mean i can confess to God directly!
And then every other thing the fake priest did remains valid but not confession?if he is a fake priest then all the Marriages he conducted are not valid too!!!

9 comments:

1. Jesus Christ is the way, the truth and life. No one goes to the father except through Him.

In the Old Testament God said I will give you a prophet after my heart. Who tells you my thoughts towards you. So we need a priest, pastors that God anointed.

So the priest is ordained to receive confession and intervenes for God forgiveness

2. James 5: (NIV)
    16 Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

3. Well Stella,while I agree that we can talk to our God and confess our sins ourselves so why the confession stuff but we cannot know better than the Catholics and YES I attend an Orthodox Church and am typing from one at the moment.
    But saying marriages he conducted are not valid is not well accepted by me because even the ordained ones are not saint our GOS and pastors are not saints too why should their own conducted marriage be valid and not this man’s own afterall no one is a saint.

1. He had no authority to join pple in marriage, doing what he had no power to do that means he did nothing,I think the marriages conducted are null and void

2. The ministers of the Sacrament of Matrimony(Marriage) are the couples themselves by the exchange of their consent before the people of God. The Priest is there because he is delegated by the Church (Legally, not sacramentally), to receive their consents and to give the Matrimonial blessing on behalf of the Church. In the absence of a priest or Deacon, the Church can delegate a trusted Laymen to receive that consent on her behalf, but this rarely happens. As for the Issue of Confession, it is easy for many of you to quote bible and forget Jn 20:22-23. Jesus gave his Apostles (not disciples) the power to forgive. The priests and bishops of today are a result of direct succession and ordination to the Apostles. You can trace it all back to them. The facts are there just like the family tree. So, yes, priests are delegated to absolve and release people from censures.
      As for making a public Confession, it was once in practice and people did public penances, even for the rest of their lives. Now we have it easy (doing it in private) people are still complaining. Feel free to ask your priest to clarify these doubts you have.
      I am a Catholic Priest, by the way. You can ask me.

4. I am not a Catholic. But the way I see it, the marriages were backed by legal documents. If it were in Nigeria for instance, provided the marriage was registered with the marriage registry and they were issued certificates, it wouldn't matter who joined them. It's not the person here that matters, it's the law under which authority the person acted. But absolving one of their sins is a spiritual gift that needs the anointing and grace of God. Same reason most people go to pastors for special prayers, cos they feel pastors are empowered with special anointing and grace. So while one requires being backed by the law, the other requires being backed by the anointing and grace of God to function in that capacity. Hope I never yan opata here..😁

5. Anything Catholic una no go rest we believe in confessions. If you don't then allow ppl who wants to..blogging rubbish attimes we don't need your 2cents atall.

6. Stella, I'm addressing this to you. Confession is a sacrament ordained by Christ. He gave the power of hearing confession and forgiving sin to his Apostles and that power remains with the ordained priest. See below: John 20:21-23
    21 Jesus said to them again, "Peace be with you. As the Father has sent me, even so I send you."
    22 And when he had said this, he breathed on them, and said to them, "Receive the Holy Spirit.
    23 If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven; if you retain the sins of any, they are retained."
    While anyone can confess directly to God it does not guarantee if one receives forgivess, that confessing to an ordained priest acting in the name of God guarantee forgiveness.
    The marriages the fake priest conducted are valid because the he only stands as a witness for the Church whereas the couple's wedding are the ministers oministers of the sacrament. In so far as the fulfill the conditions.
    Stella, I can direct more on getting understanding of the sacrament of Reconciliation often tagged confession. It is more than confessing your sins to God as most people think. I'm Catholic and I can explain it to you. Merry Christmas

7. Marriage is a contract between two parties. The priest is there just as a witness. The law is that it must be celebrated in a registered place of worship.