Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Tales Of A Libyan Returnee.....Part One

Friday, December 28, 2018

Tales Of A Libyan Returnee.....Part One

This story is as told by a female Libyan returnee who is a BV......If you are thinking of going to Libya,please read her column until it ends..

This is the debut and will be updated with new posts as often as she sends in....

Sit tight and enjoy!!!!

She says.....

''I want to share my story because Psychologists are expensive and my rebirth won't be possible without offloading my ordeals. For now, I will remain anonymous because of people who play Judge with other peoples stories......

My Libyan Journey through the Sahara desert started on 17th of April, 2015. It was a bright morning as our bus took off from Mile 12 in Lagos to
Kano, I was in company of 2 other girls and a male burga who guided us through the Journey.....

The journey was smooth as the bus was filled with other travellers heading to either Europe or Libya, we chatted about Nigerian economy and how it was difficult to survive as youths.

We arrived Kano the following day. We freshened up, had our breakfast and prepared for the next phase of the deadliest trip ever. 

Our next Journey was from Kano to Zindel, and we waited approximately 8hours before the damaged 14 sitter bus that was to convene over 30 passengers arrived. At about 10pm, we were squeezed into the bus and it was difficult to move an inch talk more of sleeping, we journeyed through the night with fear and prayers until we got to Zindel, It was overwhelming for us and most people started having second thoughts, We met more people in Zindel so we decided to push forward, We slept in an uncompleted building for 2 days, fed on spaghetti and garri but that was nothing because of the bright future that awaited us....or so we thought!

On the day we were to move from Zindel to Agadez, we were all ready and anticipating for the arrival of our bus, around noon, bikers rode in and we were asked to climb the bike, A lady asked where we were going and the response was that the bike will take us across the border, I was like did you just say bike? The response was, Yes! Bike.

The Journey on the bike was very horrifying and adventurous, I was lucky to sit between the rider and a fellow Traveller and it took us more than 2 hours of falling, avoiding check points and screaming until we got to Agadez. 

Agadez was the place we met our connection man, he was in charge of our trip to Libya, we quickly settled down and arranged for food and luckily the
man offered us Semovita and Soup.....

The following day saw us waking up in the camp, We met lots of travellers there looking tattered and hungry, we got to know their connection man was demanding extra cash and they Were either hustling or controlling more cash from Nigeria, we were happy because all our fees were cleared by our 'Sponsors' in Libya...

We spent 3 more days in camp chatting, praying and looking unto the future Libya had for us.
On the day of our Journey from Agadez, we were rudely woken up, our connection man kept shouting that we should board the Hilux and move. Hilux? I questioned, the male burger answered Yes; that's the only car that can travel across the desert, we the ladies were the first to board, totally squeezed
and hard to move, followed by the men who sat on the edge and held unto sticks that were tied to the vehicle. We immediately reached out for our bags to be given to us but breaking news, All big bags would stay in Agadez and only people with small bags are lucky to have their bags thrown at them.

A fellow traveller asked, What happen to our food? How do we feed on the road? The answer was heart breaking.......''

46 comments:

1. Damn! Can’t wait for part 2! The writer has good writing skills... she should do more writing that pays.

2. I have a former co worker in Libya right now and she told me she passed through this same route. She said she came in last year and working as a maid for a family. She said it is not as people say it is. She says the thing is if you come in and promised to pay up but you run or fuck up then you see yourself in hot soup. She said she is working now so she can save enough to cross her to Europe come 2019. As we were chatting I was scared and shocked because I never believed this girl could go through such to leave the country. She is a single mom of a 7yrs old girl.

1. It works out for 5% but what happens to the 95% ? How do you know where ur fate lies? Shes just damn lucky!

2. Can you trust that she is telling you the honest truth? Won't the man of the house, his family and friends have free access to her body. The way north Africans treat blacks I don't trust any feel good stories to be true. People say whatever to keep face and maintain their dignity.

1. If that bus shows up now won't you board?

2. Board to where?
      You think we're all suffering in this country abi

3. Board what
      You think is everyone that is abroad freak

4. Isn't this anon 18:21 just plain stupid???? Why do you have this poverty mentality? You think everyone is like you? I can see you're really desperate to travel. Oya go and board na and kill yourself. Idiot fellow

5. Anon 13:21, ewe!!!! Mkpi!!!!

6. @Modella
      common, just a question and you are already killing; are you really a murderer?
      Do you know who wrote that or where she lives?
      Why not just say, I won't board etc.?
      Must you use kill and all those curse words to address issues?
      Please ma'm look into your character and turn a new leaf.

7. You this modella. You funny o

4. If you put a bus on that same mile 12 in Lagos and say it is Libya/Europe, more than half of the female blog visitors here will still board.

5. Kia I can imagine the stress ehh

6. Thank you nwanyioma for giving her this opportunity.
    Dear poster, thank you for choosing to share ur experience. I hope u heal

7. Will be back to read. Just want to say you have a large heart Stella. So kind of you to still do this segment in spite of your misgivings. Poster I trust you won't disappoint...

8. Woow
    Sis pls send others ASAP
    Thank God you are able to make it out alive.

9. The hustle is real mehn.😲😲

10. There is nothing wrong in going in search of greener pastures. But doing it illegally is wrong and dangerous, especially for women. A word is enough for the wise.

1. Na women i pity pass, since your brain couldnt tell you its a bad idea, your pussy will suffer the pain.

2. I concur..if only they will listen.

11. A wise Kenyan said "Life is a journey, but we should pick our paths carefully"... he was right.

12. No suspense Please o, this is Wow.

1. If you dont want suspense then take your own journey to Libya and make ur own story.

13. Good luck to those that will still go. No need giving advice.

Na to say eayah and it is well

1. If someone comes from Libya, even Sudan and says that there is an oil job offer and you will be earning seven figures in dollars, won't you quickly board?
      A lot of the women in Nigeria think same way; the greed factor is the greatest undoing.

14. I have watched the documentary on YouTube before....it’s very serious!! I don’t know why people go through all that as life isn’t greener on the other side.

1. Its Greener oh, not as green as people assume sha, but greener than our Green white Green ... but the journey isnt worth it.

2. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

15. Thanks Stella for this new one. I can only imagine what the poster must have passed through.

16. This suspense is not good oo. Abeg do it once.

17. The quest for greener pastures has killed so many people.

18. Death and destruction is coming in part two. I wish the writer had provided some back story about her life in Nigeria and why she decided taking this journey was the only option she had. Did she know of the warnings about Libya before going? How did she find the dealer, did they come to her or did she seek them out?

19. Will it stop others from crossing the deadly deserts to Europe via LibyaπŸ™πŸ™πŸ™nope 🀷🀷🀷

20. Nigerian's are very stubborn oo,I have a keke napep friend who stays just the junction to my office, for months I have not seen him so I asked only to be told he left for Italy through libya, in the midst of this slavery stuff,he left behind 3kids and his wife. Not that he has a skill or educated,to do what abroad?. But was told after 5 months that he's now in Italy. Na wa oo I was really scared for him,what a risk.

1. They told u that he is in Italy doesn't mean he made it to Italy. That's the lies they feed people to entice others. The guy may be a slave somewhere as you type. When he comes back, he will be the only one to tell his stories.

2. I pray he makes it back home for the sake of his kids

3. My cousin went o. Through Libya. He's in Spain or Italy now. See him in pictures on facebook

21. Wow .what a horrific story.going to part 2