Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former Beauty Queen Ezinne Akudo Explains How She Sees Feminism

Monday, December 10, 2018

Former Beauty Queen Ezinne Akudo Explains How She Sees Feminism

A few days ago Annie Idibia,actress wife of Tuface says she is not a Feminist and women should be queens and not Kings...

Former Miss Nigeria Ezinne Akudo disagrees with Annie!!!

She says

For the record, each time you say you’re not a feminist, this is what you’re saying:

1. You do not believe that men and women should have equal access to rights and opportunities.
2. You support child marriage, female genital mutilation and the re-victimisation of rape victims.
3. You are comfortable with earning less than your male colleagues for doing the same work.
4. You believe boys should have better access to education because girls belong in the other room.
5. You are comfortable with being asked to choose between your work and pregnancy or being refused employment because you are pregnant.
6. You are sexist and a patron of patriarchy.
(E.t.c)

If anything above offends you, then I hate to be a bearer of bad news but you are a feminist. (At least until the word evolves to equalist, or humanist or something)

You might refuse to label yourself a feminist because you are scared of being disliked or perceived as angry or maybe you just don’t understand the movement at all but, FEMINISM is simply the belief that men and women should have equal access to rights and opportunities.

It is the freedom of choice, a choice to live and become whoever you choose to be! Marriage is such very tiny aspect of this entire conversation, but somehow, every time the subject of feminism comes up, that is all we seem to think about.

🀷🏾‍♀️ Plus just when we think we are moving forward, we wake up to debates about whether or not women should address themselves as kings or queens(personal choice really). We have far greater issues as evidenced by the inexhaustive list above, can we please refrain from arguing on this level?

Yes, yes we have our culture and we know that these ‘anti feminist’ beliefs are based on traditions but maybe it’s time to sit down and ask ourselves if these beliefs are still valid, given the evolution of civilisation.

But pray tell, What does feminism mean to you honestly?

73 comments:

1. Intelligent girl

1. Very intelligent girl.. I really dnt Understand what feminism mean before o, But Ehen with All her Explaination I now understand very very welll.. I AM a BIG TIME FEMINIST...

2. Ezinne, taa shut up there!! You can be a feminist and still participate in any competition that sexualizes women. You can be a feminist and still depend on a sugar daddy or any man for your “up keep”. Even the real feminist are lesbians, they don’t see men as shit!!!

3. @Anonymous 18:04, why the insults? She made a valid point on what feminism means, equal rights to opportunities, less violence against women. What has being in a beauty pageant got to do with equal rights? Last time I checked, men have pageants as well. Have you not seen men who depend on women for upkeep? Stay at home dads? Again nothing wrong with that just the thinking we promogate when we say feminism.
      Feminism = Equal rights
      During the suffragette movement , women fought to have rights for basic things like voting, owning property similar to what women in Saudi Arabia are fighting for today. The fight has moved a bit more in this time moving the pole to things that might be as simple as equal pay for doing the same work.....

2. If this is what feminist stands for, then I am a FEMINIST

1. No such thing as abuse of femal right, it’s all in women’s head, naturally women are greedy and want it all. This things people Call female rights is not as simple as it is. People just miss understood it. 1. Male and female should have equal right, yes that I believe,but that is not possible because physical strength will not allow that,hence the protection of not letting a woman do some kind of jobs. Like booking a woman on night dutie in the military or police.she may not have the power to do some physical jobs.
      2,it’s a crime on humanity, a rape case is a rape case. Child sex be it boy or gir is an abuse on humanity, go to Sudan and some war countries young boys are used as child soldiers. Who talks about it?
      3, pay is a subject to employers choice. Even in a private sector pay are not the same depending on your worth, make your worth known and you will be payed more. Most time women don’t earn the job they have, some sleep to it.
      4,that is not true. Now madam ask your self did you get equal education opportunity with your brothers? If you go to the east, parents believe that female should be educated while male should pick up a trade. Reverse is in the north. So this has nothing to do With been male or female. It’s just a plan of some ignorant parents.
      5,this cracked me up, I once met a lady that called her self a feminist and she raised this issue of job opportunity up and I asked her, if she has a business and a pregnant woman comes in to ask for a job, would she give her and she said no and I asked why, she unconsciously said because in her condition, she won’t have the capacity to put in her best and when She gives birth she will be out for six months, who will be doing her job and yet I will still be paying her. I don’t run a charity organization.
      6, no such thing as female operation. It’s what nature has given we should learn to manage it and not condemn it.women her naturally soft and should be treated as such, but jealousy won’t let some allow , when they see another woman getting more attention than they are getting from men, hence the bitterness put ideas in their heads.

3. To think that I was just this afternoon thinking about the fact that beautiful girls with brains are going into extinction. This gives me hope.. To me feminism means equality of all genders. Equal rights for all humans. What anybody chooses to address him or herself is their business not mine and I will call you what you choose to call yourself. We were taught feminist geography (a branch of geography) in school. Very interesting. There is nothing wrong with being a feminist.

4. You can paste it on your forehead if that will make u feel cool.

5. *running off to follow her on IG*
    Seriously, it irks me when women in particular insult feminists
    Lol, for men I can understand, the world favours them already, they dont wanna give up their power positions. But women taunting feminists? lol
    They think feminists are man and marriage hating females, but that could not be further from the truth
    Do you know how it feels to be passed over on things you deserve cos you are a woman?
    Do you know how many stupid women fervently go for prayers for God to change the sex of their babys to males after scan?
    Some women are not allowed to earn a living cos of marriage
    Some girls as young as 12 are being sold off to old men pay their family's debts
    Some cultures still do honour killing of their female relatives that have had sexual relations.
    Go to india and see how the girls are raped without justice and the women are beaten by their inlaws without repercussions.
    Feminism to me means the freedom to choose the kind of life I want to live
    It means being able to walk freely in the market without being groped or fondled
    It means being able to drive a car, or build a house without being tagged an ashewo
    It means being able to speak up in gatherings without being hushed cos I am a woman
    It means being able to go to a hotel alone without being turned back at the door cos I am a prostitute
    It means being able to go to the bar or club to have a drink without being harassed
    It means being given the freedom to decide if I want to have kids or get married without being shamed for my choices
    It means being able to do whatever I want but not able to do because I am a woman.

1. The list is endless.

A widow being subjected to drinking all sorts and being forced to shave her head after the death of her husbsnd.

In some places, a woman cannot inherit properties.

Health wise, a married woman should be able to make decisions concerning her health. Like the video of a pregnant lady that went viral at a time that jumped off a window, the labour pains were unbearable yet the wicked husband and useless inlaws refused to sign a consent form for csection? Very ridiculous.

So feminism is not abput fighting your husband or not respecting him, it is a healthy movement which everybody should be part of ( men inclusive).

2. I am officially your biggest fan. Yes am a feminist

3. Kudos to Akudo and Retired Say Queen for this mindset and intelligent breakdown of what feminism means, especially in the African cultural context. Nah small, small before the big revolution happens: that's if it isn't underway already. WINGS

4. Ooshe!!
      Biko help me load it.

5. *loud it πŸ˜€

6. My husband will tell you he is a proud feminist.. and I can truly attest. Married 12 years and truly happy. this man is born, bred and buttered in Naija so no be story.

I’m teaching my son and daughter to be conscious too. You can’t afford to grow up with your head in the sand; it won’t make the issues go away... and then when one issue finally affects you, you then want to cry foul

Feminism isn’t about men and marriage at all

7. THERE WILL BE NO REVOLUTION. DREAM BUT WAKE UP.

8. Useless feminist who are switching roles with men and thatst why there is so much moral decadence. Annie I totally support you.. leave all these confused goats.

9. Gbam!!!!!!!!

6. Thanks Ezinne Akudo for making this simple clarification anyone can understand. Even the common cultural torture African women face is enough for any woman to understand the cause but no, even women prefer to play 'the ostrich' out of fear and insecurity.

7. Naija girls' understanding of feminism:

Before marriage: fiance is king, "god", provider/ATM, electrifier through fork, my own, honey, sugar,

After marriage; oops wedding (money come scarce as them carry am do wedding):
    "beast", horseband, useless man, indomie man, wack dresser, anumanu

After pikins don show (from the "indomie man") and money never still show: sperm donor, he goat,that dog, wife beater, rapist . . .

8. Are you waiting for Anne to talk before you come up with your own. Abegi face front.. Everyone can't agree on same thing leave Anne alone. Talk your talk

1. She posted this on int'l Human Right day. check her IG she had already label herself a Feminist

2. I agree with you.. Every one can't agree on same thing

9. πŸ‘Aunty wey sabi not that olodo king ati queen somebody.

10. That's why it's funny when some women claim they are not feminists.

In times past, it would have been unheard of the common woman to have a voice, except royalty or the privileged few. For the fact that we can speak and be heard, thanks to feminists who have paved the way for us.
    For the fact that we can vote and be voted for, work and earn a living and not being relegated to house chores alone.Be educated and not confined to the kitchen only. Thanks to the great ones who have championed our cause,may we do our bits.

11. Everybody will be alright las las

12. I didn't read to the end due to time but this is my take. Everybody must not be a feminist so don't force it down our throats. All I want to be is a HUMAN BEING that is guided by love. I don't have to be feminist to know that everybody should be treated with equal respect, given equal opportunities etc. Live and let's live. When you perfect your role well as a woman, trust me, men, systems and organisations are afraid to lose you and they treat you well if not better. Why on earth Will I trade this much grace God has given me to become equal to a man? A man that was never enough until God formed a woman to help him?? I will never fight to be a king but I will guard my queenship with all jealousy with so much tact. I will wear my crown of queen and bring out my feminine power (The one that will make even the king lick the ground I walk on). Why Will i have so much and trade it for less?? Don't we all know even the king does the kings bidding?? If you know your place and role as a woman/queen, You will reign.

1. Queen's bidding**

2. And you are still arguing at that level we should have risen above.

Oh well...good for you.

3. You just described feminism. Sista, don't be afraid to call it by it's name, you hear?

4. Equal respect and equal opportunities for everybody as a human being is called what? You are calling yourself what you say you are not. Kpele.

5. Anonymous 16:15,it is 'feminism' not 'manism'. Think about it. Please read the article before commenting. It is not a good look to to be fossilized in one's thinking by not reading or listening to other views.

6. This one still using tact to be heard. it is well.

7. Kai!! Pls did you read what Ezinne wrote ? feminism has nothing to do with being called king or queen!!

13. I laugh when I hear women condemn feminism. Read chimamanda's two piece on feminism to understand what this feminism really is. ignorance is not good!

14. I read chimamanda's pieces and I felt peace and happiness. I will read it over and over again. I wish I can gift every female I know those two pieces. Stella, I will recommend that you read these books. I know that you are very open minded and would have a change of mind about feminism after you read.

15. I am not a feminist deal with it

Ps : i am a woman

1. That's okay too, baby girl. Actually, the movement only needs a critical mass of both men and women who are conscious and committed to the cause. Now, after the road has been paved, you and others like you, can come drive on that new "super highway". NMTA

2. πŸ˜€πŸ˜€πŸ˜€
      Abi oh
      Like it's said, 'Conservatives are people who are fighting to maintain what the revolutionaries fought for'. Issorite dear, hide your head in the sand like an ostrich, no wahala there. When the food don done, you can comman eat, hmm? 😊

3. Ejoor, move to Saudi Arabia. Let's see if you would have the freedom to air your views on this issue and others just as you are entitled to and did just now via your phone in Nigeria as the non-feminist woman that you are not 😊

4. I see people came to rant under my comment LmaoooπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Welcome y'all are triggered uh ??!!!

Move to Saudi Arabia, why ???? Lol i will wherever i am and influence my fellow sister to not be bullying feminists like y'all are.

Cheers Ladies πŸ˜‚πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜πŸ₯‚

5. I see people came to rant under my comment LmaoooπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Welcome y'all are triggered uh ??!!!

Move to Saudi Arabia, why ???? Lol i will stay wherever i am and influence my fellow sister to not be bullying feminists like y'all are.

Cheers Ladies πŸ˜‚πŸ˜˜πŸ˜˜πŸ₯‚

16. πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―πŸ’―

17. Every one has a different view of what FEMINISM is all about and if that is applicable so is our choices.From the write up, it doesn't look bad being a FEMINIST, but when you hear stuff like 'don't open the door for me cos I am not weak' weakens my body.

18. The real question is.. Are y'all down for EQUAL RESPONSIBILITIES though? Like, for real, see ehn, I get wetin Annie Yan, and I also get wetin ezinne Yan, and at the end of the day, everyone is entitled to their own beliefs. Periodt!

19. It's not hard to conceive why some women would not identify as feminists. In every prejudiced society, we have what we call the partakers and gatekeepers.They belong to the prejudiced but they choose to look the other way. It happened in the racism era in America. Some blacks would do anything to appear white. They, more than the whites scoffed at Black resistance against racial segregation and prejudice. That's the same way that we have women scoffing at the idea of feminism. They have accepted their status as subhumans and inferior beings. Let them carry their cross

1. Lol. What were they called again? The house niggahs. The ones who snitches on other slaves planning to run away. The ones who held down their fellow black man while he was whipped.
      We know their kind. They are sacred of being called feminists. I mean how do you want them to cope with paying bills?

2. Don't I just love you two? Was about to type the whole enemy within/house nigger thingy when I saw your comments. It's exactly what it is. Fear and low sense of self would have them preferring to be a slave on thier feet than a freeborn on their seats. Cowering about with their crab mentality of trying to pull back anyone who tries to break free. So sad.

20. Intelligent chick!
    In this age that we should even be more informed, their number keeps declining, SMH.
    Once one says that she's a feminist,the only thing they think is you are a man hater, frustrated, or wanna be single till you die. Isn't marriage our biggest headache here? πŸ˜€πŸ˜€
    As for me, I no longer argue with those that are ignorant of what feminism is. Just imagine, making a mockery of the brave women that fought for the things you presently enjoy. Make una continue oh. If you say as a woman you are not a feminist, please arrange your Kaya, move to Saudi Arabia and never return. Dasall.

21. Equal rights and equal responsibilities ©

1. Women are already carrying out responsibilities at the home front naa. How about you give them some accolade😐

2. Thank you remind them.

EQUAL RESPONSIBILITIES.

THEY WANT THE RIGHTS BUT NO RESPONSIBILITIES.

When it comes to bills, they remember they are women. Abegi

3. Sorry to inform you but a high number of women in Naija are the ones taking care of all the responsibilities while oga spends on his side chickens and other destructive vices. There are many women who single handedly feed, clothe and sponsor their siblings and other family members. Men like you are scared shitless of losing your status. I have news for you, Some of you are just glorified sperm donors

4. Anon 20:53 Sorry to inform you that majority of households in Nigeria are still being upheld by the money coming from men's pockets, majority of businesses "run" by your fav slayqueens/business owners lol come from men. Go figure darling !!!

Some/many of you are really just sex toys to men basically babymamas.

Bye Honey.

PS : i'm a woman 😘😘

22. Ezinne Akudo that has dated, fucked and is still dating married men. After you will come and say you are defending women's rights. The Hypocrisy.

Madam shut up cause if your life is a definition of Feminism then i rebuke your type. Women empowerment/women supporting women when you fucked YOUR FELLOW WOMAN husband is NOT FEMINISM.

OR EZINNE SHOULD CALL HIS/THEIR NAMES ?????

Feminist your left ass.

Stella post my comment pls. I know she is reading this.

Ezinne Greet OGA for me.

1. From your deep rooted hate filled comment; it's so easy to deduce you are in the *oga m si* women association.

Roll in your bitterness alone ma. Nobody forced you to marry a man you kneel down to serve food and take orders from like a house maid.

Enjoy the pit you entered with your clear eyes just to stay married and relevant in the eyes of your master (hubby) who sleeps with all the girls in your neighbourhood and still keeps you on your toes trying to please him with the repetition of chosen miserable wife in your head as an anthem of consolation for you.

Women with brains have moved on and are striving to get to a better height where they get awesome treatments as the human they are and not lesser treatments because they were born with a vagina.

So sorry you missed the ship when we sailed. Ezinne is not your problem. Your poor choice and low mental state and esteem is your problem. Deal with it hanty. Gooday!!!

Ps: we can still send a ship to pick you left behinds to help cure your bitterness small. You know we got us a large heart πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

#sillylot

2. When all else fails, Naija men are quick to call a free thinking independent woman and ashawo. Please go ahead and mention them now. The adulterous men that broke their vows what does that make them?

3. You hit the nail on the head. A girl who has dated and is still dating a man almost twice her age. Her fellow woman’s husband but has the nerve to still talk.
      Chimamanda I get but she I don’t. If you must come to the table do so with clean hands.
      Greet Oga ...N for us.

4. You are one of the mumu low self-esteem women we are talking about, you didn't blame a man that carry his tiny legs to the alter to make a vow he can't keep but you are here shouting cos she educate your empty πŸ’€ what feminism is all about, pls she didn't fuck herself, she didn't rape the man, she is not a married woman that has a marital vow to keep, she is a well endowed, classy beauty πŸ‘‘, just use ur wet body hug transformer simple,

5. So obvious who’s fighting back. Ezinne Akudo please stop responding, take what’s left of your dignity and focus on leaving the double life alone. You don’t need the men or their money except your husband who will find you one day. Your intelligence, hard work should do.
      If you must date Oga A and the others, then
      Stay humble and leave social media to leave you especially as ur hands are stained and you have a tag.

Yes men cheat and it should not be tolerated but abusing a mans wife is not necessary.

6. Haaa Ezinne please respond to Anon 00:42, they mentioned Oga A and you japaaaaaa!!! Feminist, hard-worker and intelligent Hahahahaha. I swear down 95% of people that preach feminism are 100% dependent on men. You wont appreciate the beauty of what God has made you (a queen), you want to drag Kingship. It is lack of women understanding their worth or value. Please greet Oga A for us.

7. Classy beauty? Nothing about someone always seeking for attention and showing off is classy., the likes of Genevieve can lecture her.
      Even Chimamanda doesn’t carry herself that way.
      Well endowed? Obvious you are a blind supporter as endowed doesn’t describe her. Stop typing what you don’t know.

23. Going to school is not really the altimate but really passing thru school & school does same to u , is paramount. EZINNE., u really were nurtured thoroughly thru school , & u have here, a new fan. Thank u for your brilliance.

24. Everyone saying the above definition given by Akudo is the definition of feminism should try and study extensively to understand that feminism in whatever context you find it is a movement by women who feel that our society should practice Egalitarianism. Although, most of those calling themselves feminist are really crossing the boundary. Egalitarianism is not war and enemity between opposite sex, but these feminist the same way APC sees PDP, which is very wrong and a total deviation from what they think they are fighting/clamoring for. Men are not fighting with you so you shouldn't see them as your rival. Know what you're looking/asking for and don't infuse tension,hatred and hostility in the society all in the name of feminism. Respect men as they will respect you too, you won't be a jerk and expect a man to worship you.
    I'm in support of Egalitarianism not Feminism.

1. Feminists are clamoring for respect from men. In their fight for equality, they have continued to see men as their rival not women. So, men is their problem technically.

25. Lol... πŸ˜‚ continue. May wisdom find you. Btw though, the above listed are some attributes of being a well raised, cultured human being. Feminism is not rooted on the above listed... Please educate yourselves... It is only a time bomb waiting to further actualize faithless, corrupted and misguided people (men and women alike). This is a trend just like homosexuality, bestiality and em likes. Just be a good human being with a functioning conscience and strive everyday to leave the world better than you met it.

A married woman or should I say a complete woman is talking and you are propagating someone's mistress's opinion because the Western world and media are in agreement or better put, the source of the latter's convictions... *in Same Patience's voice* I say COUNTINUE!

Person no dey tell old man say sun dey burn im bald head o... One luv

1. I wish it will be possible when people come out on social media to preach, that they will be monitored for a year or more to be sure that they really and truly practice what they preach.