Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Visa Restrictions Imposed On Saboteurs Of Nigeria’s Democracy By The US Govt....

Wednesday, July 24, 2019

Visa Restrictions Imposed On Saboteurs Of Nigeria’s Democracy By The US Govt....

The U.S. Government has imposed visa restrictions on “individuals responsible for undermining the Nigerian democratic process.”

A spokesperson of the U.S. Department of State, Ms Morgan Ortagus announced this in a statement on Tuesday. She disclosed that the action applied to those responsible for election-related violence.

However, the United States government failed to disclose the identity of the individuals.

Further, Ortagus said the visa restrictions were targeted only the unidentified individuals and not the Nigerian people or government. Additionally, she disclosed that these specific individuals had operated with impunity at the expense of the Nigerian people. Likewise, they had undermined democratic principles and human rights in Nigeria by their actions.

No fewer than 39 persons died in violence related to the last general elections in the country.

The action, according to the spokesperson, is in fulfillment of an earlier promise by the U.S. government to consider sanctions against anti-democratic forces. This includes organisers of election-related violence in the country.

In a statement released on January 24th, the U.S. government had revealed its decision to take action. Donald Trump’s administration had vowed consequences including visa restrictions for individuals responsible for undermining the Nigerian democratic process. It also promised to clamp down on those responsible for organising election-related violence.

“To that end, the Secretary of State is imposing visa restrictions on Nigerians believed to be responsible for, or complicit in, undermining democracy in Nigeria.

“These individuals have operated with impunity at the expense of the Nigerian people and undermined democratic principles and human rights,” she said.

Meanwhile, Ortagus explained that the decision reflected the Department’s commitment to working with the Nigerian government in its anti-corruption crusade. In addition, she cited the need to improve efforts to strengthen democracy, accountability and respect for human rights.

“The United States is a steadfast supporter of Nigerian democracy.

“We commend all those Nigerians who participated peacefully in the February and March 2019 elections and have worked to strengthen Nigerian democratic institutions and processes.

“As Nigeria marks the 20th anniversary of a return to democratic rule this year, we remain committed to working together to continue to advance democracy and respect for human rights and achieve greater peace and prosperity for both our nations.

“We condemn those whose acts of violence, intimidation, or corruption harmed Nigerians or undermined the democratic process,” the spokesperson added.
from 1stnews.com

24 comments:

1. Very good news, if all western countries took this stand. They will start building hospitals in Nigeria that actually work because they won’t be able to go to the West for medical treatment.

2. Amaechi, Oshomole, Akpabio. Those that annihilated their people to buy favour from the oppressors of their own people.

1. Amaechi and Wike

2. Nsima Ekere is on this table! ๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜†๐Ÿ˜† I hope his entire generation suffer the consequences of his wicked, callous and extremely greedy heart.

3. I know two names in that list. Very commendable from the US government.

1. HRH, no they aren't. Just like the message reads, they are people who are undermining the democratical process and situations in Nigeria. Those who had made inciting statements and are still doing.

2. Two ex south south governors are in the list. I no mention names ooh. One was dancing in a war like manner sometime ago in February.

4. Love it! We want their names as well!!!

1. Wetin u wan use their names do?

5. We need to know the names so that they won't deny saying it tomorrow.

1. You are very right. They should let us know.

6. Buhari, Osinbajo, Tinubu, Akinsanya (MC Oluomo), Oshiomole, Ganduje, Kwankwaso, the list is long on both sides of the fence.

Not just them, their children, wives, parents, concubines, money launderers.

7. Na El-Rufai, Aregbesola and Ganduje top the list. I wonder why amusu, sorry Amosun is not there. Anyway, I want them to ban all Naija politicians patapata. Let them stay here and fix this country that's already in a state of anarchy.

1. I can confidently tell you from a reliable source, that two ex south south governors names are there in that list.

2. deejay the exclusive CNN journalist ..lol..the embassy will ever let such a list out besides US is not heaven what if all their money and enjoyment is in dubai?

8. If this is true, as they may come up to say they didn't exactly mean it that way, it is a veryywelcome development

9. 1. Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai
    2. Gov. Ganduje and family
    3. Rotimi Amaechi and family
    4. Dakuku Peterside
    5. Murtala Sule Garo
    6. Yusuf Gawuna (Ganduje's deputy)
    7. Yahaya Bello and family
    8. Rauf Aregbesola
    9. Gov. Oyetola
    10. Prof. Riskuwa Arabu
    11. Prof. Joseph Fuwape

1. you wish list sha..add ffk

10. They denied my 5 year old son for the second time this year. What did he do wrong? He needed to come join me to witness the birth of his younger brother but US refused. They denied my bro in law the day before...he even said they denied everyone that went yesterday for visa. This Americans are the real thieves!

1. How are they the real thieves? Na by force??

2. They want to make sure you come back after giving birth and not cross over to Canada with your son and new born baby.