Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov Elect Sanwo-Olu’s Campaign Aide Accused Of Intellectual Property Theft And Drug Trafficking

Saturday, March 16, 2019

Gov Elect Sanwo-Olu’s Campaign Aide Accused Of Intellectual Property Theft And Drug Trafficking

Ruona Meyer,a Nigerian Journalist based in Germany on Friday accused Olufunke Phillips, one of the campaign media aide of Lagos State Governor-elect, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, of intellectual property theft and drug trafficking.

FUNKE PHILLIPS

RUONAH MEYER

Meyer, an ex- BBC journalist, said she had some business dealings with Phillips dated back to 2015, which she terminated in 2016.

Meyer disclosed she had met Philips 2015 when she “needed a face” for a “blog and event portal on the business of drinking.”

But she terminated her dealings with Phillips “after I found out that @FunkePhillips is facing COCAINE smuggling charges (with a 2009 court case); and on 4 July 2011, @ndlea_nigeria listed her as skipping bail.”

The court case paper posted on Twitter by Meyer bears the surname Philips instead of Phillips the campaign aide uses on social media and on her bio page on the beverageroom.co.

She was arraigned before Justice P.I Ajoku of the Lagos Division of the Federal High Court in 2007 but she, alongside 25 others absconded after being granted bail by the judge.

Meyer said Philips told her that she “went through a lot to settle the case” when Meyer demanded her explanations about the case.

Meyer explained that she worked with Phillips at the time because she needed her to be the face of the business – The Beverage Space – in Nigeria.

She insisted that Phillips was a minority partner in the venture and that she contributed no financial and intellectual input to the business.

“I was not based in Nigeria. This is where Funke Phillips came in. I later called it The Beverage Space,” said Meyer.

“Funke Phillips had no money, so I handled practically all costs… All Funke Phillips had to do was go to events/bars, send in little notes, writings,” she added.
She, however, said she discontinued contract after her “character check” revealed Philips as a “drug baron on the lam.”

“I, therefore, asked Funke Phillips for her documents of acquittal. She responded that this was the work of her enemies. With such answers, I told her I could NEVER work with her on any basis; we needed to cut all ties immediately.”

But years later, Phillips began her own website which she named ‘The Beverage Room’ based on the same ideas Meyer said she “originated and conceptualised.”

The website is currently being run by Phillips.

The Guardian found out that the website was registered in Lagos on November, 2017. Curiously, on the website’s About Us page, Phillips claimed it was launched in 2015.

“In 2015, TBR was launched by Olufunke Phillips to chronicle her love for Coffee, Wine and Spirits. She started an Instagram, Facebook page and a blog sharing tips, tricks, findings and other things.”

Meyer explained on Twitter that she was making a public disclaimer to fully dissociate herself from any from business dealings she had with Ms Phillips in 2015 and 2016.

“I cared about my career and life in Europe, where even the whiff of an association with criminality is just as bad as criminality,” She said.

“Worse still, when I raised the issue 72 hours ago, contacts have since come to tell me they thought I was still a silent partner at TBR, and that is why they joined online groups, bought t-shirts, went to and had events, etc.

To be clear: I publicly (via social media) tagged Funke Phillips, asking her to pull down TBR, because it is a rip-off of TBS, and she knows why she has to: Intellectual property theft, and the matter of GROSS criminality.”

Meyer threatened a lawsuit to “force a pull-down” of The Beverage Room.

“I am more concerned about DISSOCIATION and intellectual property theft,” Meyer said.
Text from the guardian.

49 comments:

1. Hmmmm....this is not good for Funke at all o. She has a huge followershio online.

1. Beautiful and suave.I like her sense of houmour.

2. See Nigerians. I know funked. But what has her beauty and suave got to do with this story. The way we sentimentally overlook potential wrong doing is shocking. Where are the questions and relevant deductions. I hope it's not true she did this, but if there is evidence of such an incidence I think Funke should defend herself with some counter evidence. Good luck to her.

1. You dey mind this one. Bad bele oshi.

2. Because now is the right time. And no, I'm not Ruona.

3. Some of you people don't know the impact of criminality and dishonesty abroad. Even mere association can shut you down. Nigerians also need to learn the importance of intellectual property rights.

3. Eewooo. I love funke too much for this.
    She needs to give an explanation for all these, no smoke without a fire.

1. Lol! You people are naive, that's why someone like Funke Phil(l)ips can deceive you. Next time, look well before you decide to follow someone online.

2. Ogbeni anonymous swerve from here, no one is deceiving anyone. My clearly stating I like her does not mean I'm naive.
      Move somewhere else with your unneeded advice.

3. If you aren't slow, you won't proclaim you like her. If someone posted your comment under Evans post, what would you say? Criminality is criminality under the law. Because someone is fine or funny and another is not, doesn't mean same actions qualify as crime for one person and legit for another.

4. Meyer who? Go and sit down jo. Why are you just doing this now? Oh, you want to use Olufunke to shine and tarnish her image cos she's now close to power. Women, na wa for us o!

5. Smh! And she's my facebook friend. Always posting pictures of her kids and all. Once a criminal, always a criminal. This is so unfortunate. Nigerians are always blinded by noise and hype. Imagine how this one has stained her family's name.

1. Me too o. She's my friend on fb. I hope for her sake and reputation that she is not guilty of all these.

2. She is also my friend, lets wait for her part of the story

3. She's my friend too. I hope this is not true,let's not conclude yet please. Oh her beautiful girls!

4. She's my neighbour on My Space.

6. The only ish here is that she jumped bail.if not everyone has got a past.I hope she gets pass this.

7. Olufunke is my girl o! Very good with words.

8. Awwwww.
    Now that Funke shld be enjoying her victory as Sanwo-Olu's aide. This came up

9. Everything is always bad belle for my Nija peeps. Backward thinkers.....reason illegality is enshrined here

1. God bless you for this. Real backward thinkers. She is a fraud and y'all are talking crap about the lady that called her out. Sanwo olu or whoever should dissociate himself from her immediately. Drug pusher and skipping bail is what someone is saying 'everyone has a past'? I really need to leave this country because the mentality is so mightily flawed. Jeez!!!

2. God bless you for this truth

3. Ambo said Sanwo was a cocaine addict and was hospitalized at Gbagada hospital but you all didn't take him serious. Now this. Yet people want to call it bad belle with all the attached evidence. That place is indeed a shithole with many dumbos

10. Ewoooooooooooooooo my own funke 🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃🏃let me run to Facebook
    I love that lady,her sense of humour is topnotch

11. Village people will not allow her to enjoy now that they have won the election. Haba

12. So why she no call her out until her principal win election?
    Women know how to scatter things for each other.

1. Because now she is even more out there in the public space, see?

13. waiting to hear funke's side of the ongoing issh

14. This Ruona no dey snap? Stella did a story on her with this same pic years back, abi no be she?

15. The same Funke that allegedly spread stories about Petra sleeping around ba?

1. Are Funke and Petra not the same kind of person? Or you think there was anything normal about Petra's "sudden resignation" from her CPS role?

2. Chai! So Funke's real self can be exposed in this life? Ahhhhh! God is truly alive!

3. Except that those are not just stories. When Petra own show for blogs, you go cry for her husband

4. This one weak me o. I thought they are friends

5. Anon 7:18 in a way, they are friends. Make no mistake, Funke and Petra are not so different - only difference is Petra dey husband house and quotes bible. Part of Funke's bitterness is due to the fact that despite Petra's hypocrisy, Petra hasn't been chased away by her husband and she has a semblance of respectability whereas Funke is seen as classless because man and respectable job no dey to cover her own.

16. Wait oh, is it COCAINE possession, jumping bail & bribery to bury the charge that someone wants to wave away with "everyone has a past" and "women know how to scatter things for each other"? You're not grateful that Ruona didn't talk during the elections! If she did, everyone will rope Sanwo-Olu into what he probably doesn't know and he'd have lost cos it'd be difficult to prove his hands are clean - campaign aides are supposed to be thoroughly vetted. That's when you'd have seen what scattering really means

1. Ruona welcome o

2. Anon 12:32 I am definitely not Ruona

3. They would have accused PDP of propaganda if she released it before the election. From her posts, she didn't even know she was involved in politics till after her post. She was focused on the intellectual property issue.

17. OSETIGO!!!!

CHILE.

18. Is she Sanwoolu’s dealer? Seriously...

19. With some of the comments here, Nigeria is in trouble. You castigate Evans and other accused criminals and because the accused in this case is your friend on Facebook, it's bad belle. Why now? They ask. Even with evidence attached which you can verify yourself, you bury your head in the sand like an ostrich. What moral justification do you have for cursing politicians and criminals when you all have the same moral compass? This is why some of you will leave the country and think you can get away with criminality in sane climes. Everyone does not have a criminal past. If you and everyone around you do, make sure you are ready to face the consequences when the time comes.

1. Are you minding them? Stupid people. The only question they should be asking is whether the allegations are true. But they're claiming it's to pull her down. A vile, thieving cokehead with no source of income is who someone wants to pull down?

20. So basically a alleged drug pusher has his campaign run by another alleged drug pusher....hmmm.
    I’m beginning to believe this alleged drug thing o. Seems they go wayyyy back, no?