Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: US Based Blogger Joi John Pens Emotional Memo In Defence Of Boxer Anthony Joshua's Loss To Ruiz

Monday, June 03, 2019

US Based Blogger Joi John Pens Emotional Memo In Defence Of Boxer Anthony Joshua's Loss To Ruiz

Before you see this anywhere else, I am putting it out here. YES! I cried. In the words of John F. Kennedy, Victory has a thousand fathers, but defeat is an orphan. I have seen the memes. Stop tagging me! Every fighter has his highs and lows. What makes a champion outstanding is how he handles defeat and bounces back to his feet. .

I’ll take you down memory lane to the fight between George Foreman and Muhammed Ali in 1974. Foreman at the time was the defending champion. He had knocked out the reigning champ, Joe Frazier and was looking forward to destroying Ali. 

Things took a different twist like the #JoshuaRuiz movie we watched at Madison Square Garden on June 1. Ali knocked out Foreman in the sixth round and clinched the Heavyweight title. That particular encounter remains one that defined the Muhammed Ali legacy. .

I am beyond devastated but I’ll get through this. I don’t care whether the Joshua-Ruiz fight was fixed, bought or whatever. I am optimistic that Anthony Joshua will come back better. I know we play too much on social media and many of you reading this know how much I enjoy projecting him. I will not stop now. My world may revolve around Politics but there will always be space on my media platforms to project ANTHONY JOSHUA and all that has to do with him as he copes through this defeat. Even if I am the lone voice cheering him on, I will do so tirelessly. .

In all interviews granted to his most recent as #Heavyweight champion of the world, Joshua positively projected his #Nigerian heritage with frequent references to his home training in an #African home. Where many #boxers in the height of their fame are mostly in the news for the wrong things, AJ’s decency set him apart. Joshua has been a good Ambassador for the African continent. 

We cannot turn our back on him now. He needs our support and encouragement to get back on his feet.

Like I stated in a previous post, don’t write him off just yet. Laugh all you want. This too shall pass.The defeat to Ruiz is only a dent to his perfect record. Not enough to define him. 

AJ will be back fiercer than ever. I don’t care what the points read; belt or no belt. Still my champ 🥊''
By US Based Blogger
Joi John

*Why do I have this feeling that AJ Deliberately lost?He could have knocked out that man but he held back....lol

40 comments:

1. Anthony Joshua isn't the first person to lost a fight, so I don't get the fuss about this. You win some, and lose some.

1. Like, I don't get it at all.

2. Me three.
      As if it's Anthony Joshua's birthright. God had to dethrone someone in order for someone else to be enthroned. Uwa bu turn by turn!

2. Stella things are not always what they seem. We don't know what goes on behind close doors.That match had "suspect" written all over it.

3. He made £20 million losing and Ruiz made £5 million winning....so there’s that🤨

1. Exactly! Infact barmaid one cold bottle of monkey tail for isaac baba!!

It is a classic example of the urban phrase 'failing forward'

4. Why will he deliberately lose -his belt, his legacy, his perfect record?
    Which champion does that?
    The Problem is that Nigerians do not
    know how to manage success.
    It happened to Samuel Peters -the Nigerian nightmare.
    Boxers were avoiding to fight him. Pride set in -just like in Joshua's case.
    When they had all these belts -they should have known when to retire -bow
    out when ovation is loudest.
    No, they stayed, focused on social media/life and the challenges and
    aggression (which boxing thrives on) began to wane.
    Knocking them out was just a matter of little time and boom, it happened.

1. This anonymous 11:50 na mugu ooo, so u thought all you wrote up there makes any sense, you are still a kid I believe. A lot of gamblers, drug lord, Carters can go to any length to stage a match a fight etc it happens every where. When it get to your turn its either loose the game or loose your life.

2. Anon 11:50 create time and read about mike Tyson and Lennox Lewis,someone pointed it out to me I argued,but after reading about these two I understood perfectly want happened with AJ.

3. @Bigbanty and the anonymous
      What both of you wrote laid more credence to my reasoning.
      Since they all know that's the case on the big stage,
      why not retire after collecting all the belts and go with one's dignity?

4. Anon 11:50, they had an agreement that there will be a rematch. AJ knowing this can decide to loose his belts get more cash and come back in Nov to beat the hell out of MR IBU of mexico

5. Amazing Grace got me laughing like silly here. Na real Mr Ibu of Mezico.
      Chaiiii! Bvs are mouthed!

6. .....also Some Nigerians manage their success.

Plus he is not really Nigerian.
      He is more like dem tell me I be naija 3rd generation migrant tinz
      Which typical naija raised man get that discipline to maintain 6 pack sef

5. If AJ was bought over, it means he's in it for the money, its not a passion, he's not a true champion las las...no wonder Eddie keeps him away from deontay n fury....😡

Even if Ali lost a fight, no one can say Ali was bribed to lose coz he's a true champ, its even an insult to compare them.🏃🏃🏃

6. You don't equate yourself to God wether consciously or subconsciously. Why say and i quote "I am that i am". Anyways i pray he bounce back better cus on a normal day,he should have won that fight squarely.

7. From what I read, he's been paid 20meuro while his opponent takes 5m....I think the match was fixed.

1. My dear my thought exactly,cos it is very obvious....if the match was to be arranged again AJ will fall him flat...but I think its a strategy for him to get more fight... You will see people coming out to challenge Ruiz,I know the belt won't last long with him...anyone who owns the belt after Ruiz is a dead meat for AJ remember this post.

2. Hello, Guys read more about sport marketing,he wasn't paid 20m to lose. That was the stipulated amount in the contract based on his popularity and market value. It doesn't have anything to do with fixing or losing. Joshua is the bigger of the two so he dictates the sharing formula and other consideration.

8. Stella, my husband too thinks same. He's of the opinion that he deliberately lost to his opponent (maybe someone who staked a bet on AJ losing and then settling him heavily) 🤗🤗🤗.
    As for me, I'm indifferent. Losing is part of life and doesn't make him a permanent loser.

9. I don't trust all these boxing and wrestling. Dunno if they are real as in real. That's why I will always prefer football.

1. Alternative Facts3 June 2019 at 14:10

They fix football games too

10. What's with this generation?
    Why are they sermonising the whole thing.
    The man lost a fight! Big deal!
    He will live to fight another day, his life is long ahead of him.

That's why I love lawn tennis, no player can feel this invincible, see my Novak number one, they win him all the time, he comes back stronger.

11. They should free this guy. He still remains my champ for life. We cannot win all the time,all the greatest have suffered set backs,moguls have filed for bankruptcy and still come out on top. This only shows that Anthony Joshua is human,just like you and I. We will make mistakes,we will fall and suffer set backs but sometimes it is to humble us and make us remember we aint perfect.
    I love Anthony,his humbleness,his love for his mother and his heritage. He will always be a winner in my eyes.

12. Most of the Nigerians laughing at AJ are just having fun, deep down in their hearts they love AJ and want him to do well, but in Nigeria we joke about everything as a means of maintaining our sanity in an almost insane country. We know AJ will be back unless he is not a true Nigerian.

13. THE FIGHT LOOKED FIXED!!!

14. FIXED FIGHT.

15. Joshua looking for ways to dive to the floor, even got pulled to the floor with minimal effort at one time. Fight was fixed. Rubbish.

16. Did the Mexican mafia make AJ an offer he couldn't refuse?

17. please you all should stop saying fixed,have most of you ever fought before,have you received a punch in the face,most of you dont know about boxing at all,every single boxer in the ring is a dangerous opponent whether you all like it or not,joshua got beat simple,he underestimated his opponent and paid for it,he got slammed to the floor four good times,that's a beating my people,the boxing official stopped the match for Joshua's safety, whether or how he bounces back depends on him,but i think the world of heavyweight boxing is seriously lacking good fighters and personally i still rate tyson fury and deontey wilder over joshua.

1. If really it was fixed, then AJ is a fraud.

I still rate deontay over him.

18. It's not always a win win thing when it has to do with competition

19. Held back me? Nothing like that ma.
    His legacy was at stake, the Mexican got his tactics spot on and that's the result.. I think Joshua was concentrating too much on his fitness instead of his boxing.

1. "Funny bit I have picked up from the Joshua fight is that some people actually believe it was staged. Like, AJ & his team will agree to lose to a bum on his US debut, lose all his belts,put his reputation & legacy at risk just for a few more millions. Interesting stuff".

20. That fight was sold! Dude had you guys by the balls. He is 20m richer!

1. No that match was not fixed. In any fight the bigger person in this case always get the bigger money. AJ underrated his opponent.