Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Metuh’s Lawyers Apply To Withdraw From Case Over Alleged Threat To Their Lives

Wednesday, March 06, 2019

Metuh’s Lawyers Apply To Withdraw From Case Over Alleged Threat To Their Lives

THE trial of the former National Publicity Secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Olisa Metuh, took a dramatic turn yesterday as his team of lawyers asked the Federal High Court in Abuja to allow them to withdraw from the case.

Besides, Metuh’s lawyers, who were all absent at the resumed proceeding on the matter yesterday, said they would be occupied with election petition cases and would no longer be able to attend the day to day trial that was ordered by the court.

In a supporting affidavit that was deposed to by Metuh’s lead counsel, Ikpeazu, SAN, he told the court that he received crank calls by persons that threatened to kill him because of the way he “mishandled” the case.

“I have received numerous threats to my life from diverse sources through telephone calls with disguised numbers, giving ultimatum and threatening to kill me based on the manner they claimed I had been mishandling the case,” he averred.

Ikpeazu further told the court that his next in command, Etiaba, SAN, also informed him that “he had received similar threats and thus would no longer proceed with the representation of the 1st defendant.”

He contended that “in the circumstance, it is impossible to avail the 1st defendant the legal representation he deserves in this case” and therefore asked that the court grant the application to enable them withdraw from the trial.

Meanwhile, owing to the development, trial Justice Okon Abang sought Metuh’s opinion on what he would want the court to do in the circumstance.

Responding from the dock, Metuh told the court that he met with his lawyers on Monday evening, saying they took turns and recounted how they were traumatized by experiences they have had in the hands of the Federal Government since the trial started. He prayed the court for an adjournment to enable his lawyers to move their application.

Consequently, Justice Abang adjourned the matter till March 13.
From Vanguardngr

10 comments:

1. I don tire for this one sided corruption APC is fighting. @Blessed Princess

1. Stella this is what is happening in Nigeria NOW, ask all Lawyers representing any PDP member, they will tell you how they receive death threats on daily bases !!!!!!!!! See what they did to Baden !!!!! It is really bad !!!! Unfortunately for APC , they are laying a foundation that The Nigerian Youths will copy reshape to use against this same leaders in future !!!!!

2. Anony 12.36πŸ‘‡

“I have received numerous threats to my life from diverse sources through telephone calls with disguised numbers, giving ultimatum and threatening to kill me based on the manner they claimed I had been mishandling the case,”

If you had any brains, you would have understood that it was Metuh's people that are threatening him. Please stop opening that your basket mouth full of falsehood anyhow.πŸ˜’

Besides.... its common knowledge these lawyers have not been getting their agreed fees, and as Trailer don jam PDP for the last elections, dem know say na bad market dey their hands. They had to cut their losses and face other promising cases....

2. In other words.... Metuh has not been able to pay them their legal feesπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

3. Anon 12:36 must be one of the gullible people who can’t reason for themselves.

Nobody threatened the lawyers. Either Metuh can no longer pay them or it’s another tactic to stall the case.

4. It is a strategy to stall the case. Metuh and chidoka were some of the moles in PDP. They were working for APC. Naija na wa! They betrayed PDP big time. As for Chidoka, short devil, well done on the millions of dollars you stole while pretending to be working with Atiku.. God will judge you!