Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Orders INEC To Issue Former Gov Rochas His Certificate Of Return

Friday, June 07, 2019

Court Orders INEC To Issue Former Gov Rochas His Certificate Of Return

A Federal High Court in Abuja on Friday ordered the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC to issue Certificate of Return to Rochas Okorocha as the duly elected Senator representing Orlu Imo West Senatorial district of Imo State.

Justice Okon Abang ruled that the decision to deprive Okorocha of the certificate was a “lawless.” He held that any person declared a winner by the returning officer remains a winner until petitioners succeed in upturning the declaration at the election tribunal.

The court further ruled that Mr Okorocha had no business being the originator of the petition at the election tribunal.

The electoral body had said it refused to give Okorocha certificate of return after the returning officer for Imo West senatorial district said he was compelled to declare Okorocha winner.

From Daily Post

*What kind of Judgement is this?The Returning Officer who declared him said he did it under high pressure and duress.......I dont Understand

23 comments:

1. This Okon Abang again? Very corrupt judge.

1. Nigeria no go fit better..

2. Stella, the judgment was a favorable one, in the sense that INEC erred in withholding the certificate of Rochas after he was being declared winner, whether in duress or not. The petitioners ought to have been the candidates that contested against Rochas filing a suit at the tribunal than INEC acting the manner they did.

3. This comment has been removed by the author.

4. Hmmmm, be like d jazz dey work.

5. This is Nigeria ....
    Well I think inec should file a suit contesting the result with proof as well .

Na wa o .

6. Ndi occult
    The courts are full of them
    The okrowhite na steady utu contributor.
    😯😯😯😯😯😯😯😯😯😯😯

7. 😂😂😂😂Stella the picture you used !!!
    Lmao 😂😂😂

1. Aziiinnnn the picture is why I opened the post Lmaooo

2. Don't mind Stellakoko. Very funny woman. The picture got me laughing.

8. The jazz man from India strongu.

9. We are waiting to see if INEC would grant it. Game of waiting initiated

10. Nigeria s my country, anything isspossible.

11. Well the law is the law. In the first place, whether duress or no duress, that's for election petition tribunal to decide, INEC had no business withholding his certificate of return. They are trying to make Nigerians think they are upright after rigging election for APC at presidential level. I'm not a team Rochas but they should give him his certificate joor. The constitution has not in any part stipulated what should be done in the event that a returning officer later comes to say he performed his duties under duress, let's be clear because election process are guided by laws so INEC pls do the needful and let aggrieved parties go to the tribunal.

1. Thanks!!! You are well informed and educated. I read comment and was shocked that some persons don't know how the law works.

12. Anything is possible in Naija

13. Judiciary is part of this country's major problem. A man declared him winner under duress and a sane person is saying they should issue him a certificate for not winning. That judge should be ashamed of him or herself.

1. The judge is right on this Nuria, if he wasn't, I would have attack him just like I have always done on issues here. I have said this here overtime, that INEC faulted in this whole brouhaha even though Rochas wasn't my favorites, doesn't mean I should be sentimental or economical with the truth.

Let's look at it this way, what if INEC chairman comes up to say he declared Buhari winner under duress, do you think Buhari would have vacate office without a petitioner going to court using INEC chairman as a witness and his statement as an exhibit? Things aren't done that way in law, for there are laid down rules and procedures over matters like this. Rochas Okorocha can't be an originator of a petition in an election tribunal over a case he was declared winner. Nigeria hasn't become this terrible not to understand this simple basic laws.

14. Nigeria politics na seasonal film abi series 😂😂

15. Bloody hell!!! You means Okorohausa will be part of the law making system in NASS???? Lord please come and help us quick!!!

1. Promises to be an interesting Senate

However at the common mans expense or to his benefit? time will tell

2. He will be a good whatever to dino