Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mrs Dee's Corner -Mothers Are Emergency Doctors...

Friday, September 20, 2019

Mrs Dee's Corner -Mothers Are Emergency Doctors...

Every mother, at some point in the life of her child has had to become an emergency doctor to cope with the sudden illness of her child.

The reason why children suddenly take ill at night when help is hardly available is still a mystery to me.

The teething period of a child is to me the most risky and fear filled time for any mother. Their body temperature escalates, they are always fussy and cranky. They pass loose stool and in worse scenarios vomit as well.

Certain medications should never be lacking in the drug kit at home in case there is an emergency. Baby Rex, to ease the teething process, paracetamol for high temperature, sachet ORS, vitamin c and flagil tablets.

This is not to encourage self medication but to offer temporary relief to the baby before seeing a doctor.

Have you ever had to deal with a sick child at night, how did you cope before morning?

24 comments:

1. When u are a mom all those must happen

2. When u are a mom all those must happen

3. It's scary honestly. So many thoughts and fears. After doing all I could, I had to pray and trust God. Men! Prayer works! The following day, we headed to the hospital and all was fine.

4. Yes my 15month old baby had diaherra 2days ago first of all I spoke healing over him plead the blood and rebuked the infirmity because the sickness has no place in his body the price has been paid in full!!

Then I made sure he was hydrated by giving him his favourite water melon as he wouldn't eat anything he went nappy time like 1million times oh my gosh very smelly green poo gave him capol for his high temperature, put a cool towel on his forehead and gave diarolyte to replenish electrolytes lost all this happened at night by the next morning he was walking around a little weak but after his breakfast and shower he was his bubbly self again.

Who said "mum" is an action figure😏

5. We were told teething doesn't need any drug, just keep giving the baby breast milk and proper care.

1. Yes I don't give any drug for teething just breast milk because my kids reject food till the tooth is out. Always carry and cuddle baby because they are cranky during teething.
      If you have that baby bouncer you can also place baby there and play the melody from the bouncer or rocker.

2. @Cynthia you are right. Tenth its not a lie abeg. When you are not so sure of something, dont display your ignorance.

3. @Tenth, l have 3 children ages between 7years and 7mths. All these symptoms associated with teething never occurred. Most times I guess its hygiene.

6. mothers are golden

7. mothers come and answer your question.

8. Yes o, I have para, flagyl, ors and vit b and c always at home.
    Can't forget the first time my son convulsed, omg I was scared shitless, it was a terrible time for me, to think it happened a second time, my mil told me that my hubby had convulsion when he was little, that it happens to almost every child in their family. I also have palm kernel oil and crude oil stand by abeg I no fit shout.

9. Babies getting sick at night is diabolically strategic.
    Foremost, nighttime is when the powers of darkness operation is optimal
    Secondly, that is when getting help is most difficult. The intention of the
    enemy of mankind is to kill them.
    The antidote is for believers in Christ to be awake and pray at nights for
    at least one hour like Christ commanded us. If you do not know what to pray,
    sing praises to the Lord.
    Let's also add that a lot of women these days are awake at nights, all nights
    to browse on social media and gossip and do not bother to know what happens to their
    kids/babies.

1. What is the father doing in the night tho?. Both dad's and mum's should pray for their kids!

2. @Femilicious

Let me help you with what I wrote above:

The antidote is for BELIEVERS IN CHRIST to be awake and pray at nights for
      at least one hour like Christ commanded us. If you do not know what to pray,
      sing praises to the Lord.

10. It is not an easy task at all, especially for the d children who cant express how they feel. My boy was feeling okay in the afternoon, just around 8:30pm the temperature no be here, i gave ibuprofen cos i learnt it works faster than paracetamol. Around 9:30pm the temperature was increasing gradually, his hands and feet were cold but his body was so hot, that's how i took him to a nearby pharmacy. After the doctor had checked temperature level 39.5. i undress and use water to bath him just for the fever to go down. In the midnight i couldn't sleep as my mind was on him, that's how i started praying till he slept off. May God bless all mothers.

1. Pls administer ibuprofen on somebody that has eaten well,child or adult. It should never be taken on empty stomach

2. Of course not with an empty stomach. Someone should pls tell me more about palm kernel oil. Is it advisable to give and how do i go about it. Thanks.

11. I have Nurofen, paracetamol, vit c and flagyl syrup for house, not to forget kernal oil mixed with orisirisi for convulsion. My kids have almost turned me to medical practitioner plus herbalist. To be a mum isn't for the faint hearted. Didnt sleep up to 3 hrs yesterday, midnight prayers plus staying awake to chk my daughter was my call.I even get mind pass le hubs bcos small thing that one will goan reverse car say hosp straight.

12. During the last elections my 4 year old daughter got sick...vomiting and stooling..it was the Saturday of no movement. Me I just slipped on jalabia and entered my car cos hubby too was out of town...I knew in my mind no Jupiter fit stop me and I told myself even if an boko haram hold ak 47 for road I must drive this girl to hospital. Drove like mad only to get to hospital they were wasting time to bring out card, I just carried my daughter and entered the doctors office without protocol..he didn’t even talk he just started to administer treatment...I pray never to be tensed like that again. I always have paracetamol, ort packs, zinc tablets at home.

13. Please stop giving children flagyl for diarrhoea. Most diarrhoea in children is viral and will stop on it's own with rehydration i.e. ORS +/- zinc gluconate.
    The only reason we think flagyl works is that the side effect of flagyl is constipation.
    You are giving your child antibiotics he doesn't need and that can even be harmful.

1. The way they self medicate and over medicate in Nigeria ehnnnn. Do they even read the information that comes with the tablet?

I remember when I had headache on a visit to Nigeria and my mum brought out a ghana must go of different types of medicine. .I weak 😂

14. Should a teething child be given tablets? Thought their meds at that age comes in syrups?