Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Rapper Falz' Explains Why He Does Not Attend Church And What Happened The Last Time He Did...

Saturday, January 19, 2019

Rapper Falz' Explains Why He Does Not Attend Church And What Happened The Last Time He Did...

Popular Nigerian singer , Falz , recently released his much - anticipated album , ‘ Moral Instruction , ’ which is a body of work that sheds light on the social ills in the country . Amongst the guests present during his album listening party were his parents , Femi and Funmi Falana .

During the event , his mother used the opportunity to express her concern about the fact that her son hardly goes to church. While holding the microphone to speak about his new album, she said , “ Folarin , you don’ t go to church and I am bothered . I hope you would start going to church this year . ”

In a chat with Saturday Beats , the singer said his mother was right because he hardly went to church ; however , he gave his reasons .

“ I have nothing against the church or going to church; everyone has the right to practise the religion they desire but personally, as a Christian , it has been a while that I have been to church. It does not make me less of a Christian .

“ The most important thing is spirituality and your personal connection with God . The reason I haven ’ t attended a church service in a long while is because I went to a few churches and during sermons , I was put under undue pressure . There was a time that a pastor called me to the altar just to acknowledge my presence for being in church.

“ In my mind , I felt that the service was not about me . I felt that everybody was there to worship God , yet they were putting undue pressure on me . The pastor gave me the microphone to address the congregation and I was puzzled ; what did he expect me to say to the congregation ? These are some of the issues . I just want to go to church and worship God like a regular member of the congregation . I do not want that kind of attention . I was hoping that I would go to church on a Sunday and it would not be like any other day I ’ m at a public place or doing a show , ” the singer said .

The rap artiste , whose signature was his full beard , shocked his fans when he shaved it off . Speaking on why he shaved off his trademark , the rap artiste turned actor said , “ I did not shave my beard because of the album ; it was just a coincidence . I was filming a project in relation to the album and I had to look a lot younger and that is why I shaved off my beard .

“ I have been getting mixed reactions since I shaved my beard; some people tell me , ‘ please , go and find our beard back ’ . I did not know that we owned the beard together. Other people told me that they love the new look and I am still a ‘ sweet boy’ with or without the beard. ”

He further commented on his new project , Moral Instruction , while saying he did not mock the Muslim Rights Concern in his new album .
“ I did not mock MURIC in the song – Talk am – I just said that ‘ Broda Muri shout finish , we no see am for court ’ . Whoever the shoe fits should wear it . What I said was , ‘ Broda Muri ’ , I did not mention anybody ’ s name ; I could have been talking about anybody .

“ It took me a while to make this socially conscious album. I have been working on this project since 2017 . We had the idea to produce the album , which was to talk about the social vices in the country, but we were waiting for the right mood and time to release it . This year , everything just worked perfectly for us and I think it is very necessary we do this now , ” Falz said .

Punch

33 comments:

1. Me dont attend anymore cause its a waste of time, church or no church bad things will still happen, same as good things will still happen, its life!
    If religion played any significant role in humanity & well-being of individuals, then nigeria will be heaven on earth next to foreign lands.

1. No be lie, I live in d uk and Nigerian churches is abit fashion and who is the highest giver.. people go to church because they want to show off nd they are practising religion, funny thing is the ones that sleep in church are wicked nd can never show love or care. People practice religion and they are not Christ like.. some people come back from church and have already forgotten what was preached in church but when they see u that didn’t go, they open their wide mouth nd day u don’t go to church, like they are better off, we keep decieving ourselves

2. My church in the uk is not a "Nigerian church", just over half are Nigerians, the remaining are nationalities from so many diverse countries. I got to understand what a church really should be - all about Jesus, and I am so grateful for that.

3. In a foreign land, 'half of the congregation is Nigerian' and 'it is not a Nigerian church'? Pray tell me, what is it?

4. @anon 12:25,hahahahaha, you are right.na nigerian church be that!.. Lobatan!

5. First and second anonymous comments - great. Fourth anonymous comment - even me I was going to ask. Half of a Nigerian congregation means the church is Nigerian.

6. Nigerian church in terms of behaviour and mindset. The teachings are not focused on money. You can come casually dressed, no one judges you. People show love in so many ways.

2. The pastor was wrong though

3. I laughed hard @ I didn't know we own the beards together.....I just like this guy called falz

4. Very funny Falz😃 why “Broda Muri”? Why not Broda Taofeek 😃😃 its such a coincidence that Muri rhymes so much with “MURIC” lolll nice one

5. Lol @ brother Muri can be anybody

6. Serving God and going to church is different. Having a personal relationship with God is so important in a Christian life as He will direct your path and the true meaning of knowing God will be evident in your life.

7. Falz my crush
    skinny girl in transit season 5 got me

8. god of men. That’s how they are. In the pastor’s mind it is part of a great achievement that Falz goes to his church. Falz switch to an Anglican Church the Reverends won’t do that. *wide grin* 🏃🏾‍♀️🏃🏾‍♀️🏃🏾‍♀️🏃🏾‍♀️🏃🏾‍♀️

9. I love love love Falz. He cant do no wrong with me mhen.

10. Most pastors want to identify themselves with celebrities when ever they attend their church,I believe every members should be celebrated, that is why I love stella she always celebrating her Bvs mama God bless you.

11. DIS GUY TAKE STYLE RESEMBLE FAB HUSBAND (FUNKE AKINDELE BELLO)

12. We need more "Preacher Falz". Since Fela come mod, musicians don turn to hypocrites.
    Them no fit tell those "gods of men" say them dey thief.
    Come see how penteco pastors go rush am. . . some go send cancer from the pulpit but some
    fit arrange delete for am. Make you be strong in the Lord Falz! Fence yasef with iron.

13. Akuko Mike ejeagha. @Blessed Princess

14. This is so wrong, for the pastor's mind he has arrived, for a celebrity to attend his church.

15. Wow. This guy is talking about my pastor. But really, the Pastor didn't mean it like that. It was after the service, he called him out as a colleague's son and asked we pray for him and also gave him the mic to say something. I guess it's because he's new to the Church. Uti, Monalisa China, Funke Akindele, Dewale Aruba and many more aren't given the mic every Sunday to talk. It's just a form of acknowledging him. So cos of that, he didn't come again,... Hahaha ha... So funny. Oya, no vex. But sincerely, that was the first time I saw him, though I had been hearing the name. I had to Google him because I was surprised my introverted husband knew him and had been watching his skits. I am nobody but I guess, it was also a form of publicity. Anyway, we love you still.

1. So now this is City of David.... I use to see Uti and Funke when I was worshipping there.

2. Oh well, so long as there was no special invitation for him being in church that day, I don’t see the reason why he needs to be called to take the mic whether im papa nah Pastor brother or not. These people are human also. That’s why lagbaja continued with his mask, that way he will not be singled out in public.

16. Always good to hear another side of the story. Thanks Lade T.

17. Sometimes, when some of these celebrities are not recognized, they get angry.
    Remember that Governor's wife?

1. The governors wife is not a celebrity.

18. Come winners dry no go know say you come.

19. nigga ur new song released last week criticizing the anty- gay law plus insulting homophobic people says it.u don't go to church coz nigerian pastors preaches against such act

20. thats why i kuku dey go MFM, no show off, na come and pray fire prayers