Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sunday In House Gists - Sallah Meat Brouhaha

Sunday, August 11, 2019

Sunday In House Gists - Sallah Meat Brouhaha

Do you know that some Christians refuse to eat Sallah meat saying its Biblically wrong?

Can all the Bible scholars here come out and quote scriptures to support this claim?
Is there any kind of food that is Biblically wrong?I eat everything but will never eat raw meat,thats all.

Lets talk discuss this sallah meat ish............

63 comments:

1. I eat sallah meat very well, is it not God that created the ram used for sallah πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
    I be all weather.

1. as i like food reach,if i get any now...na serious whacking

2. They don't know what they are missing.

2. Yinmu, they no fry the meat well ni mtchewwww we will just be giving ourselves unnecessary headache

3. Nothing wrong with eating sallah meat

4. They always do incantations on their rams ( a lot of them do but not all). I had a neighbor who gave his life to Christ and confessed that during sallah, their late dad used to chant on the ram they had cut up and were going to distribute to people, that as these people are eating the ram meat, they should be going ‘down’ and he (their dad) should be going up, and truly a lot of the people either lost their source of income or their good health. I don’t eat their sallah meat with them, if I want to eat ram, I order it online from my butcher. Some people will be ‘eaten’ today, they will be going all over the place eating meat, they will now start writing chronicle to Stella when their glory has been eaten up. I was brought up very well, any food they give us that they are celebrating anything, we used to throw away immediately the person goes.

1. Your comment highlights your level of ignorance.
      Incantations? You are not serious.

2. IT IS FORBIDDEN IN ISLAM FOR YOU TO RANT OR CHANT ANYTHING ON AN ANIMAL BEFORE SLAUGHTERING. WHO EVER DOES THAT IS NOT A MUSLIM OR AN IGNORANT MUSLIM. YOU ONLY SAY "IN THE NAME OF GOD" BEFORE SLAUGHTERING YOUR ANIMAL. YOUR NEIGHBOR AS YOU DESCRIBED IS NOT A MUSLIM BUT A TRADITIONALIST CLAIMING TO BE A MUSLIM. WHO EVER DOES EXACTLY AS YOU DESCRIBED YOUR NEIGHBOUR DOING ABOVE IS NOT A MUSLIM. KNOW THAT!

3. Humans have gotten more wicked
      Its a pity but sign of end times indeed

4. An evil person is an evil person.
      That particular person did that doesn't mean all muslims do that. After all, some Christians are also ogboni members and they hold positions in the church. FYI, I am a Christian but I hate silly conclusion and generalization.

5. And your almighty online butcher does not chant on the piece of meat he supplies you?
      #another angle

6. I'm sure dat neighbor of urs has brain fag or needed something from u. What us incantation. Most beef we buy do we know how they kill d cows? As a muslim all u need do is seek God's forgiveness cos u re taking life u can't create.

5. Well it is a matter of choice if you don't feel like don't if your conscience doesn't condemn you you can.ln Southwest of nigeria everyone has families in both religion so it is very difficult to isolate them

1. Very true. My mom is a Muslim and my dad Christian. Na we dey rush the sallah meat.

6. Let me read comments... Errm... The anon that wants to know if i am the same posh hajia that schooled in PH. YES i am the one but am now based in Ibadan and just had a baby ... I just saw ur question

7. For one to be able to give a coherent answer to those against Salah food, one has to know the meaning of Salah.

Salah ("Daily prayer or worship", from Arabic ‏Ψ΅Ω„Ψ§Ψ©‎; The word salah is commonly translated as "ritual". Using this word when translating to English can be misleading, as the word "prayer" is also used to translate a different word, "dua", a reverent petition made to God.

The big day is the day Muslims eat and drink (with no alcohol) and also jubiliate after long period of fasting and prayer to God (Allah)
    I personally do not see anything wrong in eating a food 🍲 that is use for this celebration.
    As far as the animal was not slaughtered to any image nor the food dedicated to any graven image; people can choose to eat the food if offered to them.

I have never really had any problem eating and dining with my Muslim friends whether in Nigeria πŸ‡³πŸ‡¬ or where I live here... To me, they are the most honest and trustworthy people.

My dad had lots of Hausa Muslims as friends and back then, they usually bombarded my dad with ram 🐏 meat, they happily share these food and they also accepted our Christmas food. They ate and drank with us and also brought gifts during Christmas celebration.

Happy Salah to Eesah and all the Muslims BVs

8. When I was Young,my Father will never as in Never allow us accept Salman meat or food. Since we were the ones opening the Door,we were expected to reject it.
    When I got Married,my Husband didnt mind,I have been eating Salah RamπŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹ for 15years now and we are good

9. Thanks Sdk for the way you are making your blog more encompassing for those that want to learn about the issues of life.😊😊😊

1. Blood is one thing humans are forbidden to eat in the scriptures. Food sacrificed to idols or meats of strangled animals contain blood. These (and sexual immorality)
    are all portals of pacts with devils.

Acts 15: 28It seemed good to the Holy Spirit and to us not to burden you with anything beyond these essential requirements: 29You must abstain from food sacrificed to idols, from blood, from the meat of strangled animals,and from sexual immorality. You will do well to avoid these things. Farewell.” (see also Lev. 17:14, Acts 21:25, 2 Cor. 11:9)
    2. 1 Corinthians 8: 7But not everyone has this knowledge. Some people are still so accustomed to idols that they eat such food as if it were sacrificed to an idol. And since their conscience is weak, it is defiled. 8But fooddoes not bring us closer to God: We are no worse if we do not eat, and no better if we do. 9Be careful, however, that your freedom does not become a stumbling block to the weak.
    The relevant question is “do the Muslims sacrifice this ram to anything, is there blood in this meat during preparations?”
    3. Christ the Passover Lamb of God has been sacrificed once and for all and God put
    An end to every other sacrifice of animals…

Hebrews 10: 10And by that will, we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all.

1 Corinthians 5:7 Get rid of the old yeast, so that you may be a new unleavened batch--as you really are. FOR CHRIST, OUR PASSOVER LAMB, HAS BEEN SACRIFICED.
    4. What God demands from us (anybody that worship him in the New Covenant) is “a living sacrifice”- the sacrifice of our holy bodies and not dead sacrifices (like in the Old Covenant)… This is a reference to giving/praying/fasting…Matthew 6:1-15
    Romans 12: 1Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to OFFER YOUR BODIES AS A LIVING SACRIFICE, HOLY AND PLEASING TO GOD—THIS IS YOUR TRUE AND PROPER WORSHIP. 2Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.
    So if the Muslims say that they offer rams as sacrifice to “God”, you see why Christians do not eat it?
    Yarn finished!
    😊😊😊😊😊😊

1. GOD bless you Sir/Ma for this piece.

2. Awww, God bless you dearly for this response.

3. Priceless exposition!!!

10. I just finished wacking chicking. Waiting for the main ram.

1. Hi Miss Aboki nyarinya
      Long time. Where you waka go?
      Nice to know that nothing is "chilled" again
      😊😊😊😊😊😊

2. Choi! Only you wack "chicking" and you still want to wack ram meat join? Remember to send me some ram meat when it is ready o

3. Don't forget the chiqueen too

11. We once poured a full plate of sallah rice and meat because the giver was not in good terms with us.

1. I don't understand what u are trying to say. The giver was not in good terms with you or u meant u were not in good terms with the giver?
      Bcos, if the giver was not in good terms with you as you claimed, how come u were offered food. Na wa o.
      People creating animosity towards imaginary enemies. Doh oo

12. John 1:The next day John saw Jesus coming toward him and said, "Look, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!

Jesus is the lamb of God that took away the sins of the world. I don't understand this one that the Muslims offer that their rams for sin
    Let us also realize that there is what the scriptures call "pure religion that God accept as undefiled";

James 1:27 Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

1. The ram Muslims offer during sallah is symbolic of the ram that was caught in the bush when Father Abraham was supposed to sacrifice Isaac.

13. Christians believed in the new and everlasting covenant through which Jesus Christ the son of God is the sacrificial lamb who takes away the sin of the world(John 1:29). Not what Muslims beliefs on muhammed teaching of atonement for sin through blood of bulls and goats. The bible says; Acts 15:29 You must abstain from food sacrificed to idols. Before rams are killed, Allah is normally invoked according to their quranic instructions.

1. Woww thank you for this, i dont know anything about Islam and dont want to know. God bless you.

2. Eid commemorates the end of Hajj, the sacrifice is to reenact the slaughtering of the sheep given to Abraham just as he was about to follow the commandment of God, to slaughter his son. We remember and mediate his unflinching obedience to God. So its not a blood sacrifice.
      It is not their meat nor their blood, that reaches Allah: it is your piety that reaches Him: He has thus made them subject to you, that ye may glorify Allah for His Guidance to you and proclaim the good news to all who do right. Quran 22, verse 37.

3. @Hannah
      Thanks for your input.
      What should rather be remembered is the costliest sacrifice; God's sacrifice of his only begotten son
      Prophet Isa on the cross to take away the sins of the world. Isa could have refused to go
      but he humbly obeyed. That is the greatest obedience of which Abraham's obedience was pointing to.
      See what this Imam said in this 13 minutes Youtube video, type this in "Changing Tracks Mario Joseph, Muslim Imam convert 1"

14. I eat it very well. Ibadan bvs how far? I am in Challenge area o. Anything for your girl?
    Happy sallah to all our Muslim brothers and sisters

15. My mother, whose first is an Islamic name and from a Muslim background doesn't eat Sallah food neither does she wish her relatives or Muslim friends "Happy Sallah". They know her for that and they understand her new faith.

If you bring it to our house the first time, she will tell you that she doesn't eat it. So, they take it back. Before they take it back sef, she will preach Jesus for them and tell them the history of Sallah (as per say she sabi Quaran well. She even got the award of Best Muslim Student back then in her undergraduate days).

To her, it is better than discarding the food just like what most Christians do. Rejecting the food is better than pouring it away or giving domestic animals.

1. I’m sorry to say, she doesn’t know the Quran very well, nobody that knws the Quran so well will reject sallah food.

16. Hmmmmm
    This post will be hot.
    Stella thanks for this post. I was really confused as to why some Christians reject the Sallah meat and food. I will come back and read all the input

17. Oh how I miss maman Nefi's full buffet. Yeah I said full buffet cos every Sallah, we don't lift a finger in the kitchen. Hajiya comes with different delicacies. Fried peepered meat, rice, chicken,soups, chin chin name it! All at once. We reciprocate same gesture every Christmas and Easter. And the both family look forward to such occasions. But that was in the past when there was peaceful coexistence on the Plateau. Now we've moved out of our former street because it has been dominated by the muslims. Distance is now a barrier. But they remain our very good friends till date.. Very nice muslim faithfuls #Good old days. I miss those times.

18. They should pass the meat my way please

19. I remember Sallah days while growing up. Our Muslim neighbors-the two that lived in our quarters will load rice and that their Yoruba stew with ram on top and bring to us. That's my meal all through that day. Won't eat any home food at all. We love the taste of their stew like kilode.
    Then when school resumes after the Salah holiday, Fatima and maryam both in my class will bring me one kind meat like that shredded into tiny strips and then garnished with correct suya condiments. And you can eat it with very soft bread.
    Mbok bring back those days.

20. In those days, while growing up on the Island, Muslins mostly gave raw Sallah meat. Sometimes we end up having a large bowl full that could last for days. And children would be beconed to come eat rice with them. We looked forward to Ileya festivald. My parents allowed us go eat with other children. Nigeria was quite good then, no much evil that warrant people to suspect one another. The Muslims too allow their kids eat Xmas rice in Xtian homes and even go to cathecism with us while we sometimes followed them to Ile Kewu. Nothing wrong in eating Sallah meat. Abi them no eat from the meat, Unless where you feel that the giver is fetish, then you can reject it.

1. I tell you. Such good memories. Growing up in Naija in the 70s and 80s was the best. Everyone celebrating each other.

21. So l had this former family friend, she schooled me on how ungodly eating Salah meat is to Christians.
    So my husband helped her get a job and the boss at his new job turned out to be a Muslim next salah, o lady was picking her teeth from Salah meat she ate
    I just shook my head at her.
    My father's best friend was a Muslim, l buy meat from Halal store, go to Halal restaurants sef..why the hate and polarization we are all one.

1. Same here , I’m not Muslim but I eat strictly Halal

2. I was raised eating Halal food too

22. Me I eat it but unfortunately I'm in Ph now and nobody gave me

The most Complex

23. Me that is seeing meat Everywhere in this surulere but don't know anyone to invite me abi gimme meat..πŸ˜₯πŸ˜₯

You people should share meat and reach my side biko it's not that serious 😏😁

24. I cover this sallah meat in the blood of Jesus...bites off a juicy part of the meat and walks away

25. Not judging anyone, but I don't eat it because of my belief that Christ is the one perfect sacrifice. Then again, some people pray over it before eating, whatever rocks their boat.

26. Eid al-Adha is an Islamic festival to commemorate the willingness of Ibrahim (also known as Abraham) to follow Allah's (God's) command to sacrifice his son. Muslims around the world observe this event.

Ibrahim, known as Abraham in the Christian and Jewish traditions, was commanded by God to sacrifice his adult son. He obeyed and took Ishmael (Ismail or Ismael) to Mount Moriah. Just as he was to sacrifice his son, an angel stopped him and gave him a ram to sacrifice in place of his son. Some people dispute that the son of sacrifice was Isaac (IsαΈ₯āq). Regardless, these events are remembered and celebrated at Eid al-Adha. Copied*

Muslims do not sacrifice the animals to God, so it's not a blood sacrifice. It's just to remember the above event just like Hannah 2 rightly quoted in a Quranic verse above. "It is not their meat nor their blood, that reaches Allah: it is your piety that reaches Him: He has thus made them subject to you, that ye may glorify Allah for His Guidance to you and proclaim the good news to all who do right. Quran 22, verse 37".

So all that talk about not eating Salah meat because of belief that Christ is the one perfect sacrifice is just ignorance and lack of knowing what the eid commemorates. Muslims don't believe Jesus was sacrificed anyways.

I'm outtie

1. Surah 17:111 says Allah begotten no son, while the holy bible emphatically states Jesus Christ as son of God. Sura 10:21 says Allah is the fastest in deceit.

2. it was isaac not ismael

3. @ Native doctor, Qur'an vs 10:21says:

And when We give the people a taste of mercy after adversity has touched them, at once they conspire against Our verses. Say oh Muhammad, "Allah is swifter in strategy." Indeed, Our messengers record that which you conspire.

Did you get that? If you like quote it out of context or give it your own stupid meaning, na you sabi.

4. So because it’s not you quoting it its now “stupid meaning” abi? What about when you stupidly said Christian/Jewish “tradition”? Is there any piety in your heart at all?

27. I don't eat it because Jesus Christ is the only one perfect sacrifice.

28. I want Salah meat oh with hot party Jollof Rice as 1st meal and then later order for Ajala and every with fried stew and Salah meat.

God created us all. We came to learn about various conflicting religions here on earth. The Bible didn't say God created Christians and then Muslims. He created us all and loves and cares for us. No time for discrimination Jor.