Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Labour And Employment Minister Ngige Threatens To Sanctions Banks Who Sacks Workers Indiscriminately

Friday, August 23, 2019

Labour And Employment Minister Ngige Threatens To Sanctions Banks Who Sacks Workers Indiscriminately

In a chat on Thursday with Newsmen,Senator Chris Ngige,the Minister of Labour and Employment threatened to sanction banks, who sack workers indiscriminately, saying they ought to declare redundancy before taking such decisions.

NAN quotes him as saying

“We also have to monitor job loses, we also have to stem the tide of job losses through a proactive action from this ministry
We were all here, when the bank started, we had to stop them because we looked into the matter and discover they didn’t actually declare redundancy, which is in labour sections.
They must observe the article of redundancy, once they do that, the law is the last to come first to go.

We discovered that those banks, having used earlier people, want to dispose them and bring relatives and other friends, the same thing in the oil industry.”
from dailypst

10 comments:

1. Can he start with union bank please?

2. Oga Ngige, are you just waking up?

3. The bank own is too much.You will go to work and discover you cant log in,just like that...

4. Na so!
    Toothless barking bully dog.

5. Enter your comment...Bros abeg leave bank,make u talk of minimum wage...oooo,abeg try make dem pay d real about 30k.Forget bank issue abeg

6. You are gradually getting there.Next should be mass employment for jobless graduates then implementation of the new minimum wage.

7. Unfortunately,banks in Nigeria have been the highest employers of labour.

Oga Ngige,you are yet to prove yourself worthy of that seat you occupy...

8. is long we have been hearing threat towards bank, since you guys are not taking your words serious banks will never stop doing what they are doing.

9. Banks that generate income to pay their Staff. When they could not meet up with Staff salary payment due to Buhari stringent measures, will you fund them. TSA is killing most financial institutions yet the Government turned a blind eye.