Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Ella Mensah Says She Whitened Her Skin Because She Wanted Roles In Nigerian Movies

Sunday, March 17, 2019

Actress Ella Mensah Says She Whitened Her Skin Because She Wanted Roles In Nigerian Movies

She says “I’ve bleached. I don’ht use creams, I use injection”.

Controversial Ghanaian actress, Ella Mensah has revealed that she bleached in order to get roles in Nigerian movies.

She made this known in an interview she had with Deloris Frimpong Manso on the “Delay Show”.

She mentioned that prior to her going to Nigeria, she was dark-skinned but decided to bleach because that was the only way she could get roles in Nigerian movies.

She said “I’ve bleached. I don’ht use creams, I use injection”.

Asked if the injections were expensive, She mentioned that it’s dependent on the level of fairness the individual wants.

This is not the first time the she has made such claims. The Nigerian-based Ghanaian actress, last year attributed her decision to tone her skin to her desire to gain success in the movie industry especially in Nollywood.

According to her, movie producers and directors prefer giving roles to light-skinned actresses at the detriment of talented dark skinned actresses.

‘’If you are a dark-skinned person, your talent alone is not going to push you up because a producer once told me that I have the height, the body and that I am look attractive.

She noted that being fair is her decision and that is to enable her to gain acceptability in the movie industry and to allow her to fit in adding ‘’I thought about it and it is my own skin and thank God I am not going to hurt or kill anybody. So I did it because I love it and also partly because of my job’’ she opined.

From Ghana web

52 comments:

1. okuuuuurrrrrr

1. Wetin you type there?
      Na so craze dey take start o.

2. Anon 11:18 that is a catch phrase popularly used by American rapper Cardi B.

Anonymous X

3. And the Kardashians @Anonymous X.

2. Nollywood movies not Hollywood, babes you're Cray Cray

3. Madam ATUress, no be ya atu go suffer so, you bleach that one too?
    You no go tell us wetin "producers and directors" don carry ya atu do in order to get peanuts roles eh? Na dat make you sell ya body, ya conscience and ya eternity. Tufiakwa.

4. These girl is injecting steroids o.
    The side effects are plenty;
    cushings syndrome
    Renal failure
    irrational behavior etc.

When the rooster comes home to roost, people will begin to gather funds for her abroad treatment?

1. Steroids are for broke people.
      Its Glutathione they use.
      Its safe so far you use adequate sun screen

It is even and oxidant sef.
      It helps to protect against cancer.
      Read up and educate yourself.
      I dont use all that stuff personally cos i dont have tje discipline to have a routine.

2. @Anonymous 12:25
      Thanks for "educating" me.
      At least "broke people" use steroids and she is broke; isn't she?
      If she is not broke, why pursue roles in Nollywood?
      Do you consider her an established actress even with all the bleaching?
      It is a sad thing really.

5. But she still hasn't blown yet!Skin colour shouldn't be a yardstick, talent should. Look at Genevieve, Stephanie, mercy Johnson, yvonneokoro,etc Though, I love her honesty. Some people will tell you their colour just started coming out lol. Yvonne Nelson once bleached but has stopped, even though she denied it. What ever makes you happy I say, as long as you ain't hurting anyone. Also there are safe products that can take you 1to 2 shades lighter without a drastic effect.

6. She is not serious, she should leave Nigeria out of it.

7. You go still see wetin you dey find...That's why I love Genny,ini Edo, mercy Johnson, yvonne jegede and uche jumbo...

8. At least she admitted that she bleached unlike some that will turn white over night and still claim they didn't touch their skin.

9. Then she obviously has no talent. Dont we have A list dark acteresses in Nigeria? Its when you dont have talent, you start looking for other specs to push you up. At least if they wont give you role because of your talent, they will give because of your looks

1. I think we even have more dark skin A-list actresses sef.
      Genevieve,Stephnie linus,mummy joke silva,Kate Henshaw,Nse,Mercy Johnson,Ini Edo,Funke Akindele etc

10. so in local industry, its dark vs light segregation.. foreign: white vs black..

their choice of colour will definitely be induced by the preference of the consumers..

probably in the next 10,000 years, we won't have dark humans again in africa. they would have all gone extinct.. generation of that time will only have the opportunity to see this wonderful color in a foreign museum...

11. Yet Genevive Nnaji is the most loved, admired and crushed on actress till date. Skin color has nothing to do with it, your confidence however does.

12. Mercy Johnson, Nse Ikpe, Stephanie Okereke, Chioma Akpotha, Genevieve, are of what skin type????

13. why won't she lighten her skin when her bestie is Sophie tchikere

14. Oh wow...if only the brain could be bleached...too bad that money was not channelled to getting an education

15. Last week I went to a bar with my new man...Out of about 10 girls I was the only dark one,I felt out of place because all of them look so bright under the disco light...

1. Hahahahahahahahaha... this cracked me up so bad...

2. Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahah... You is funny

3. LMAO 🀣🀣🀣🀣

16. This girl talks too much, brags too much. Bush girl...

17. I don't even know her...

18. And I'm yet to see her in any movie!

19. I don't understand...madam u wanted roles in nollywood? what kind of roles?white witches?iissokay when the side effects of those injections start,it would be like u got a role in a Hollywood horror movie.

20. All the best actresses to me in Nollywood are black

21. Ladies be natural. Do not perm your, bleach your skin, fix weave-on, braid with hair attachment,fix fake nails, false lashes. People that do all these are disgusting. No differences whatsever. Fake fake fake ppl. Judging others. Cast no stone if guilty of any of the above or rather live and let live.

22. Upon all the bleaching, you still resemble otutu Calabar see face like Princess FionaπŸ˜•πŸ˜•πŸ˜• mtcheew

23. And when the after effects start rolling in, don’t come begging for help.. smh

24. Lame excuse to justify your actions , upon all the bleaching you still never blow.

25. how many lead roles have you gotten since you injected yourself to a white lady?
    A man who is not proud of his colour" is not fit to live.

1. Are those who take sex enhancers, abortion pills, weight loss and gain substances, inscribe tatoos and the rest of the gbogbotigbo, fit to live?

26. Been talented has got nothing to do with ur skin colour. Or is Mercy Johnson, Genevieve or INi Edo fair skinned. Just say u wish to bleach you don't need to tell lies dat is bcus u wanna penetrate into the nollywood industry. Your talent take u to places and not ur skin colour

27. Even with bleaching, we still don’t know you! πŸ˜›