Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: International Albinism Awareness Day

Thursday, June 13, 2019

International Albinism Awareness Day

June 13th is World Albinism Awareness day and this year’s theme is “Still Standing Strong.”

This theme has been chosen to recognize, celebrate and encourage strength in persons with albinism.

Those of you with albino Kids or relatives who have had to face rejection because people do not understand why they are the way they are,please have them know that awareness is the Key to this problem and they should stand strong and tall.

Albinism is not a curse!!!

39 comments:

1. I saw one beautiful albino yesterday.
    Do we have any here? I love you ❤️😘

1. I have one in my Lodge, full of life, and very brilliant. She doesn't see anything wrong with her skin colour,she does little make up and apply lipstick you'll think she's a white lady....

2. They need more love and support.

2. I have an albino friend who's very beautiful, she's married to a dark guy and all her kids are just light skinned no albinos. She's the only albino of her own siblings.

3. The one I know said he's no longer an albino. So I'm happy for him.

1. It can be erased??

2. Erased in the mind sha.

3. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂 I like him already. The one I knew back then used to say he's a white man, calling himself lilungu and the dude can yabb person ehh

4. El oh el!
      Anon are you sure he's not the white man i saw on mtv base some days back? Your guy don blow oh...very soon now,babes will start rushing him like wizkid and davido.

4. I saw a woman with 3 female kids all albinos. There were cute

1. Chai.. see hypocrisy of the highest order.
      Y'all just saying cute cute beautiful like its trully what you see, its more of pity you have for them, would you wish that "cuteness" on your lived ones??
      If u honestly cant see your lived one being that cute then ure one hypocrite.

2. Anon 11.00 you're just stupid. So when someone say another is cute is it because she wishes for that to be her own? Can't you just be appreciative without being envious about it? YOU ARE A VERY WICKED SOMEBODY ABI SOMETHING

5. I have one bff albino and she's stunning! Dark eyebrow pencil and dark wigs can make a whole lotta difference.

That whole gold/ginger hair is what make people stare most times.

1. I don't think its the blonde/ginger hair that makes people stare at them... Why don't they stare at Caucasian people like that..
      Most people are just ignorant.

2. Ms A, they stare at Caucasians in admiration/awe. Lol

But yea, ignorance plays the most role. Can you believe some communities in some African countries believe Albinism can bring magical powers and fortune. They hunt albinos down there, sad.

6. The Unfortunate European in Unfortunate Africa. God bless and one love!

7. I saw one Albino one day, hers turned her into a white cute lady, she come look like half caste. She was the most beautiful in all her dark sibling. Men thinks she half caste and do rush her like bees, but she Albino

1. Sis, we don't say half caste..Biracial is more like it.

8. Me i wont wven lie, i fear them..
    It doesnt make me wicked or a racist, but thats how i feel around them, even sitting next to them skin touchinh skin is a problem to me, i subconsciously get goosebumps all over till im away, i really have to work on accepting them openly

1. I guess you're the same anon 11.00 up there. If someone should react the same way to you now u go begin dey shout... nonsense

9. No, albinism is not a curse! I have them in my family and I have it in my gene too.
    Everything is unique and special about people with albinism.

10. Good they are creating awareness because some of them have self esteem issues because of their unique skin colour.

1. Yaba left escapee13 June 2019 at 11:23

If they were openly embraced with love and less inhumane treatment, they wouldnt feel that way!
      We should make a self conscious effort not to discriminate or condemn a human being for what he/she was born with, we'd all mold an impeccable being if we were opportuned to have a magic clay from our creators.

11. Yaba left escapee13 June 2019 at 11:16

I saw one at GTbank Trans Amadi, i can say that was the best looking albino ive ever seen, he was so clean & neatly dressed, no black spots on his skin... people just kept starring in confusion, you'd need at least 10seconds to tell hes not a white man.

1. See! I was just telling Ms A people stare at Caucasians too.

12. I think the weather here is harsh for them

1. Princess baby, the weather is harsh on them everywhere cos they lack melanin.

13. Parents have a lot to do to end discrimination against albinos. If parents A teach their children that all humans are this same regardless of skin color and parents B teach their albino kids that they are uniquely created and teach their other kids not to taunt their albino kids, I think problem is half if not fully solved. Some albinos are discriminated against from their homes. Even mothers are not left out. Some live wishing away the albinos and so they grow up with low self esteem and their skins not cared for. We all are unique in our own ways. We must do better collectively. * Feeling like MLK Jnr already. 😅

14. I remember 1 brother in our village then, he used to tell us he is dating a white lady. So 1 of his friends told us no oo make we no be fooled coz na albino the guy is dating. The guy was like....that one na my oyibo, if u see albino that 1 na yo problem not mine

15. My albino friend is a stunner o, even me kinda stare sometimes, she added cream and damn! She's like white fresh milk, blonde natural afro with henna tinted brows...my God! Only her shaky eye will make u doubt her race.

1. Lolz@shaky eye. They can be really beautiful with nice skin. And brilliant too

16. my friend got d cutest albinos ever, all three are amazing and brilliant