Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Federal Govt Asks CBN Gov Godwin Emefiele To Proceed On Leave

Monday, March 04, 2019

Federal Govt Asks CBN Gov Godwin Emefiele To Proceed On Leave

The Nigerian government has asked the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), Godwin Emefiele, to proceed on leave ahead of expiration of his tenure.

Emefiele was said to have received a letter to the effect on Monday.

The financial expert has been Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria since June 3, 2014.

He was Chief Executive officer and Group Managing Director of Zenith Bank Plc and previously the Deputy Managing Director of Zenith Bank Plc.

Emefiele served as Executive Director in charge of Corporate Banking, Treasury, Financial Control and Strategic Planning of Zenith Bank Plc and has been on the Management team since inception.

Emefiele was one time a director at Zenith Bank Plc and Zenith Bank (Gambia) Limited.

Before commencing his banking career, he lectured Finance and Insurance at the University of Nigeria Nsukka, and University of Port Harcourt, respectively.

He is an alumnus of Executive Education at Stanford University, Harvard University (2004) and Wharton School of Business (2005).

Emefiele holds a B.Sc. degree in Finance in 1984 and an MBA Degree in Finance in 1986, both from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka.
from dailypost

30 comments:

1. Stella i learned it was debunked from the Cable reporters.

If its true then...can we guess who will be next CBN gov and from what zone?

Ur guess is as good as mine.

1. if u understand d undertone of this buharis govt... Islamization aint our portion.pple are seeing yaradua n abacha repeat.

2. This is fake news.... His tenure expires in 3months so why bother? If it delights the President he actually can extend his stay.

3. We don see this movie before na
    Next one na; Abubakar, Abdukadir, Audu,
    Shehu or Musa
    Stay tuned...

4. I hope a better and competent hand will be chosen for the job. Someone that understand the system very well, just like charlse Soludo and Lamido Sanusi.

1. I read this on one of the news site and hope it's not true.

"Aishah Ahmad who was appointed Deputy Governor of the CBN on 6 October, 2017 is reportedly leading the shortlist to replace Godwin Emefiele whose term as CBN governor is soon to expire in June 2019.

Emefiele did well because he was nominated by GEJ.  Buhari will nominate the least in whatever list they will bring to him and watch how monetary policy crisis happens. It’s not beyond Buhari. He doesn’t value professionalism. He will say the appointment is based on ‘integrity".

5. After opening vault for the election 😂😂😂😂😂😂

6. Proceed on leave and make way for a fulani CBN governor. Welcome to za next level

7. I saw this coming.
    But he has tried after many call-outs. Though I don't like his policies, that have not been fruitful, but as there is issue with Igbo people over election, they are now pushing him out.

In my organisation, hausa people who have reached 60 years retirement age are being given extention of 2 more years therefore blocking other people from getting their promotion.
    These is even after they have reduced their ages. They call it official age. Many have since passed 60 but claim to be under age. So people will be working till almost 70.
    God will punish all those frustrating others from attaining their goals.
    All these APC Methuselahs flooding the whole place.
    Emefiele has paid his price, let him go. His monitory policy was poor. I know awusa man is standing by. Blockheads in Power

1. Why not call them out with facts. Stop nonsense ranting that will yield nothing. Send facts to blogs to force a probe...social media is now powerful use it wisely

2. So every decision or steps or policies taken by this government is about the Igbo nation. One day you all will receive healing.

8. After opening CBN vault for them?

9. Buhari please I plead with you not to throw Nigeria into a state of Anarchy. Because it is clear now that you don't regard the rule of law. @Blessed Princess

1. You will just keep quiet.
      What do you know about governance.

10. Another candidate to come and chop money

11. Those crying about Atikulated. You forget he was APC who shifted to PDP when they didn’t settle him. He personally contributed to financing the removal of Jonathan. All of them na cabals together fighting to get the Lion share. Let’s hope Buhari has some sense to correct his foolishness of the last four years and expose the cabals. Trust no one. None of them is honest. None!!!!

1. But he was originally in PDP with OBJ.

2. @Anon 06:10 and them joined to APC to remove Jonathan before going back to PDP. Ha!!!

3. Even in football sef you change team anyhow, na politics.

12. It's overdue. Oga go on leave now.
    You have played your part.

13. Used and dumped. He will be fine with his billions.

14. Though it is not viable soon, when the government succeeds in controlling the poker online industry, then there will be an abrupt increase or boom on this industry.
    A good guideline is to include any links like a "by the way" or even a "resource box"
    only. One of the dealer's two cards will
    be placed face-up shared so all the gamers can easily see it,
    along with the other card will be placed face down.

15. Make the expiration no affect tbill oh.#spotremover#