Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Nanny Accused Of Force-Feeding Infant Convicted Of Murder In The US

Tuesday, February 12, 2019

Nigerian Nanny Accused Of Force-Feeding Infant Convicted Of Murder In The US

A nanny accused of fatally force-feeding an eight-month-old because the crying child disturbed her nap has been convicted of murder in Maryland.

The Washington Post reports 73-year-old Oluremi Adeleye was convicted Monday after a judge found her guilty of child abuse and second-degree murder in Enita Salubi’s 2016 death.

A nanny camera captured the incident. Footage showed Salubi pulling on the nanny’s dress and patting her leg while Adeleye was lying on the couch. Prosecutors say Adeleye eventually poured nearly eight ounces of milk down Salubi’s throat in less than 30 seconds.

Video shows Adeleye picking up Salubi after she falls to the ground and trying to give her another bottle. The infant eventually went limp.

Adeleye says she was merely trying to ensure the baby didn’t go hungry.
From nypost.com

*Cheiii,this is so sad......I wonder how many years they wanna jail her for...
The law in the US has no respect for old age,if you do the crime,you will do the time....This is really sad!

60 comments:

1. stupid woman. she thinks she is in her village. aje

1. Abeg don't call the woman stupid, it's a norm in Nigeria. My grandma did it to all of us, i understand the fact that it's wrong now but I'm sure she was only ensuring the baby ate and dint go hungry.
      I remember in Nigeria then, they will put baby on laps and feed them ogi etc while holding child's hands still and the toddlers would be crying. God help us oooo

2. Your grandma fed you until you went limp and fell and still kept on forcing the food..
      Why do you people like supporting nonsense.

3. Go and do thanksgiving your gandma did not kill you all. Cos she did it dont make it right

4. Pls never say that rubbish again. This is what has kept us where we are. Your grandma did it my foot.
      The woman is wrong on all grounds.

2. Aww this broke my heart. Force feeding a child is practice all over Africa ignorantly.

1. That's not what we practice. She poured a bottle down the throat in 30 seconds. That's not African practice.

3. Wicked women...If she needed sleep so much why didn't she come back to Nigeria? You want to get paid for doing nothing? Nonsense, let her do her time.

4. Some fools would say they did this to them as a child and they didn’t die blabla

5. Those of you insulting her should please stop the hypocrisy. The woman up there is clearly of pension age and doesn't even look fit. If not for poverty, she wouldn't have been working; she would have been resting while others take care of her.

1. 12:18 What exactly are you saying in essence? If shes old and ought to be of penshionable age then why work?. And what has that got to do with killing a child for selfish reasons? Empathy should be worn on both sides,okay.

2. So thats a justifiable reason to kill the child abi? its like you just learnt the word "hypocrisy" so you decided to use it anyhow..

3. the most stupid and insensitive comment ever ..if it was your own child would you still have this opinion?

4. What an idiotic line of thought ! Hopeless and thoughtless sentiment. She lived up to 73, Enita only spent months on Earth. Force-feeding indeed. She should do the goddam time !

5. I hope you are not mentally deranged? If it was your child is this what you will say? Sentimental fool!cmon fuck off!! I'm so annoyed reading this balderdash..mtswww

6. You are insane. Since you live evil, let it befall you. Someone child is involved here and you are talking shit. Fool

7. Sorry if my comment annoyed you all, I'm not saying she's right or shouldn't be punished. I just think it's not a premeditated murder and shouldn't be kicked further now that she's down. Ofcourse i sympathise with the child's family. Well no one knows it all.

As for you 15:55 I return your curses back to you in Jesus name.

6. Honestly force feeding is a norma here.but her own was out of wickedness.u want to take a nap...when u have babies be ready to invonvinconve urself.right now I want to take a nap.my baby ain't ready.i can't sleep and leave her.my mind will not be at rest.so I have to stay awake.

1. Its razz families that do force feeding abeg

2. Force feeding is not the norm where I come from. Yoruba people be saying force feeding is the norm as if they represent the whole of Nigeria. Get rid of that nasty customs nd stop killing children. I see this enough in Ibadan. Children are dying from force feeding and agbo

7. Oh Lord, protect our children. People are wicked. Would she do that to her own child?

1. Ure an idiot castle Windsor, is force feeding not a norm in Nigeria. When toddlers don't eat, they used to be force fed on the laps.
      Its a pity it went the wrong way.

2. I'm here to stay and there's nothing you can do about it. Hahahahaha.
      #rockingmynewphone#

3. Force feeding WAS a norm. Now people are now being advised against it in Nigeria. Especially the grandmas.
      I sympathize with the family.
      Rest on little angel

8. That kind of feeding that the child's nose will be covered so as to allow much food into her tummy.

1. Yes, my grandma did it to all of us. Just a pity this went wrong. Poor woman who went to America to look for what to eat.

2. Poor woman really. What of the parents of the child that died. What of the child that suffered and choked before going limp and dieing.
      Most of you think with your ass. I don't know whether it's poverty that is causing such mind set that you people support wicked helps.
      Have you thought of what that child's mother is going through. Didn't she also go to America to hustle.

3. Chai na your grandma be that for up? Too bad her cup got full in the US. Hahahahahahaha. Your grandma did it to all of you. No wonder you turned out to be a wild rat. Ngwere Sango ota.

4. Hahahaha Please castle be nice na! Which one be Ngwere Sango Ota 😂😂😂😂😂

5. I love you Castle Windsor, and the Anon before her. Right-thinking Women ! ❤

6. Hahahahaha 😂😂😂😂. Nkwere sango Ota.

7. Cattle rearer, ori e ti buru so gbo. Oponu 😏😌😏😏😏

9. She should have known better. She's a grandma for crying out loud.

10. All these wicked nannys ehnnn.
    Did the baby's parents also maltreat a 73yr old woman? Because that is always ppls excuse in defending them.
    Thank God for my mother cos I don't enjoy leaving my child with nanny 24/7 even as I have a good one.
    My friend just hired one and withn a week she said she is going because my friend didn't allow her go out on Sat,that they need to cook.
    Just one week she joined them. Sun am she was packing her bag. My friend even sat her down to ask if she did anything wrong to her.
    This is someone that gave my friend rules and regulations of how she doesn't cook and she can't sweep as she has a bad back at just 45.

1. God bless you. I get mad when people try to justify wickedness.

2. So bcos she is a nanny she is not allowed to have bad back at "just" 45?

3. Miss Aboki if you aren't physically fit for a job then you seat your ass at home. Gerrit?
      So who will sweep her own room for her. My friend that goes to work at early as 6.30am

4. Beds and Roses you must be a wicked woman for real.
      *spits*

5. Get your poverty mentality off my comments.
      Yes i am very wicked. Is it your wicked..... taaaaaaah.
      God forbid you mess with my kid, you will know no rest in this life and the next.

11. So sad. This woman is wicked and too old to do nanny job.

12. Too bad. She must have tried pulling the Nigerian stunt of force feeding babies. Quite common here.

13. So because it is a common practice in some cultures it is all right. I have never heard of this bizarre practice. To eat properly you have to be able to breathe as well, how is pouring eight ounces of fluids down a baby's throat in less than 30 seconds safe. Why would anyone feed a baby in a different manner from how a baby would suck on it's mother's breast? A baby would not feed itself like that so why would anyone think they know better than nature.

14. at 73 she shud not be doing nanny or any work at all. its such a pity it went the wrong way. if she had allowed he child to rest in btw the feeding.

15. I hate DAT force feeding, I can't even stay to watch cos it scares me. May God console d parents of d baby, it's painful

16. This comment has been removed by the author.

1. I don't know of the 99percent you are talking about. I never fed my son this way nor does anyone in my family.
      A child died for chrisake cos the woman was too lazy to feed her properly.
      She wanted to force feed fast in 30secs so she can go back to her siesta.

2. Oluwaseun, 99 percent of Yorubas you meant to say?
      Such practice only thrives among the Yorubas, try and travel to other parts of the country and get enlightened, stop generalising.
      RIP to the poor child.

3. Pls, this your analysis is wrong. How did you come about the % of babies been force fed? It's only in the south west I see mothers and grannies, turn a child almost upside down and pour tasteless and watery pap down the innocent child's throat. That practice is scary abeg.

4. Shut up, that 99 percent must be you your mother, grandma and sisters...rubbish

5. It is mostly practised in the south West and not the whole Nigeria pls. One grandma is doing it here as I type. They block the baby's nose and pour in the pap, then release the nose, as the baby tries to breathe, the pap goes down her throat almost choking her. She lets out a loud cry after swallowing it. And then the process is repeated until the required quantity of pap has gone down the poor baby's throat. I find it scary. I can't allow it on my child. It looks like a punishment to the poor child and I have heard stories of children who choked and died during the process.

6. The funny thing is the set of kids fed this way still look malnurished. Rice people give good food that the kids want to eat. Na only poverty de cause them to do such. RIP to the baby...

17. African culture will be killing, jailing & destroying many people abroad. That is why I hate & forbid my children & family from embracing any African values & way of life.
    People of primitive mindset!

18. All of you saying it’s common practice may God deliver all of you. I can’t stand the sight of such barbarism. Yes downright barbaric. I know a young mum who does something similar to her child and all I can say is that God is too kind. Rot in jail madam.

19. This Mama at her Age 73years Old is Suppose to be in the village resting not babysitting,She's too Old for the Job..

20. It’s the speed and anger she exhibited at her nap being interrupted that killed the poor baby. It’s sad that our work ethic is sometimes questionable. A 73 year old should be sitting idle? Have you read or heard about Supreme Court Justice Ruth Ginsberg? Secretary Henry Kissinger, Feds Chair Alan Greenspan etc. They were and in Ginsberg’s case mid to late eighties, working hard daily. Joe Biden is 76 and Democrats are praying he contests because he is our best chance at defeating Trump! How old is Nancy Pelosi and Bernie Sanders? I had two women reporting to me, one was 76 and the other was 80 years old! They were the hardest working employees and never called off.

The low number of jobs created by looters and their cronies is why 50 year olds were forced to retire and depend on their children to take care of them and the other children. It’s an aberration and should not become the norm.

Anyone born 1960 and above in the US is not qualified for social security retirement till they are 67 years old. Even at that most people continue working to keep their brains alert and to increase their income. They do not like to depend on their children as it burdens them in a society where some work till 87 or 90 if they can.

Walmart has greeters who are like 80 years old. A job that involves standing for hours and smiling at customers! Laziness has become a part of our culture and dependence on children ( even if they have to do Runz or rituals to keep up) which perpetuates poverty and reduces the chance of true clean generational wealth.

I actually like that these mamas (the good ones) come here to babysit and earn a living. This particular one was lazy and wicked. Force feeding a baby till they are limp is not an African thing. Those who practiced force feeding knew how to pause and do it gradually, not that quantity in 30 seconds. She did her job in a grumpy and lazy way forgetting that it’s a society in which you are held accountable. Let it serve as a lesson to potential wicked mama babysitters who just want to collect $1000 to $1500 per month and watch Nollywood while treating the baby as a distraction from their paid vacation! She is not supposed to be resting.
    That’s why our GDP per capita is low. We are a very unproductive country with looters as rulers and no policy making going on by politicians to create more jobs.

21. Force feeding is not a norm in my own part of Nigeria and shouldn't be encouraged at all. So sad it turned out this way for her. May the soul of the baby rest in peace.