Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Albino Citizens Get Personal ’Emergency Alarms’ In Malawi

Saturday, May 04, 2019

Albino Citizens Get Personal ’Emergency Alarms’ In Malawi

The Malawian Government is handing out 1,600 personal security alarms to its albino citizens, in an attempt to stop deadly attacks on them in the community.

“The gadgets will be distributed to persons with albinism in all the regions in Malawi,’’ Cecilia Chazama, Minister for Gender, Children and Disability, said on Friday.

Albinos are targeted in Malawi and some other African countries because of the superstitious belief that their body parts are magic and can make people rich.

No fewer than 24 people with albinism have been killed and 160 attacks reported to police since 2014, according to figures from the Association of Persons with Albinism in Malawi.

The emergency buttons which will be distributed on Saturday are being introduced amid continued attacks.

“Since December 2018, one man has been reported killed and two children abducted.

“In spite of the Malawian government’s promise to tackle the problem, few suspected of crimes against albinos are successfully prosecuted in court,” rights groups say.
from tribuneonline

What do people have against albinos?I dont get it at all!!!!

25 comments:

1. We are dealing with pant thieves, they should not add albinos to their JDs.

Just a pity that Africans and Satan works hand in hand

1. Key to what?
      Are you in this society at all?

3. In this modern day and age some Africans still believe this nonsense, this is just pathetic. I hope the law enforcement agencies will always be available at all times to act when the alarms go off.

4. It's only in Africa.They need to be educated more

5. Yaba left escapee4 May 2019 at 09:29

Thats very good!!!
    Thats a Gov that care about the well being of citizens.
    The discremination & trauma they suffer is unimaginable, i'm surprised i havnt read of any commiting suicide, they sure should have a strong spirit. Ive witnessed one being ill treated once, & i felt so bad, i gave it back hot hot and left that establishment.
    People have become educated & technologically inclined but have not become human.
    #Humanity

6. That's why Africa remains the dark continent.

7. I dated one like that...the guy wan die when I had to quit the rship.He curse me tire,who cares cos he was a real nag,insecure, lazy in bed tho alil generous. Dated him cos of the smell of his perf that's so expensive.Almost 46,yet not married...to date some albinos na work especially their males.

1. How does one even date an albino? Jeez

2. You dated him cos of the smell of his perf. Ain't you just stupid? You can't afford good perfume that you had to date an albino? Poverty sha..

3. Just imagine the reason why a nigerian woman will date a man, A PERFUME!!!
      Why not buy the perfume and go home.

8. The rate of albinism in Nigeria is really reducing...but must people be rich by using these helpless albinos?Chai I pity how their lives are at risk.

9. Stella calling them 'Albinos' is a bit stigmatizing. A more appropriate term is 'persons with albinism'.

10. I heard Albinos dont die, they disappear when there time is up. How true is it? Who has heard of any Albino's death?

1. My maternal grandfather died at the overripe age of 107years.... He had albinism.

2. He lived to a ripe old age...may his soul continue to rest in peace.

11. It is so sad. Every time I read about the prejudice against albinos. I just cry. Ignorance, ignorance , ignorance oh Africa, when will thou be liberated? 25% of Malawians are carrying the albinism gene. But to them, it's witchcraft or a curse, or the belief that that their organs can make one rich. Hence the abductions, the lynchings, the killings.
    I just dey cry. May God deliver the black race.

12. Not true miss Aboki. My friend lost her Albino dad last year, he was assassinated in P.H

1. Madam orobson4 May 2019 at 12:33

another one is hunch back people they kill them in my area for money

2. Poor him, may he continue to rest in peace.

13. Albinos should be with brothers and sisters across the sea, then they can imbibe their confidence/arrogance. A lot of red necks look like albinos to me, when I experience discrimination from them, I'm usually like we would have sacrificed you to the gods where I come from. No, they are no Einsteins, but they feel like it. Oyinbo people should help the albinos, the only physical difference is the hair.

14. Great news, shows a government that cares for their people, i hope the gadget would not just sound alarms but also show the location of where the assault is taking place