Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Osinbajo And Peter Obi Take Part In 1st National Debate...

Saturday, December 15, 2018

Osinbajo And Peter Obi Take Part In 1st National Debate...

The first Nigeria’s first TV debate was held on Friday night among political party candidates ahead of the February 16 presidential election. 

And expectedly the feud was between Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and Dr Peter Obi, the vice-presidential candidate of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party.

The first argument arose when Obi derided Buhari administration’s anti-corruption efforts as tantamount to closing the shop and chasing the thieves. Osinbajo rebutted the analogy and asked Obi, whether anything will be left in the shop if criminals looted all the inventory. The two speakers also disagreed on whether Nigeria has improved its ambience to attract foreign investment. While Obi reeled out statistics about the volume of foreign investment in other economies, Osinbajo punctured by the fact that the countries Obi cited, such as South Africa and China have one thing in common: adequate infrastructure.

According to Osinbajo, the APC government is investing heavily in this area, in roads and rail transport. He also reminded the audience where Nigeria was in 2015 in the World Bank Ease of Doing Business, rising from 170th position in 2015 to 146th today.

Osinbajo blamed Nigeria’s infrastructural deficit from 1999 to 2015 on the Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP) administration, which governed Nigeria then and how the Buhari administration in three and half years, despite declining financial resources, has changed the narrative.

Analysts believe that the 2019 Vice Presidential Debate should have been a straight debate between Osinbajo and Obi, as the three other candidates did not offer much in terms of contribution.
Osinbajo and Obi were the stars of the night and as they spoke, they occasionally attracted jeers or cheers from the planted crowd in the audience at the Transcorp Hilton Hotel, in Abuja.

Vanguard

33 comments:

1. Chai, the debate sweet me dieeee.
    Waiting for comments

2. I hope it will be on YouTube. Make l watch for myself.

3. I followed it on twitter and it was great, somebody suggested that "osibanjo and obi should become President and vice President, insinuating they have no reason to be in opposing camp".

4. Obi came prepared!

Twitter was so interesting yesterday...
    #ifyouknowyouknow

5. I so enjoyed it ehnnn. Even though I was impressed with Peter Obis'outing, he kept dishing out statistics and deviating from the questions asked. Osibanjo did well too, though he kept taking us back to 16 years ago. The other woman on pink too was very articulate and sound. The rest I didn't really understand

1. Especially Mallam Galadima🤣

2. Sugarbabe u dey mind that mallam dat one is a clown nowwww

6. I dint watch it and I'm so vexed after seeing all the applauds to Obi.

7. I watched it live,it was such an interesting debate, even though I am going with peter Obi,I cannot deny the fact that Osibajo is an intelligent man. He is so so eloquent but I am tired of their administration.

8. The debate was lit.
    Peter Obi was the most confident amongst his fellow candidates.
    I give all the five candidates my accolades,its not easy to stand and answer unplanned questions knowing you're been watched by the whole world live.
    Let the best candidate win!

1. Peter Obi ke. Did we watch the same debate. The VP was the most confident and articulate and he was able to rebuke all peter obi’s Made up facts

2. The facts weren't made up.
      Peter obi did his research well, its only natural for VP to rebuke them.

Can't wait for presidential debate.
      Will PMB withstand the competitive debate??
      What will he intelligently say without poking inside his written speech??
      I gatz pay maximum attention to understand his English sha

3. I'll have to disagree with you on OBI doing is research. He gave fictitious figures. None were close to reality. If he can confidently dish out lies now at a debate. I wonder what lies ahead. Also, he never answered his questions

4. Please tell us the lies he reeled out. All these people from BMO sef

9. Obi nailed it.eager for presidential cos I know even if they read and write to daura he will still flop.

10. U cant shut down ur shop and be chasing criminals and expect a boom -- Peter obi.
    If the inventory in d shop is stolen, then u won't have a shop at all-- osibanjo
    Now I'm just waiting for the presidential debate.

11. I need to go watch the debate on youtube

12. It was interesting, two educated people with good grammar. I wish both of them were president n vice.. The other debaters were supporters club.

13. Nice debate. Watched late but I love Peter obi take on nigeria.

Old man VP was just parabulating. Always talking about pdp

14. Now let their principals show up for the presidential debate. We need to know their plans. It's Unfortunate that VPs in Nigeria are mere figureheads.
    I can't bet my whole savings that Buhari will not show up. Dullard

15. I checked most the data Obi gave us, there were mostly wrong..especially the 2 million vehicle statement. I wish for a Nigeria where technocrat will lead us not the other way. The prof should face the future and forget about the PDP 16 years misrule. That guy is very good though.

16. I was not impress at all. they were all giving wrong figures and facts.

1. As for the women, they should stop telling us i am a mother and wife. Being a mother and wife does not make you a good leader.

2. Yes oooo. The thing sef turn to ringtone. The other Alhaja on pink tried shaaaa

17. The presidential elections should be between two parties and not the myriad of political parties who haven't done their homework. Last night clearly butressed this. The others were mere distractions and arrow-heads.

18. Nigeria is a blessed nation with useless leaders

19. Someone said with the amount of stats Peter Obi rolled out, it won’t be out of place for Osinbajo to vote for Peter Obi come 2019

20. Peter obi came with facts and figures
    Prof osibanjo came to counter peter obi and take us back to 16yrs.
    Khadija Abdullahi was fighting with her tenses.
    Ganiyu Galadima came as a clown.
    Umma Getso came to agree with Osibanjo, make short sentences without saying any policy from her party