Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Gives Saraki And Dogara 5 Days Ultimatum To Explain Why They Dumped APC For PDP

Saturday, April 13, 2019

Court Gives Saraki And Dogara 5 Days Ultimatum To Explain Why They Dumped APC For PDP

Federal High Court in Abuja has ordered Senate President Bukola Saraki and the Speaker of House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara to respond to suit challenging their defection from the All Progressives Congress, APC, to the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, within five days.

According to dailypost,The judge held that since he only filed an application for conditional appearance in the matter, without seeking leave of court to file a response out of time, the court cannot grant what was not requested it under Order 26 Rule 1 of the Federal High Court Rules, adding that the court is not a Father Christmas.

“The court of law cannot grant a party any relief not sought, I so hold. What the 2nd to 18th and 57th defendants counsel sought for is just for a memorandum of conditional appearance, no more, no less, I so hold,” he said.

LEDAP filed the suit in September 2018 seeking an interpretation of Section 68(1)(g) of the 1999 Constitution.

Recall the suit against the federal lawmakers who defected from their respective political parties was set for judgment on yesterday when the lawmakers appeared in court seeking to be granted fair hearing in the matter.

Senators Saraki, Godswill Akpabio, Musa Kwankwaso, Shaaba Lafiagi, and Rep Dogara among others defected to other political parties in the build-up to the 2019 general elections.

9 comments:

1. Saraki and Dogara over to you guys. The court suddenly woke up from their slumber hehehehehe...

2. Ikwakwakwa...

In that case, we should be expecting mass ultimatum cos if not mistaken, there was mass defection from one party to another...

3. I believe they're are joking, so it's now a criteria to stay in one place ni? The likes of jaganban, Ameachi etc so they stayed in one party ba, naija I hail thee.

4. Is it by force to stay in a party you don’t want to belong to again?? This Nigeria is becoming a comedy

5. Now,they won't allow Saraki to finish his tenure and retire peacefully.

6. Stupid fools...y dint the courts ask tambuwal when he was speaker...

7. Kelbertha vet ventures, 07035694213, 0803484708013 April 2019 at 17:00

Mtchewwwww