Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Minister Of Foreign Affair Onyeama Says Nigeria Will Not Cut Diplomatic Relationship With South Africa...

Saturday, September 07, 2019

Minister Of Foreign Affair Onyeama Says Nigeria Will Not Cut Diplomatic Relationship With South Africa...

Minister of Foreign Affairs, Geoffrey Onyeama appeared before the senate committee on Diaspora at the National Assembly on Friday and declared that Nigeria won’t severe diplomatic relationship with South Africa despite the renewed xenophobic attacks on Nigerians.

Onyeama said taking such action would not be in the interest of Nigerians in South Africa, adding that Nigeria would consider other options apart from diplomatic ties severance, to resolve the ongoing crisis

The Minister also disclosed that the special envoy President Muhammadu Buhari sent to South Africa would return to the country on Saturday.

He added: “Mr. President has dispatched a special envoy to South Africa who would be holding discussions with the South African government at the very highest level.

“He should be back tomorrow (Saturday), that will now give the government the basis for further action. In the meantime, if the government is very much on top of the situation.

“We know for a fact that no Nigerian life has been lost so we are extremely concerned to ensure that there will be adequate compensation for property that have been damaged.

“We know that a Nigerian Airline is putting a plane at the disposal of most Nigerians that wish to take the opportunity to leave South Africa, this is purely voluntary, but we are particularly determined to particularly make sure that this crisis does not re-occur.

“It has been happening for far too long, it’s becoming almost endemic, so with the distinguished senators, are helping with some of the options that we may have to ensure that this will be the last time we will ever be meeting to talk about Nigerians attacked in South Africa and to take definitive measures.

“To start doing that, we want to have all the facts available and then we will take the necessary measures.”
from dailypost

5 comments:

1. My worries are that, this didn't start today and may likely not be the last of it but it seems the SA government is in total support of what her citizens are doing. Their lackadaisical attitude and approach over this speaks volume.

Sometimes, Nigeria need to exercise its strength towards external attack on her people on foreign soil. How long will they keep seeking diplomacy that the people they seek it with aren't even interested?

Let me conclude with two quotes from the late African leader Robert Mugabe.

“It’s only in South Africa that an illiterate villager thinks a qualified medical doctor from another African country, is the reason for his unemployment.”

"South Africans will kick down the statue of a white man but won’t even attempt to slap a live one. Yet they can stone to death a black man simply because he is a foreigner.”

2. Tortoise and snail syndrome in governance.

3. Can't we do small initial gra gra first?

4. My concern here is why Buhari has been silent since this incident happened. This is heartbreaking for me. Mr President, make a speech on this matter now.

5. This guy is a fool! No lives have been lost??? You won't cut diplomatic ties??? You are a terrible sell-out Mr. Geoffrey Onyeama, luckily na your brothers dem dey slaughter up and down!