Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Davido Says He Paid £55,000 To Wait For Seats To Be Filled At His London Concert..

Sunday, March 03, 2019

Davido Says He Paid £55,000 To Wait For Seats To Be Filled At His London Concert..

Nigerian Singer Davido says he had to pay £55,000 at his January concert that held at the O2 Arena for the show to start late.

The ‘Fall’ singer, who is currently on a tour in the United States, told New York’s DJ Ebro that he had to do so to avoid performing to a half-filled hall.

“I was scared though, because … first of all, you know how we Africans do, we’re always late, we take time,” he said in an interview with Hot 97 FM.

“They said I gotta get on stage by 8, and I said alright and then by 8 o’clock my boy come tell me that brother you can’t go on stage right now and I say what you mean, he said brother everybody is still walking around, I looked at the stadium, half empty. I was going crazy.”

He explained that he had to pay £55,000, which was the cost for a 55-minute extension.

“I’ll pay two hundred thousand pounds in this place. Me, the way I know my people, people want me to fail.
If I go on that stage that place is half empty, somebody will take that picture and that picture will go father than anything. I waited till that place was filled.
I waited for about an hour and thirty before we started. I’d rather pay the fine because people don’t want you to win. Negativity goes way farther than positivity.”

The 26-year-old singer, who described his father as his biggest fan, said his global success began when he decided to focus on Nigeria.

“When I was out here (in America) for like eight months, nothing really happened. But it was when I decided to finally go back home. When I got back home to do what I do, then people started sending me snaps that yo, I’m hearing your songs every day.”

From TheCable

36 comments:

1. "Me, the way I know my people, people want me to fail.
    If I go on that stage that place is half empty, somebody will take that picture and that picture will go father than anything. I waited till that place was filled."

Lol, the fear of instablog and SDK
    These celebs do as though things don't get to them but it does....When will the media tour end baba Imade??.

1. SDK not Belle dat will publish wizkid bought used car and claims its new

2. My dear you are right. And people like Modella will be everywhere in the comment section jumping like a toad.

3. You're right. The guy applied wisdom.

2. Davido can lie! Fake human being. Where's the Porsche you bought for Chioma?

1. You are one of the reasons he payed that money

2. You are one of the reasons he payed that money

3. Smh. People like you on here always talking out of point.

4. Fan Emmanuel it's "paid" not payed. Y'all need to go back to the basics and learn English. Be commenting with yeye EngkisE giving someone headaches.

5. Pls English is a borrowed language.free him jor.

3. Dude was scared of the impending media war. He had to pay.
    Can imagine his mood swings within the waiting hours.
    Crazy!

I love the line; his dad is his biggest fan. Yeah. I believe him.
    I recall the lyrics and some stage performance with his dad, of "The Money"..
    I wan to lowo, I wan to lola, I wan to lala fia..
    Yay give me the money hey
    Biko nyem ego
    Orimi jekin jekin lowo oh
    Life is all about the money hey...

Hahahaha. Make the money Davido.

4. I feel him deep. Had he been he stated with have filled stadium, in minutes it will get on social media.

1. True. And by the time the stadium eventually gets full, the damage has already been done. Even if they post it on SM then, people will say it's a lie.

2. Wetin this one dey write mbok? "Stated with have filled stadium"? How does it sound to you. Can't deal!

3. So Don has other interests other than bashing women? It’s alright

5. Davido you get sense, hanty kemi for see food chop

6. His statement reeks of a lack of foresight and planning. Almost every artist playing a major arena appears late on stage. You don't just hire a venue for the duration of your show. You put in place contingency plans and you take out insurance as well to cover any unexpected delays, damages, no shows etc

1. All this oyinbo English 😂😂

He said people didn't show up on time, what has contantgency, insurance gatz to do With..🙄🙄🙄🙄
      Mind yourself oo

2. Nigerians go late for everything. My friends and i attended. We didnt get there until 10 and that wen people started coming

Nigerians can never ever be on time

3. Lol @contantgency. Anon typed it correctly, you read it yet couldn’t just copy the correct thing? 🤦‍♀️

4. Hahahahahaha, how can he see it when he’s complaining of oyibo English

5. Olawealth are you sure you run a business?? You read yet you could not comprehend. No wonder Nigeria is in a big mess. All anon was trying to say is that in a civilised country you plan for every eventuality, so you don't pay emergency 55K or if you do you claim it back from your insurance. But I suppose your knowledge only reach assurance level. chai.

7. Sense guy. Small boy with biggest God! Ezigbote ogo

8. Replies
    1. I love it when people call him that name. I don't know the meaning though but I feel it's something like king baba..😊

2. Fan, it means rich man pickin

3. It means Omo Baba Olowo

4. OBO means Omo Baba Olowo

5. O.B.O = omo baba olowo. The son of a rich father.

9. That the price you pay to get a prize. Atleast the stadium was sold out finally.

10. Na Africa man time but l see Asians do the same thing too. Always late for everything. Smart move though.

11. Sdk haba, he meant people came late.he had to pay for extension of time. African time stuff

1. Liar! The hall wasn't sold out anything. It wasn't even full to capacity. Always hyping! Fake immature boy! Where's the Porsche na?

2. Stupidity lies in ur comment,hate lies in ur heart..check it age and ask urself if he is the reason for ur problems. Ogbeni go fix urself and leave him alone