Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Govt Announces Plan To Increase VAT In 2019

Thursday, January 24, 2019

Nigerian Govt Announces Plan To Increase VAT In 2019

The Federal Government on Wednesday announced that Value Added Tax (VAT) will increase in 2019....

Minister of Finance, Mrs Zainab Ahmed, at the unveiling of government’s Strategic Revenue Growth Initiatives in Abuja, said the initiative was to boost accruals into government’s coffers and to sustain revenue generation in all sectors.

She said: “We are studying a possibility of a VAT increase but you also know that the increase of VAT requires an amendment of a law. It is most likely the VAT increase will be selective. It will be on special items so it won’t be across the board.

“There would be a VAT increase during the course of 2019, we will announce later the items and what the rate would be. We would have to take a request to the National Assembly for amendment before it takes effect.

From Daily Post

*I dont think Increasing VAT at this point in time is a good idea at all

18 comments:

1. Abeg the one you people have been vating, what have you been doing with it, if not for living a flamboyant lifestyle ๐Ÿคจ๐Ÿ˜

1. Stella, when you our posts stating that our President, APC and the current leadership is completely clueless, you would be thinking that we are insulting our elders, this is the reality we find ourselves. As a 2:1 graduate from Economics & Statistics, UNIBEN, when I see statements like this I get really afraid for Nigerians. Enough said ;
      For Jobs, better standard of living, robust economy , factories , industries, better funding in education, optimum funding in agriculture, real infrastructural development , value for human life, zero tolerance to killings by boko haram and herdsmen etc VOTE ; Atiku/Obi2019;,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019;Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019; Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019; Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019; Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019; Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019; Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019Atiku/Obi2019; Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019; Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019; Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019,Atiku/Obi2019

2. What a country!!!!
    Why increasing VAT now, a very bad idea

3. They should kuku kill us. We pay VAT to fund tge stupid lifestyle of these politicians

4. Just imagine, they are stealing our money and increasing VAT. Thieves

5. And they say jubril is working..I weep for Nigeria...

1. So u think atiku will work...keep dreaming

6. Thieves...other VAT, what did they do with them?

7. Useless people instead of them to Face Boko-haram.. Is to Increase VAT..

8. Why increase VAT when the country is in its lowest stage. @Blessed Princess

1. Because they want to squeeze the last drop of blood out of you before you keel over.

9. May as many as will sit down to agree to increase VAT, fuel pump price and electricity tariff without first making sure that the system works for the good of the Nigerian citizenry just face God's wrath. Na wetin! Never any thoughts on how to make life easier but how to tighten the noose. Are they aware that there are countries where citizens do not pay tax including foreigners who go there to work? Wicked souls!

10. And it keeps getting worse, Father Lord save your children แป!

11. what did you all do with the vat that was increased the last time? did it have any effect on the common man?

12. I knew that this cabals are demons. They are about to increase salary now, so they intend to bleed it out via VAT!!! Well, since we the Nigerian citizens cannot unite to fight out this old fools; we shall keep suffering it together...

13. Nigeria government don become devil... Give and collect with the other hand. How can u approve increase on minimum wage and deliberating on increasing VAT, Which government does that? *****BABA V*****

14. Increase the minimum wage; increase VAT. Na all of us go enjoy this change together. Shebi Nigerians love to make excuses for their oppressors. Buhari's 2nd term is all I am waiting. I will enjoy watching the pain and suffering. Prayers without good works is useless. Una go pray tire. Lol.