Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dee's Corner - Company Food

Friday, July 26, 2019

Mrs Dee's Corner - Company Food

Evil has so pervaded the world that every good deed and kind gesture is received with suspicion and wariness.

Some companies have the policy of providing free lunch for their members of staff. While some see it as a favourable course, others see it as a means of gradually tapping from their glories and boosting the sales and profits of these organizations .

I remember vividly an aunty who came to visit her parents where I was a maid telling her sister that she doesn't understand the strange dreams she has been having in her place of work since they introduced free lunch and that one advised her to take a break from eating the company's free lunch.

The company where I worked as a sales girl also introduced free lunch and even extended it to non-members of staff. It was a good thing for me as I spent less money on feeding.

One day, a pastor from MFM who also worked there during one of our conversations mentioned that he never ate their cooked food , he always gave it out. It got me wondering if he perceived some sinister motive behind the free food or he simply didn't like eating out.

For those who work in companies that have the perks of free lunch, do you enjoy it or are you opposed to it?

23 comments:

1. i have once worked in a company that offers staff free lunch, i always enjoyed it. I didn't have any reason to suspect anything.

1. When you work my kund of job,you would understand the food is part of the job. Thats for those that go to the rig. Infact night duty,most people eat hot eba by 12 midnight, cos that's their morning. Nothing like evil in the food bikonu.

2. Depending on the company. Me, whenever ...returns and shares chocolate etc, I flush it down. Before I used to eat but learned my lesson and stopped. Even gifts such as designers shirts, bags, perfume etc, I give all out. Guess what, ...knows I don't use them. This is Naija, just be wish as a serpent and gentle as a dove to beat them to their game. If your company uses outdoor caterers as oil & gas does, please feel free to eat, it's your right.

3. They should give me the money as feeding allowance!i will buy my good myself.

4. Almost all good paying companies give free lunch or morning coffee...it’s a good thing to me

5. I worked at a place where the owner used to declare parties for the heck of it.
    Later some spiritgal people said those parties had some evil stuffs attached to it.
    So I stopped eating . Whenever they do such , I take food to work .

The Senior staff used to go round asking if we had all eaten. Whether they were being good hosts or acting according to instructions no one knew.

I resigned due to the many stories peddled about the boss .

He is educated and well travelled.

6. Leave story,I work in a place where we are giving free food and free snacks,I eat and I take leftovers home,my colleuges does same,I only cook my African good when I crave for it,like my banga soup and pounded yam.
    I save so much from free foodπŸ˜‚.
    But if I where to be in Nigeria, I will never eat free food not because of *ucking Destiny stealers that I don't believe in,but of unknown jealous collegue that might pioson me😈

7. well, i have worked in companies where free food is served and nothing to worry. Not even when you have to go to clients' site and free lunch is almost a norm on long haul projects. As long as it's the staff that select the vendor and company just negotiates, then why the panic. Abeg, chop free food if offered and let no one give you all these stories of their late grandpas chasing them... Cheers

8. My company serve us free food three times a week. They just shared the food as I'm typing this. All I know is a caterer handles the food, and brings her bill every month. So far, I eat with clear mind. The day I don't like what was served, I eat out and take it home. I see it as part of my entitlements as a staff.

9. Why are Africans suspicious of everything?? ..LMAO @ using company lunch for your glory ..dont eat nah ...continue looking over your shoulder all your life ..you will miss out on the beauty of this life if you are always paranoid ....and some of our churches fuel this paranoia so you can be paying heavy money to get deliverance ..why did Jesus say that if you believe in him and eat any strange thing nothing will happen ..

1. No mind them.
      Everything is spiritual.
      I eat in my dreams sometimes when I go to bed hungry, and I'm fine,
      Doing well with peace of mind.
      Most people ate low key fetish while hiding under christianity

10. chai!! Bless this food Oh'Lord, for Christ sake ....AMEN!!!!!!! next na empty plate after I lick hand.. God gat me!!

11. My company gives free lunch everyday, i do not have anything against it as the food is prepared by the company's chef.

12. I used to work in a place where the boss was owing us our salaries for MONTHS!!! She was owing salaries for about 3-4months when she decided to celebrate her birthday and share cakes at the centre. My departmental crew didn't eat out of it and I wasn't at work that day (if I was, I wouldn't have eaten too as we had planned previously) the next day I got to know that the people who grumbled most about non payment of salaries happily ate the cakes and we who didn't eat out of it got fired (while she was still owing us salaries o). What baffled me the most was that one of the key grumblers who hinted to me that the woman wasn't "ordinary" still works there. During the time of unpaid salaries, she would travel on holidays, leave letters with pictures of fufu and egusi soup behind for us and return with stories of how much she spent parachuting and all that. I don't know if people didn't leave because she had used jazz or they were just plain stupid. Good enough for myself and a few colleagues,we had gotten better gigs just before she fired us and were hoping to begin at new places the following month so the last day we spent there was actually going to be our last day there anyway. Lol, that place was hilarious and something else at the same time.

1. She's a wicked woman. You won't pay your staff and yet come back with stories of how expensive your vacation was. Wicked woman.

13. I once worked with a fast food outlet and we are always given lunch which was cooked by the production dept and everyone partakes in it.

The most Complex

14. Same people go abroad to work and when they serve them,they will rush the food

1. Nigeria.... US.... UK... Canada... Different countries, different belief systems, different ways of thinking and conducting business. If you worked for my former boss, I doubt if you'd "rush the food"

15. When I worked in a hotel, they give us free lunch. We even take home atimes if thy host. some dignitaries. I see nothing wrong in that.

16. I'm currently eating free fruit salad in my office. If I perish, I perish πŸ˜‚πŸ˜­

17. It depends on the structure of the company and if there's anything out of the ordinary happening there. My company give free lunches for staff 3days a week and I eat and lick plate.

The kingpin of badoo in ikorodu had a fuel station then (had because it's sealed up till now) and used to declare for his workers there every celebration- Christmas, ileya, sallah anything celebration. A whole cow for workers not up to 15 with the cooking and what not so you can imagine. Now if you work there with the suspicion that your boss maybe diabolical no matter the hunger in your life will you eat?

18. There is no such thing as a free meal. It is a popular American saying.