Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Billionaire Kidnapper Evans’ Inability To Pay Legal Fees Stalls Trials

Thursday, March 07, 2019

Billionaire Kidnapper Evans’ Inability To Pay Legal Fees Stalls Trials

The inability of alleged kidnap kingpin Chukwudumeme Onwuamadike, alias Evans, to pay for his legal representation has stalled two trials before Justice Oluwatoyin Taiwo of an Ikeja Special Offences Court.

The state Prosecutor also noted that Evans’ defence team were also absent in court during the on Feb. 6.

Reacting to the letter, Justice Taiwo expressed her disappointment at the request for an adjournment.

She said, “It is ridiculous that we should wait for the first defendant (Evans) and his counsel to negotiate for a case that is already in court,” she said. Justice Taiwo also requested for the Adjournment of the case, “The first and second defendants have filed submissions on the trial-within-trial, the prosecution has responded but are yet to serve the first defendant. The first defendant’s counsel had been absent for two dates in a row. This case is adjourned to March 20 for adoption of final written addresses.”

When the suit was announced, Justice Taiwo adjourned the case until March 29, for further hearing.

From Daily Post

*I dont get it...Is the govt not supposed to provide a Lawyer for him if he cannot afford one?Especially since the trial is already on?Lawyers in the house please enlighten us on this!

16 comments:

1. Let me also wait for our lawyers...
    Our system is messed up jor

2. What about the proceeds from your kidnapping business Evans? Abi E don finish?

1. I am glad he is suffering. There should be no peace for the wicked

He kidnapped my uncle who paid so much to be released but it not even about the money. My uncle has been so damaged mentally

3. No more business. The family will enjoy the money

4. Let me also wait for the lawyers like Ronalda... charge and bail lawyers dont even chook mouth oh

5. Him wife wey dem Don dey ghensh

6. A lawyer is supposed to be provided for him, if he cannot afford one. But as the State doesn't read minds and it's now (after case has started and he is actually in court) that he's letting them know...

Anon 9:34 - He's not allowed to touch proceeds that allegedly came from the commission of crime. And definitely not when he's being tried for the crime(s). Accounts in his name would have been frozen as soon as he was charged.

7. Yes the government will assign a lawyer to him, it called pro-bono.

1. Pro bono? But the government lawyer will be paid or will he represent for free?

2. Ok I get it. The government will be doing him a pro bono.
      Oh lawd wetin I dey yarn sef. I guess kpomo don take over my brain.

3. The government or state have lawyers working for them. So they will provide him the services of 1 of the lawyers to represent Evans free at no cost to him.

8. Vanity upon vanity. @Blessed Princess

9. This comment has been removed by the author.

10. Public defendant no dey?

11. The wicked will not go unpunished.