Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Singer Kelly Hansome Confirms He Has Relocated To The US And Says He Did Not Make Money From Music

Sunday, December 16, 2018

Singer Kelly Hansome Confirms He Has Relocated To The US And Says He Did Not Make Money From Music

Kelechi Orji, aka Kelly Hansome used to be one of the leading artistes in Nigeria. His songs,'Maga Don Pay' and 'Like Play' ruled the airwaves and it is believed that such popularity translated to wealth too.....

In a chat with Sunday Scoop, Kelly Hansome revealed he is yet to make money from music.

He stated, “I have never received royalties for Maga don Pay and all those songs that brought me to the limelight. Anyway, I am not looking forward to getting it because it doesn’t feed me. I am comfortable on my own; music has not really paid me. Have I signed an endorsement deal? Companies come to me but I don’t agree with their terms. You cannot use money to buy me because I am not desperate.

“I was hoping that the Copyright Society of Nigeria would do some calculation and pay artistes, but nothing has happened. We have a body but I have not heard from them in a while. I don’t even think of all that any longer.”

The singer also stated that he no longer lived in Nigeria, insisting that he was now involved in other things apart from music. He said, “I live in the United States of America; I only come to Nigeria when I have things to do. I have other things I do with my life now but I don’t like to reveal details. I have a family and I have a daughter to take care of.”

On collaborating with younger artistes such as Wizkid and Davido, he stated, 

“Collaborating with an artiste happens naturally. When you connect with an artiste, you make music together. I cannot just collaborate with an artiste because he has sang one popular song when he doesn’t know me and I don’t know him. I have principles that guide me. I have tasted fame; so, I am not looking for it again. I still do music but I do it differently.
From punch

24 comments:

1. Akuko ⛹️⛹️ Green card don land?

1. Thank God someone in the business finally said it. Those Instagram pictures are all FRONT aka fake it till you make it.Even the legendary MasterP Said it last week on Wendy Williams Shows last week that there is no more money in Music except when you tour. All those showing off on IG are just faking and FYI Those girls carrying designer this and that, are carrying Counterfeit. Stay on your lane, Folks

2. There has never been money in the entertainment industry and that is a fact. The money comes from shows and endorsements only. All these IG shows off are all fake. If you know, you know.

3. @The money comes from shows and endorsements only.

You forgot royalties. Probably pays more than the two you mentioned.

2. We have heard...when you were beefing MI abaga you did not know it would not favour you in the long run because his reply “BEEF” ended you tbh😔

3. That your big poultry around my side no be music money you take buy that land..

1. Oh lawd!!!🤣🤣🤣🤣

4. Noise maker. We want action and not noise.

5. Wow even after the Maga don pay song

6. He made his money through yahoo yahoo and he is still involved in it

1. Lie. He made his money through illuminati (blood money)
      2 days ago he used his younger bro to wash altar.
      Sacrifice!!!!

2. Illuminati is different from blood money. But i get your point - he made his money through a secret cult which gave him blood money (I believe that is what you meant to say.) Who dash Nigerians Illuminati? That is an exclusive club.

7. What did you expect? only you beef the whole mo hit crew, beef M.I join and you nor blow....

8. What happened to your pure abi bottle water business?