Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: University Bars 55 Students Over Hajib Use

Tuesday, January 15, 2019

University Bars 55 Students Over Hajib Use

The Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, LAUTECH, International School, Ogbomoso, yesterday, barred 55 Muslim students from entering the school premises over their use of Hijab.

Hijab is a veil worn by some Muslim women in the presence of any male outside of their immediate family.

A teacher in the school, who asked not to be named for fear of victimisation, said the students were turned back at the school’s gate for wearing Hijab on their uniforms yesterday morning.

The teacher said the issue of Hijab use began in 2011 when the Muslim community in the school made a request to the governing council of the school to allow Muslim female students who wish to use Hijab as part of their school uniform in line with Islamic dictate.

The teacher said: “Since 2011, several letters of appeal had been written to the GC while we wait endlessly without response to our simple request. Our Muslim girls over the period have been using beret (cap) instead of Hijab, contrary to the Islamic dictate.

“Our patience overtime as law-abiding citizens was premised on our belief that the management of the school will do the needful and give regard to the rule of law and provision of the Constitution guaranteeing the fundamental human right of everybody.

“Having waited endlessly since 2011, it was decided on the 4th of January, 2019 that our willing Muslim female children should commence the use of Hijab as the school resumed on January 7, 2019.”

But the school’s principal, Ibrahim Animashaun, while reacting urged the parents and the students to await the decision of the school board of governors before further action.

Mr Animashaun, in a telephone interview with Premium Times, added that the status quo should remain until the board takes a decision on the use of Hijab in the school.
Vanguard/ Premium Times

23 comments:

1. What is very good, are they also the threatening "side chicks?"

2. Take them to Muslim schools, stop looking for issues where there's none.

3. It serves them right!

4. Is this a university or a secondary school this one I'm seeing university then school uniform?
    If it's a university then they have no right to deny them entrance unless it's clearly stated in the rules and regulations that it's prohibited.
    Then people need to read and ask questions before they start seeking admission into learning facilities to avoid things like this... Can I wear my cassock or hijab or hold my rosary if I gain admission? Will I be allowed to pray 5times a day or not attend the chapel for fellowship since it's not my religious belief?
    P.S any university that has school uniform, is that one a university?

1. Many universities in Nigeria do have its own primary and secondary schools and that is what is being referred to.

2. It's Ladoke Akintola University International School which is a Secondary School @Ralu M

In all honesty, if you can't obey the rules and regulations of a particular school, why not take your child to a better place instead of rabble-rousing?

Moreover, we are not in a secular state but with the trend of things, I dey fear ooo

3. You should know Muslims like fight and wahala. Msthewwwww

4. Mr ranu, thts how you fail simple exams. No single eye for details, with all this epistle written in ignorance. it sec schl

5. But hijabs are barnned in the north 🤷🏽‍♂️

6. Why are they taking laws into their hands? These people just like trouble. I'm sure there are celebrating/C&S students there who would preferto wear their white garments and walk bare footed because that is own religious dictate.

The school authority should stand it's grounds.

Haha! Boko Haram eveywhever...mtscheeeew

7. All of us are mad in this country!!!

8. There's no Islamic dictate to wear hijab. Hijab is not required by islam

9. I don't understand... Are universities now using uniform? either yes or no, allow the students to use their hijab in peace.. This is a higher institutions where only adults acquire knowledge and also hv their personal reservations. Some of those students are married,aside that everyone can not be dressing half naked to school. My opinion though...

1. It is their secondary schl

2. ....asides that everybody can't be dressing naked to school... So people that don't wear Hijabs are half naked?! Take your time to read self you didn't, you just jumped to comment section like your hanty up there.are universities now using uniforms kor

10. So they can't wear gele or tie scarf. Head covering nah head covering.

11. It's good that the principal is a Muslim, that way it won't be considered has religious based

12. beret is ok na for secondary school kids.