Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: World's Oldest Mother Sparks Controversy On IVF Treatment

Saturday, September 14, 2019

World's Oldest Mother Sparks Controversy On IVF Treatment

After years in a childless marriage Raja Rao’s deepest wish, to become a father, finally came true.

“Due to the grace of God and doctors, I am the proud father of two baby girls,” he announced, hours after his wife, 74, was hailed as the world’s oldest new mother following IVF treatment. “We are the happiest couple on earth today.” She gave birth to twin girls following an IVF treatment.

*They should stop abusing this IVF thing and stop giving treatment to old people like this....The babies will be born unhealthy and then who will take care of them?..I a totally against giving IVF to women of this age....

What do you think?

53 comments:

1. The babies are very healthy cos its donor egg and and maybe they couldn't afford a surrogate so she choose to carry them, when it comes to TTC issues, I don't condemn nor judge, do all you can to carry your baby, don't let people with no ttc issues dampen your spirit.

Its Easy to castigate others and their practices when you are getting pregnant easily or as a single girl, you don't know what tomorrow has In store for u.

1. No truer words have ever been said Anonymous .. If u avnt walked in deir shoes, keep quiet.. .besides such geriatric patients are well monitored. .dey av tests such as amniocentesis to determine if d fetus has congenital anomalies and all. ..u dunno kinda mockin she must av gone thru durin her years of childlessness, neither are you God dt knows how long she wil live mor. Drink water and mind ur business ..

2. Where is the like button. Every mallam to his kettle

3. It's ok if that makes her fulfilled. For me, there's more to life than carrying children in one's womb.
      I know I'm not God, but come on, parenting ain't an easy job.
      I actually feel sad about people who perpetually try to conceive. Whether they finally succeed or not, it's such a life of torture.
      And yes, I have an idea... Married for more than 10 years without children.

4. If you didn't experience TTC, you don't know what God did for you, so if it's there wish let them go for it, even at 100yrs.
      Some pray to God to just be pregnant once to prove there are healthy even if they will have miscarriage.
      There is nothing like abuse there, when the doctors certified them OK.

5. To prove to who that 'they're healthy '? Do they owe anybody any explanations or apologies? It beats me how people like to take panadol for other people's 'headaches '
      I just don't get it!
      The way people go on about infertility, I just wonder if they'll live on earth forever.
      Having children neither guarantees happiness nor is it a ticket to heaven.
      A lot of people really need a mental overhaul.
      How can a human being wish for a miscarriage just to please the society? So, so sad..

6. Everybody has their own wish on earth. Their greatest wish was to have children. I will NEVER judge people who I have never worked a mile in their shoes . I have an uncle whose wife has been TTC for years before they finally adopted.....i am sympathetic to all TTC couples. It's not an easy journey. Who am I to judge if someone is too old to be a mother?

7. Well said sweetheart!!!...πŸ‘

8. I won't judge them sha ..And Yes She use Another persons egg as she had menopause..But what worried me is that during Labour She Suffered a Stroke The Next Day Her 82 years old Husband suffered heart attack Tell me who will care for these babies with all these wahala ...i think they should have adopted long ago and still enjoy parenthood but i wouldn't condemn them totally

9. The only problem I have is them dying in the next few years and leaving the kids they so badly wanted.

10. I appreciate God for granting their heart desire even in old age. Nothing can be more fulling than having my own children,individual knows what gives them satisfaction and joy and I won't give up until I have my too. Mummy Stella Ọmọ αΊΉni lọ lΓ  αΊΉni, bi aba bΓΉ αΊΉni lαΊΉ́yΓ¬n ọmọ αΊΉni a wi fΓΊn ni. Doctors should continue to assist has many that desire this joy and with long life will God satisfy us.

2. Its just like saying the elderly don't deserve treatment for malaria cos they are old.

1. Treating malaria is different from giving birth to a living being...

2. Ms A, it's God that gives strength to birth a life.

3. And do you know that both of them are now in intensive care?
      Please, tell me again who will now look after the kids?

Let's stop the selfishness and stop bringing innocent kids to life in old age.

4. And do you have any idea of what plans they had put in place before embarking on the journey, just because some of you had yours at will doesn't give you right to make others feel bad for getting theirs at old age. No one plan for late child bearing, everyone loves to grow with their children like you. Let those of TTC search without thinking what your likes will say.

5. Mrs A pls pls stop judging. You know nothing. My father had me in his 20s and he died when I was 5. My mum trained us alone.
      My grandfather had his last 2 children at 64 and 65 with his younger 2nd wife. And everybody was warning him. He still lived long enough to train those kids in school. I dont even have much memory of my father. Those other kids had a close relationship with my grandfather. He was already retired. He wld take them to and from school,help them with assigents. I never had that.

6. Chaaaaaai! Your comment 00:06 touched me.
      Life eeeeh, no blueprint to how and what will work.

3. I agree too,at 74 how long will you live to care for them?

1. What about young women that die at child birth? Or children that lose their mother’s st earthly age! Having kids early doesn’t guarantee you will watch them grow up only the grace of God. I’m 37 years old and single and never married I have been called childless and I tell you it’s cruelest thing ever. Every woman deserve to be a mother! No matter her age! I write this with tears in my eyes, nothing compare to the pain of knowing you may never carry your own child. Life is never fair. I bless GOD for this couple and with all the faith in my heart I know by this time next year I will carry my children in Jesus Name Amen.

2. @Anonymous 17:46, DEATH DOESN'T know AGE WHENEVER IT COMES KNOCKING. Live a fulfilled life irrespective of your age.

LIFE ITSELF IS A RISK. SO LIVE YOUR LIFE IN FULL BLOOM. NN

3. Annoy 19:52,it is a pity they don't know peoples pain they are just typing.

4. Anon abeg take it easy. Those calling you childless at just 37 are IDIOTS. Are they God? Everybody has their destiny. Pls people are getting married at 37,38 even 40 and are still conceiving. Some ppl havnt even lived to age 37 talkess of having children.

4. I don't even understand the way you talk at times Stella..if you have never gone through what some people are going through then be mindful of what you say....

1. Her mindset is different yen yen yen

2. This is not the first time she making this insensitive comment and you as she always say is her blog and opinion even when she is making some people sad.

5. Please opportunity should be given to any woman that wants to give birth at any age if natural way didn't work out,maybe they have been saving all their lives for this,my opinion is they should make this ivf affordable, is too expensive

1. IVF is 500k at National hospital Abuja

2. Anon what's the success rate?

3. Anon 19:01 are you sure? 500k?

6. As far as I know, Abraham and Sarah has a son in their 90’s and Isaac was not born with any anomaly. But that’s a unique case. Statistics may say otherwise.

1. Sarah gave birth thru natural birth
      Reason and argue well

2. My book of bible stories.

3. Yes, but ppl were living for hundreds and hundreds of years at that period so 90 was like being 13 if you are living for 500 years+.

This story says the woman is in icu, on average how many woman giving birth at 25 end up in the icu, and the man had a stroke. They couldn't even stay healthy to enjoy the first few days of being parents.. Mtschhw. Pregnancy is already hard on a young healthy body I can't begin to imagine what it does to the body of a 74 yr old. On top of it, where are they going to find the energy to keep up with a toddler? I don't even care about when they will die because they could die at over a 100yrs old, but when two babies need feeding at 2am and they become toddlers you have to be on top of to make sure they are safe, where will these two dinosaurs find the energy from especially after having a stroke and coming out of the icu. Even their neices and nephews are in their 40s maybe even 50s, so the state will have enough to take on the care of them.

This is the height of irresponsibility and Frankenstein medicine.

7. Every woman's pray to be a mother and thank God for the IVF breakthrough. Couples ttcing should seek help on time not when the body is weak and they are very old. I Also pray that the cost of the Treatment be subsidized by govt, churches and other individuals and organizations to assist these couples get trdatment on time.

8. I do not support this in any way. I remember in the former post, some people attacked my comment being against a 74years old woman giving birth to twins.

I see it as selfishness, carelessness and no regards for the innocent kids.

Let's stop abusing medical treatments.

1. No you are wrong. I learned its a donated egg and she was closely watched. At 74 that woman is old enough and if she dies now, she died fufilled she got one of the things she dreamt of. Childlessness is a big hole in the heart of some.

2. @aunty amebo, both of them are now in intensive care.

Very soon, those kids will become orphans and do you know what will happen to them?
      Bringing innocent children to the world just like that in old age, is not fulfillment... It is a act of selfishness and wickedness.

Let's stop living in a lala world, the reality is very real and most times, it hurts.

3. MrsA how do you know they havnt made arrangements for that baby including financial and a guardian.The way Indians even live all extended family all stay under same roof. Some 2/3 Generations all in one compound.

9. Nobody should give birth at that age. It is cruel and inhumane. You do more harm than good. You disadvantage the children you bring into the world. It is not fair! Just because you can does not mean you should! There should be a ban after a certain age. In some parts of North America you can't even adopt if you have had certain cancers because it is assumed that you would have lower life expectancy and lower quality of life. People of certain ages do not qualify for organ donation because in the grand scheme of things, it would do more harm than good to them and society. There are bioethics that should be taken seriously. These people won't live much longer and even if they do, do they have the strength to raise the kids? It is sad and IMO unethical.

1. Gbam πŸ‘ŒπŸΎ πŸ‘ŒπŸΎ πŸ‘ŒπŸΎ πŸ‘ŒπŸΎ

10. They are both still in intensive care actually because they are not also old but they have dead brains as well. Very foolish couple! Go and check out the actual story. The husband had a stroke and she had complications arise from the birth. A wicked and selfish couple!

11. When you have walked a mile in their shoes,then come back and advise them

12. Na Who wear know how painful it is. Can't be described.

The hopelessness they must have existed in enough to risk it all just to be called parents.

Thank God for safe delivery.
    Their joy will never be cut short.

13. Unless you have walked in the shoes of TCC your opinion doesn't count. Unless you have cried and prayed and hoped and faced mockery keep your opinion I'm sorry to say is irrelevant.
    You don't get to have a say in what gives someone else joy and fulfillment. Talking about her age and ability to cater for them? You think they will birth a baby without making adequate arrangements for them if they die? The young women that die during delivery, did they live to cater for their babies?
    No body should angry me this night.

14. From ur mouth to God’s ears. If u never born b4 & prefer ur life to having ur biological child, , God go do as u wish. Reminding u , so that when d time come , make u no go turn tenant for MFM. Na u create yourself to know when u go die?

15. There are things some people can never be qualified to speak on. It's the reason I don't let any male gynaecologist touch me; no matter how many degrees he gets, a man can never know how a woman's body is doing her.

Until you walk in some shoes, anything you think you know, even to what you think you will do is mere theory. When women who 1) don't want children, 2) don't really care if they have children or not, 3) have the kind of system that they get pregnant as soon as husband even breathes on them, 4) are single mothers who have never been married - when such women start to talk like they have a right to legislate other women's bodies, processes and journeys to motherhood, I feel pity for them. These people saying "Ignore society" are the very members of the society that will call another woman, barren. Even those in church are exactly the same if not worse - those that God allowed to have children after they aborted multiple babies in their single days, are always the ones that don't believe a woman can get married as a virgin and nothing is medically wrong with her or her husband but God hasn't remembered them yet. Some will even open their dirty mouths to lie that you must have committed a secret sin that God must be punishing you for.

Who told y'all that desiring a child is always about society? Some women have just ALWAYS desired children. Some are fortunate to have married people they love, who love them deeply and they want fruits of that love.

This is the kind of thing where you drink water and mind your business where the person ttc hasn't committed a crime or done something unethical!